We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puri Sunia Resort
Nearby Hotels
$302
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$713
$656
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$433
$342
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$181
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,119
$1,062
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fivelements Bali Retreat(Mambal)
$298
$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveler rating
833
207
37
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
207
37
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourrice paddiescinnamon toastmorning yogacomplimentary activitiesfree shuttlelocal villagealways on timepool villaubud centreafternoon teadeluxe roomminute driveregular shuttleshuttle servicecooking classbalinese massage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Puri Sunia (we got upgraded to a suite) and would have extended our stay but they were fully booked out. The hotel is about 10 min away from Ubud; so it is away from the hustle and bustle. They have an hourly shuttle service that is always on time and works well. The morning yoga is such a treat and a perfect start to the day. They offer complimentary tea and cake at 3 which is most yummy. The staff are all really friendly and most helpful especially Nitu who took the time out to help us find another hotel else where as they were booked out. Buddha was also really good and helped my husband with making his coffee as perfect as he would have enjoyed at home.

The spa although expensive was very professional and relaxing. We had a 3 hour couples treatment and the only thing we could fault is that they should include a foot or hand massage while they wait for the mask to dry, other than that pure bliss :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights in their Suite room with husband and child. All of us enjoy the activities planned by the hotel, particularly the morning Yoga and padi field walking tour. Very quiet and surrounded by beautiful padi field, tropical plants and villages. Would rate the hotel " perfect" if not for the distance between Ubud town. Pls note that the hotel is about 15 minutes drive from Ubud town. If you prefer to shop and site see, this might be a little inconvenience as the hotel only provide hourly shuttle services between hotel & Ubud palace. Other than the distance, the hotel is great!
Restaurant served one of the most delicious nasi goreng I'd ever tried in Bali. Good selection of breakfast menu, and afternoon tea.
Service is excellent. Staff are always smiling and helpful. They even packed breakfast box for us when we checked out at 0330 hrs for an early flight. Small thoughts like this makes a big different( v good impression)
Suite is spacious. Room are very clean. Good price. Highly recommended this hotel if you don't mind the distance. A great hotel indeed.

Room Tip: Suite room are on the 1st level. Better view of the surrounding! More privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mum0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Puri Sunia Resort and had an amazing time. The hotel is a 15 minute drive away from central Ubud (the hotel provides a regular shuttle to and from Ubud so this is not a problem at all) in an area which is surrounded by beautiful villages and rice terraces. The hotel appears to employ a lot of people from the local villages which is great; we actually bumped into one of the employees when we went for a walk into a neighbouring village. We were booked into a deluxe room on the first night but were moved into a suite on the second night; the only real difference between the deluxe room and the suite is that the suites are located on the first floor with better views of the pool etc. Our room was beautiful and extremely clean.

The pool area was beautiful as was the restaurant area which overlooked the pool on one side and a rice field on the other. We had lunch at the restaurant one day and had a pasta dish; it was one of the best pasta dishes I have eaten!!! Afternoon tea was great too with a really good selection of teas and a plate of cake!! Breakfast was amazing also!!

The complimentary yoga, running, walking and meditation is a real bonus (something which is not really matched in the other hotels which I stayed in) and is something which you should make full use of.

We stayed in 3 hotels in Ubud (Komeneka and Waki de Ume) and this was definitely our favourite.

Don't let the location put you off as the location is one of the best things about it!!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millymini88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I both agree that Puri Sunia is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in some very nice hotels in the past. The room was luxurious and spacious, the grounds were lovely and well-kept, and the restaurant was delicious with prompt and attentive service. But the thing that set Puri Sunia apart was the service. The staff seemed to really care that we had a great time. By the end of the trip, the servers in the restaurant were calling us Made (the Balinese name for the second child in the family) and knew us by our American names also.

Ekok took the time to write a list of common words and phrases in English, Indonesian, and Balinese, and on the last day, he made us a special cappuccino with our names in it. Mayun took the time to make us incredible cocktails, as well. By the end of the trip, we thought of them as friends. These gentlemen should both be commended by management, for they made our trip truly remarkable.

We also booked a couples Balinese massage at the spa. The entire experience was serene and rejuvenating, and the price was very reasonable. I highly recommend this!

The only thing that might turn some travelers off from this hotel is the distance from Ubud (about 15 minutes drive), but for us, that was a huge advantage. Ubud was okay, but I think the real action in Bali takes place outside of the city. If you can, I would recommend booking a tour guide to drive you around the countryside to see temples, villages, and terraced rice fields.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBergeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

It's a very nice place, but know in advance that it's not really in Ubud.

LOCATION: A solid 15+ minute drive outside of the tourist area of ubud. If you're looking to relax, this is a great location! If you're looking to shop and site see, it may be inconvenient for you.

FOOD: Great. The free breakfast has lots of options and juices are fresh.

ROOM: Modern design with Balinese villa feel (without being an actual villa). Very clean, extremely comfortable room with great AC and cozy bed.

SERVICE: Excellent. I arrived past midnight and they upgraded my room for free because the standard rooms were all booked.

VIEW: My room had a view of the pool. I think the rooms at the back had a garden/forest view, which is probably better. There's no rice paddy view here, but there's lots of green tropical plants around.

TIPS: For the price, it's pretty great. I also really liked Komaneka at the Bisma location which was about the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susQnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews