We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now THIS is Bali!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Now THIS is Bali!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is an ideal resort for a peaceful getaway. The resort and it's location provide everything you need for ultimate relaxation in authentic Balinese style. After staying in Seminyak at the W Retreat & Spa for three days, we arrived at Puri Sunia and spent five wonderful days here for our honeymoon and didn't want to leave.

There's so much to do in Ubud, you'll never get bored. We found that there's something for everyone--from adventure seekers to those who want to simply be lazy and lounge at the pool.

Since this resort is fairly new, there weren't many reviews online for us to go by. We decided to take a chance, and we were WOW'd by our choice. The beautiful pictures on the web site are an accurate depiction of this amazing resort. We highly recommend staying here!!!

PROs:
-Resort is amazingly beautifully landscaped and designed with traditional Balinese decor
-Surrounded by rice paddies
-Secluded from the hustle & bustle of Ubud center
-Friendly & welcoming staff
-Excellent gourmet food--both Indonesian and Western dishes
-Free hourly shuttle to and from Ubud center
-Quite a few activities organized by the resort--some of which are complimentary
-Very clean in rooms and common areas
-The resort's mission is accomplished by providing a peaceful, serene and calming getaway
-For being in the middle of the jungle, the resort was mostly bug-free, including mosquitos
-Small and quaint--only 19 accommodations

CONs:
-The free shuttle back to resort from Ubud center requires an exact pick up hour (but they will happily accommodate a different time if you call)
-Free yoga was only offered at 7:00am
-We wish there was more education on the village and Ubud on our trek through the rice paddies and village

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites on the second floor. But I don't think you can go wrong with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royellis1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    185
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
567
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was a little hesitant to stay a car ride's away fro Ubud but I am so happy I did. The setting was gorgeous and quiet. My favorites: the bread basket at breakfast, daily yoga, shuttle service to town, the fact that the staff knew me by name. The pool was beautiful but small but again I have no complaints. All around relaxing.

Room Tip: Check out the Puri Sunia Spa Package. An unbelievable value for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetraveling N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for a week at puri sunia with our 2 sons. It is a 1/2 hr shuttle ride away from downtown and 2 hrs from the airport.Very small place but scenic and green.Felt relaxed and calm.Loved Julie's yoga sessions- a very kind,lovely lady.A special thanks to Wayan the gardener who helped with my younger son in the pool .The massage was expensive but relaxing.We enjoyed the complimentary paddy trek thro'the fields with Julie.Breakfast is a la carte with good vegetarian options.Room service is very expensive.We were charged by mistake for some drinks,but the staff later waived the charge.We took day trips to the craft villages,temples,Mt,Batur,Sanur and Seminyak from here.Kids loved the pool.Wifi is available.Airport pickup and shuttle service was very prompt.Very quick check in and checkout.Overall excellent experience.

Room Tip: choose a first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rampriya2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hidden located among rice paddies in rural Ubud, it has comfortable rooms and villas, a great service by a discreet and very helpful staff and good food. very affordable and has also a small spa of high quality. An hourly scheduled van makes it easy the transportation to the center of Ubud city. It will be my choice for next year's returning trip to Bali

Room Tip: Not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanemBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed at the Puri Sunia with friends and we were not disappointed! It is a small cosy hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We did not want to stay in Ubud as it has, unfortunately, turned into a big tourist attraction. But this resort was still close enough to enjoy some of the not-so-touristy things that Ubud has to offer. Settting of the resort is lovely, amidst rice paddies and close to small village.
We enjoyed the complimentary activities such as a hiking tour and the early morning yoga. Were very pleasantly surprised by the food in the restaurant which was outstanding (both breakfast&dinner) and which was very reasonably priced. So was the wine!
Rooms well appointed and clean with a very nice, simple decor.
Really appreciated the gesture of complimentary coffee on the day of our departure, as we had already settled the bill. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Puri Sunia was nothing short of brilliant. I stayed there with my Mum for five nights and we were not disappointed.

The service was excellent - the staff are some of the nicest people in the world and are genuinely happy to serve you. The food is exquisite, the rooms are gorgeous and the free activities are good fun. The "trekking" (more of a stroll) was lovely, as was the "jogging" and yoga.

We also indulged and had nail treatments, massages and scrubs in the day spa, which was a fabulous experience.

There is a free shuttle bus available every hour - the drivers are lovely. They will go to great lengths to make sure they pick you up too, regardless of the time.

The grounds, pool and hotel itself really are beautiful, and so well maintained. We will definitely be back.

Thanks everyone...! It was a pleasure to stay in your hotel - I look forward to your next establishment opening.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Looking for a little getaway, we chose this hotel after a recommendation from our friend. We were not disappointed. Puri Sunia is a great little hotel.

Pro
-clean
-great service
-great food
-cozy setup.. only 19 rooms
-adult oriented... not kid friendly

Con
-location is a bit far.. 15 min shuttle ride from Ubud town center

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOECOOL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing