We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We decided to stay here for the first three days of our one-week in Bali based on the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. In retrospect, we wished we had booked the resort for the whole week. We found the previous positive reviews to be extremely accurate. The resort is nestled outside of Ubud in a beautiful area among the rice paddies and local villagers. You are quickly immersed in how the locals live when you take an early morning guided two-mile walk in the area around the resort. Upon arrival, you are offered a free 15-minute welcoming foot massage. We took advantage of that on our third and final day. Note: mosquitos were not a problem here as the area around the resort is fogged once a week. The complimentary morning breakfasts were great with a number of options including a traditional American breakfast as well as local food such as Nasi Goreng (fried rice with chicken and vegetables) and Mie Goreng (same dish but with noodles). Service was exceptional and extremely gracious. The rooms were comfortably spacious with very nice marbled finished bathrooms. The grounds of the resort are extremely peaceful. You feel you are in a holistically healthy and spiritual place in a very natural way. The serenity is not forced upon you-it is simply present. Free shuttle service to Ubud was great. Ubud is a great little village that is the center of culture and art in Bali. We stayed in Nusa Dua our last 3 days in Bali but next time will stay at Puri Sunia for a week instead of staying at the beach areas of Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, or Nusa Dua. You can hire a driver to visit those areas. If you want a truly relaxing and spiritual experience, stay at the Puri Sunia for a week. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emptynest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    185
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
567
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I am so pleased my travel agent recommended puri sunia - it was exactly what I was looking for! I am travelling solo and this resort has been my family for the last 7 days, they have looked after me in so many ways...I am so greatful that there are hotels like this that really nourish the mind, body and soul! I have loved the complimentary yoga each morning, mediation, cycling, massages at the spa (the whole experience at the spa is just beautiful) and quiet time. The food is brilliant and the staff are so kind and generous....every single request is welcomed and taken care of and the rooms are fit for a king, I especially love the way they prepare the bed for daytime and then different for nighttime, I feel very looked after and pampered! It had been my little piece of heaven on earth!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are fantastic and are very private with your own balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rylstone, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at Puri Sunia recently for three nights and absolutely loved it. We were in a suite room overlooking the pool which was tastefully furnished and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay from a good range of toiletries to robes, slippers, water and power adaptor. We took advantage of the hotels activities, the ricefields jogging and yoga - other guests said the trekking was great too. Of particular note was the food - by far the best we have had in Bali by a long way. The breakfasts were beautiful, we tried all the choices but loved the Puri Sunia breakfast of fruit, cinnamon toast and either chicken or prawn rice porridge - absolutely stunning! Dinner was served with a complimentary amuse bouche and sorbet between courses. The service in general was truly fabulous. Shuttle service was great. All in all a wonderful resort if you are looking for peace, quiet and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roses273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Initially booked for 3 nights and ended up extending twice for a total of 6-7 nights.
Hotel is beautiful, in a small valley, rooms are very nice. We stayed in a pool villa and this was one of the better rooms we ever stayed in. Pool is more jacuzzi like, the outside area is not surrounded by walls but facing the forest and very airy.
Food was excellent. Breakfast has a good amount of choice and is very good, on a terrace overlooking a small rice field. Room service is also excellent, although a bit pricey.
The service and the staff were beyond expectations, very genuine and warm.
They describe themselve as "A Peacefully home", definitely was!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leylaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed three nights recently.The resort was what we needed - boutique, situated in a serene setting, in a nice village surrounded by paddi fields, but still close enough to Ubud (about 12 minutes ride by the hotel's free shuttle bus, very convenient). The services provided by the staff were excellent (friendly, polite and always with a smile). The morning yoga practices were good and so were the guided walks around the rice paddies and local village. The breakfast and afternoon tea sessions were always delicious and served with care and genuine friendliness.

We would definitely come back at our next visit to Ubud.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TnTTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it was very nice indeed. The staff were lovely and very polite, breakfast was the best I've had in Bali for 26 years you were given a choice. Afternoon tea everyday with cake, yoga, trekking with Juli. The rooms were very modern and clean. They provided the shuttle every hour into Ubud took about 10 mins, then would pick you up when you were ready. I would definately be going back there just loved it. Thank you Puri Sunia for a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: The are all the same, they also have Villas with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debillqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was the third time I travelled to Bali and I wondered why I did not stay at Puri Sunia for the last 2 times I was there! The resort was located in a quiet village about 15 minutes from Ubud Centre, but it is just the perfect location I thought! Away from the way too crowded beaches and next to tranquil padi fields, it was the perfect setting for a quiet and blissful holiday.

We stayed in a pool villa with our own heated dip pool and surrounded by lush greenery, we had absolute privacy. Service was excellent, way better than any 5-star hotels I have been. The smiles were genuine, and the staff were eager to please the guests.

Food is not cheap but is well prepared with the best ingredients possible and therefore worth every cent of it! The fine details set it apart from the rest, from lacing the drinking water with strawberries or lemon to the warm bread and pastries that were served.

We also spent half a day at the spa, the massage was fantastic and the ambience peaceful and relaxing. the room was set with a bathroom that opened to outdoor greenery. The bath tub is also larger than most but was designed with a rest for your back to make it more comfortable.

There are plenty to do at the resort. Every effort was made to made your stay memorable. Morning yoga classes, trekking in the charming local village and cycling in the area, there are plenty to do. Yoga classes are complimentary, twice a day in the open air pavilion on level 2. The yoga teacher is experienced and good (I know, after doing yoga for the last eight years). Trekking in the village is highly recommended, passing by the padi fields, seeing families washing in the river and visiting a traditional Balinese family home are sights that you wouldn't want to miss.

If I were to plan another trip to Bali, this is definitely the place I will stay!

Room Tip: The pool villas cost a bit more but definitely worth every cent of it. You get absolute privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peitoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing