We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great place to stay”
Review of Indira Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indira Cottage
Ranked #60 of 620 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2012

New boutique hotel in Ubud which is clean and has best value for money. As there are only a few rooms available, you really feel like home and the staff with Made is always here to help you.

In comparison to other places in Ubud, the bed linens are clean and the modern and big bath room lets you feel like in a 5 star hotel for a great price. Location is a bit hidden but 2 min to the main road of Ubud.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: bigger bath room in lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 208 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in Artini 2 which was highly rated on tripadvisor, but had such a bad experience that we decided to check out after the first night and luckily discovered this place. The hotel is new and hidden in the rice fields next to the Monkey Forest in Ubud. As the hotel does not belong to a big hotel chain there is no marketing done and only few rooms are available.

Advantages:
- Clean and new rooms in a modern design
- Quiet place with a small pool away from the main street and looking over a river towards the monkey forest
- Great location, about 50 meters away from Monkey Forest street (main street in Ubud)
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Best price for value in Ubud

Disadvantages:
- Small street to Monkey Forest street is not paved and take a torch for those few meters at night.

Try to book early as there are only a few rooms available.

Room Tip: Bathrooms in the lower floor are incredible, but on the higher floor it is lighter when sitting in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Djuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Really like this place was very good and the prices was good. Was new! The thing I found with all places carry air plugs but other then that is a great great place love the stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicalleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

All the problem in this hotel is about money...
They insist on a full payment in advance...and ,should you refuse,like we do...you are reminded to pay 10 times per day...even by phone in the middle of the night...

Hey guys,the crooks in Bali are mostly Indonesians...not the tourists...

If you dont trust your customers,don't open a business..
By the way,the hotel is not bad...but we will never return in a place where the management seems to be so greedy..

Room Tip: The rooms located on first floor (the superior rooms,I suppose) have nice view over the hotel wall o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJGParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This small well run hotel was a real find. It can be a bit overwhelming when u get to ubud as there are so many places to stay we found indira cottage by chance or rather gusti ( manager) found us when we were trekking the streets to find accom. It's a bit off the beaten track but that i think adds to the charm. It's very close to monkey forest and we even saw monkeys close by in trees. It's not far to walk to markets ( 15 min ) and away from hustle in bustle however the traffic sound in morning does seem to travel so sleeping in late was difficult ( 7am) Facilities are new and clean and very well priced . What makes indira cottage great is the staff very friendly and gusti will reccomend places to go and makes sure u don't get ripped off. its a good place as a base if u are planning on being out and about. The banana pancakes are the best . I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a4p3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Indira Cottages is a small hotel big on quality and value. Finished in 2011 it is simple and stylish, comfortable and friendly. Gusti the host is especially helpful - as are all the staff. Set back only 20m from the main street you have a quiet retreat with easy access via the foot/bike path. All the main street offerings and the Monkey Forest are in easy reach - so close the monkeys may come to the hotel wall. Your only choice is ground floor or first floor and the end closest to the waterfall or the other end which will be quieter. The photos don't do it justice... it's better! My only regret is we should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Chose to be near or far from the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Indira Cottages is located very close to the Monkey Forest Temple reserve in Ubud. It's a great location, although a little tricky to access. It is reached by a footpath from Monkey Forest Road or by continuing along Bisma Street until it turns into a track and ends at the bridge over the river.
Indira Cottages is far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be peaceful (- it's just a short stroll to the rice paddies) but close enough to easily walk along Monkey Forest Road into the main shopping street and the market. An added entertainment bonus is the monkeys as they perch along the nearby bridge and raid the hotel grounds to eat the offerings!
There are plenty of places to eat close by along Monkey Forest Road (although there's no point in going past Warung Dayu's which has fabulous meals).
The hotel has only been open since July 2011; it is very well appointed and is spotlessly clean. Gusti, the manager, and his staff are absolutely lovely and spoilt us with their care and attention. We can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Francie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#67 of 620 in Ubud
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wenara Bali Bungalow
Wenara Bali Bungalow
#186 of 620 in Ubud
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#27 of 620 in Ubud
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#35 of 620 in Ubud
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indira Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indira Cottage

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 620 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $22 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indira Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Indira Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indira Cottage Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing