We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The villa itself is a good reason for us to come...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bathroom 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bathroom 1
Living Room to Pool Pool area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Bathroom 1
Living Room to Pool
Pool area
Dining room 2
Dining Room
Bathroom 2
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Living room
Kitchen
View from pool
Bar between Living Rm. & Kitchen
Daybed/Sofa
Bathroom entry
Bathroom sinks
Cut-Stone Tub
From Pool to Living Room
W. Bathroom
Dining Table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
naihe
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The villa itself is a good reason for us to come again.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Agung Maia (its full name) is a new building (less than 1 year). It is separated from Villa Khalia. The distance between each other is about 20 meter. Villa Maia is located in the rice field, you can have a great view: infinite green rice field dotted by a few white heron. You can sit in the shed, enjoy the breeze, read a book, it is so relaxing.
Villa provide transport to and from Ubud centre, therefore, you can have the tranquility in a countryside while not worrying about the isolation from the pubs/crowded people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean swimming pool and the small shed facing to the rice field.
Liked least: no aircon in the living room (you can open the door but be ware of the mosqitos at night)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie1963
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total relaxation with friendly helpful staff in magnificent surroundings.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at Villa Maia for 8 nights and really didn't want to leave. The villa driver collected us from the airport and transported us to our home or the next week. We woke to paradise. The staff were helpful and lovely and always available. We were given a mobile for our trips to town and this really helped us to relax as we would be picked up at our own leisure. We booked massages with two lovely ladies each afternoon at 4pm which just sealed the deal....heaven. The food was always tasty and fresh, and it was great to just laze around our own private pool on some days and have the meal delivered. Ubud itself was terrific as well with plenty of excellent places to eat at and much to see and do. Agung and Guru were easy to organise things with and a pleasure to talk to at all times. We really didn't want to leave and can't wait to get back. Terrific place, highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting and the pool.
Liked least: Leaving....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcandga...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing villa in paradise”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely loved this place - could not fault any aspect of our stay. To begin with, the villa is superb - two large air conditioned bedrooms with beautifully appointed decor, both with large outdoor bathrooms with two showers each. the central area is large, spacious and again, fantastically appointed.
The staff are so friendly and attentive (although not overly so). they will arrange anything for you, and because this villa is a little way out of central ubud, they will drive you into the town at a moment's notice, they give you a mobile phone for the duration of your stay, and you just phone them up when you want to be collected. amazing service!
the food, which you can have in the restaurant (there are 4-5 villas in the complex) or in your room is very good. I recommend the nasi goreng! The villa looks out over the paddy fields - wonderful view.
The owners arranged for us to be collected from the airport where we were met by a very friendly chap who had chilled bottles of water for us and drove us in a modern air conditioned SUV.
The property has high speed internet available everywhere and cable tv - not that you will watch it because the view is so amazing. this villa is so peaceful and being out of the hustle and bustle of Ubud is a genuine advantage.

For eating out in Ubud, i recommend the Melting Wok - but you will need to book.

Villa Maia is quite possible the best place I have ever stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful villa, infinity pool, excellent customer service
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal4858
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleased and blessed to have found, stayed and enjoyed Villa Maia”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

A modern designed villa surrounded by greenery and felt welcomed daily by friendly and gracious staff and Agung himself.

We enjoyed the villa so much that we only stepped out of the villa to have breakfast (you can choose to have it in the villa as well but we are always up late) and dinner out in Ubud via the free shuttle. Massage at the gazebo was a very pleasant experience with fresh breezes of air and nature (i.e. no cheesy chill music in a usual spa)

This place is for serious people who wants to have a quiet retreat and yet not too far away from great ubud food in town and the supermarket. The only troublesome thing is the internet, as we have multiple devices per person (ipad, smartphone, laptops) and have to login each time we like to surf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern facilities in a very peaceful village and served by welcoming hospitable staff
Liked least: internet
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathryn62
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed in the brand new Villa Maia as two adults and two older teenagers. We were booked for 5 nights and then we transferred to Nusa Dua for our remaining 6 nights in Bali. However, after one night in Nusa Dua we rang Villa Agung Khalia (VAK) and asked them to take us back - which fortunately for us they did.

The villa itself is absolutely gorgeous - large and roomy, impeccably decorated with truly stunning bathrooms and infinity edge private pool. The location is incredibly peaceful, overlooking the rice paddies. However, what makes the place so sublime, is the staff. Overseen by Mr Agung all of the staff were warm, welcoming and went out of their way to do whatever they could for us to make our stay memorable. We felt especially cared for by Guru, Nyoman (driver), Dewi, Kadek, Putu and Nyoman (restaurant).

We were concerned initially that the teenagers, in particular, may find the location too remote with not enough 'activities' to keep them amused. This concern proved baseless as whenever the pool and immediately surrounds became inadequate there was always a free 10 minute transfer into Ubud itself available, or an organised trip at very reasonable expense.

The breakfast each morning consisted of fresh fruit, juice, toast and a chosen cooked item off the menu. Everything that we tried was fantastic, although there seemed to be inconsistency, depending on who was cooking that day, i.e. if we particularly loved something one day and then ordered it the next, it may be quite different (not bad different - just different) because someone else had cooked it. We also ate dinner at the restaurant on four nights and this was also very good, although probably not at the standard of some of the better restaurants down in Ubud.

We used the drivers at the villa extensively, from picking us up from the airport, transferring us to Nusa Dua, transferring us back to VAK, to having them drive us all around the island for days on end. We could not fault this service, even although some of the drivers have a less than extensive command of English.

We also undertook some of the activities organised by VAK. We did the bike ride down from Kintamani which was the unparalleled highlight of the trip, the trip over the Amed to snorkel on the Japanese WWII wreck, the elephant park for rescued Samatran elephants, and the nearby Indonesian cooking class which was also a highlight. We felt very confident in following the recommendations of Guru and Nyoman in respect of our activities and we certainly did not have cause to regret it.

Overall every member of our party had a fantastic time at VAK and we cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Bed could have been a bit softer
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing