We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful but off the main road”
Review of Ala's Green Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala's Green Lagoon
Ranked #179 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel's location is quite good in that it is pretty close to the centre of the town but beware: it is off the main road so cars cannot come up to the door - you have to walk for some minutes on narrow paths in the rice fields. It's a very nice walk but may come as a nasty surprise if you arrive with a lot of luggage you have to carry yourself. The place itself is very beautiful: large rooms in the traditional balinese style (carvings and all) in a garden on the verge of rice fields. The rooms are clean, the mattress on the bed is comfortable although the bed itself is on a kind of a pedestal so you have to be careful climbing in and out. There is a huge stone tub in the large half-open bathroom (but they provide no toiletries whatsoever, no even soap). Working wi-fi. breakfast is quite limited. The owners can arrange day trips with English-speaking drivers at fair prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a great experience at Ala's in December 2012. The staff was very accommodating of our group, even when we decided to change our arrival and departure dates at the last minute.

The setting is so beautiful. You have to walk on an elevated path through the rice paddies in order to get to Ala's off the road, but the walk is stunning. You can hear the ducks quacking and the frogs chirpping the whole way there, and the staff will carry your bags for you, too. The rooms were lovely and the price was good, about $30 USD/night.

Breakfast was delicious - especially the green pancakes, which were a big hit. We liked Ala's so much that we came back at the end of our trip for two more nights, rather than stay in Kuta before departing Bali. So glad we did - great trip, both times!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALN258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Yess, the location is wonderful, the sounds of the birds, frogs and gekko's are wonderful to fall a sleep with and wake up to. It has charme with its indonesian style and that gives it a lot of potential. The staff to us was friendly but not genuine, it felt fake. When asked critical question we in many cases got the reply 'i am only staff'. We had a downstairs room all the way in the back which was private and had a good view on the sawah's. However the terras had almost no natural light. The room was good at first sight but when we actually stayed in it it turned out to be poor at best. The bedding was not clean when we came and needs replacement altogether. The room is full of mold or fungus from the humidity, the bathroom especially the bathtub area was dirty and moldy. The roof of the bathroom was leaking. There where ants everywhere even in our bed. There is no airco only a fan. Because of the open wood work and stone work above the doors and windows without mosquito screening there are a a lot of mosquitos. All together I think this place is not worth the money, we stayed in a similar priced place with excellent facilities and service.

Breakfast was ok, fruit juices very nice. When asked the customize the breakfast according your wishes. But the term heavinly is very overstated.

When improvements are made it can be a great place, update the rooms, make them mosquito proof, make staff responsible and able to make decisions and upgrade the cleaning.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms where 20 dollars more expensive but i think similar to the downstairs rooms except fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD-ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Other reviewers have captured the pros and cons very well. The location is great - within walking distance of the main central Ubud attractions. The setting is great - in the rice fields so it is quiet and peaceful. The staff are great - friendly and helpful. However, the place does need to be updated. We had a supposedly 'deluxe' room which was fairly basic. The bedding needs to be renewed. Pillows were mildewed and sheets had holes in them. The so called 'heavenly breakfast' could be more appropriately named 'adequate breakfast'. There were no eggs other than in a jaffle which despite requesting no tomato came with lashings of tomato! There are so many accommodation options in Ubud that Ala's Green Lagoon probably needs to start taking note of what guests are saying if it wants to keep up or else it will soon be left behind!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Baligirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We loved being surrounded by lush green paddi fields and going to bed to the sound of frogs & geckos. The pool was a lovely way to cool down and our room had its positives & negatives.

Positives: large room, authentic Balinese inspired designs, bed was comfy, big mozzie net, nice balcony with good views & a HUGE fridge freezer (fully stocked with soft drinks & Bintang all at reasonable prices). Negatives: no ac & the fan wasn't enough to keep us cool, the mozzie net made us far too hot - even with all the windows open (no screens) so we were never a comfortable temp to sleep.

The 'heavenly' breakfast was just okay and all the staff were friendly and courteous. We only met the owner upon check-out, he was grumpy and almost verging on rude - he could learn some customer service skills from his employees.

Overall, we'd recommend it as a chilled out place to stay and recommend you negotiate a competitive rate.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have lovely views over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent sixteen nights here and there was never a glitch. Really nice owners and great staff. We asked them to deliver cash for concert tickets and they were more than helpful. Beautiful setting and really nice rooms. Excellent breakfast (though "heavenly" may be a tad presumptuous).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansmd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The room and grounds were of good quality. There was a lot of character with unique Balinese touches to the architecture. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and found it to be very nice and spacious. We were a little disappointed to find that there were no screens on the windows and that the mosquito net had huge holes in it. However, even though we slept with our windows open every night, we were relieved to have seen only a handful of mosquitos in our room. The staff cleaned the room daily. Bring your own soap- they do not provide hand soap at the sink or any shower toiletries.
The staff was courteous and friendly. They brought us breakfast on our porch every morning. The food was OK. We thought the location was excellent- it was far enough outside of town to feel peaceful, yet close enough to easily go into town to go out to eat and see the sights.
We did have some frustration over some transportation services that we asked the staff to arrange for us based on a board they had set up in the common area advertising transportation services. The communication wasn't very clear and despite many questions, we weren't able to find out in advance exactly what we were getting or how long it would take us to get to our destination. We ended up getting to where we needed to go, but if I were to do it again, I probably would have arranged it myself as we didn't get quite what we had hoped for or what we had been told we were getting.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others based on the great location, nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Traveler_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
5 mi away
Bali Moon
Bali Moon
#230 of 640 in Ubud
80 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
7.5 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala's Green Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala's Green Lagoon

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80572, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $25 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala's Green Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Ala's Green Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala's Green Lagoon Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing