We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Ubud Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room Verandah
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room Verandah
Lounge Chairs in Living Room with view to the Pool Living Room and Kitchen with Day Bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Living Room Verandah
Lounge Chairs in Living Room with view to the Pool
Living Room and Kitchen with Day Bed
Living Room with view to verandah
4 poster bed with mosquito net
View from East verandah to living room
Kitchen Bar with view to garden and rice paddies
Bathroom with Tiles in Open Shower
Bathroom Vanity
Pool view West to East with lounge chairs
4 Poster King Size Bed with view to Pool
Pool and Deck.  View from East to West.
Bathroom with open shower
East Verandah for outdoor dining
Kitchen bar counter with antique day bed
Bedroom with TV/DVD/Indonvision and view to west verandah
Bathroom Counter and Shower
Bedroom with TV/DVD/Indonvision and view to pool
4 poster king size bed with mosquito net
Living Room with Antique Shutter Doors and view to east verandah
View from kitchen to bathroom and bedroom
Rice Paddy view to the south
Kitchen and Bar with view to the south rice paddies
Living Area with Antique Day Bed
Front Door to Villa Manis with Pool View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrCoolBre...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Ubud Retreat”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This "sweet" (Manis) colonial-style villa in a peaceful village setting about 10 minutes (on foot) from Ubud centre is a tastefully-decorated, well-maintained oasis where you can genuinely kick back and relax away from the hustle and bustle. The only sounds you'll hear are the birds chirping, the ducks in the next door rice paddies quacking, and the resident gecko making whatever noise it is that geckos make!

We regretted not going straight to Villa Manis on arrival in Bali instead of staying in Seminyak for 3 days. The latter seems to get worse every year while Ubud manages to retain its quaint, villagey feel.

Mary and her staff are delightful hosts. We were very happy campers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Shared pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you at Villa Manis and hope you will return again. The perfect guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineMGr...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in the perfect location...”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We had one week in Ubud at the beginning of our honeymoon. We arrived in the middle of the night and were greeted with smiles! The villa is beautifully appointed and in a wonderful location. An easy walk down to the main village of Ubud, walking past easily the best cafe in Ubud (Seniman). The house lady Wayan was very friendly and efficient, and the driver Made was sensational. We enjoyed two days touring with Made who was fluent in english, and very interested in sharing cultures, ideas and stories, the days driving were fun and informational and he was happy to be taken off-course when we spontaneously found something additional to see. We highly recommend visiting the Kintamani area - just spectacular! The windows/french doors on the villa were amazing and we enjoyed being able to open up the villa at night, with the security of having the windows secured but with a lovely night breeze blowing.

We especially enjoyed the resident Tokay Gecko who entertained us with his mating call and popped up all over the villa - he was just so cute!

The bathroom was amazing with the open roof at one end - and the bed extremely comfortable and safe with the mosquito netting. The pool was clean and a welcome relief at the end of a hot & humid day's exploring.

We highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the villa
Liked least: Mix-up with airport pick-up and subsequent follow-up
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaKou...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little peace of Paradise”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just spent an amazing two weeks at The Garden Cottage with my daughter. Mary and her sweet little helpers Made and Wayan made us feel so welcome from the very first moment. Nothing was too much trouble. Our villa was like staying in a little piece of paradise ! 10 min walk to the main road and Bali's No 1 restaurant Fair Warung Bale. Loved the out door shower, the private balconies and lap pool. Highly recommended. Can't thank Mary and her staff enough for making our holiday so extra special. We are both very much looking forward to coming back hear again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2013
Thanks Girls! It was a delight having you. You are great guests and it such a pleasure to have your fresh perspective and joy in your travels around Bali and Ubud. Hope to see you again in the near future here in Taman Kaja. Cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waimeha1
carnarvon western australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ONCE AGAIN YOU HAVE GIVEN US THE BEST HOLIDAY”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our second stay at this beautifully presented villa was outstanding. Mary, Wayan and Made, made us so welcome we did not want to leave. Seven days was not long enough and on the final evening Mary invited us to join her for a meal that Made had prepared - it was wonderful Mary and we feel like part of your family now.
The villa is well appointed with quality fixtures and fittings. The queen bed is so comfy with cushie pillows and the shutters offer a cool breeze instead of the air-conditioning. Love the semi outdoor bathroom with large modern bath tub and a decent shower.
The kitchen is equiped with all necessary requirements but we decided to eat out for lunch and dinner.
You can not go past the morning breakfast that was prepared for us - we love mei goreng with an egg on top with chilli. Every day it was worth waking up to.
The grounds are keep immaculate and the pool sparkling clean.
I could go on forever but this is a promise (as long as our health is OK) we will be back again but for a longer stay.
We would like to thank Wayan and Made for the daily trips to town on the back of the motor bikes :)
Made Rai our driver we love you and your family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
You guys rock! It was such a pleasure to have you as guests. Thank you so much for all of your gifts and clothes for the staff. They are positively thrilled, and I am saving that beautiful bottle of wine for a very special occasion. Will drink a special toast to you.

We are having a very special and magical trip with Martha and her friends around the island. Will miss her when she leaves.

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. hurry back.

Much love, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamee87
Main Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing - didnt want to leave!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My partner and I stayed in Villa Manis and had a wonderful experience. After emailing Mary everything seemed to fall into place and she was able to accommodate us a night early, which was great. I was a bit hesitant as we normally stay in hotels, however after staying at Villa Manis, we wouldnt stay elsewhere in Ubud.

The villa is clean and comfortable and the pool is amazing. We stayed over Nyepi and found it equipped with everything. Thanks to Wayan for making our stay even more special. Thanks again Mary, we hope to see you again soon!

Jamee and Kurt

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and close proximity to the heart of Ubud
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2013
Dear Jamee and Kurt.

Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay in Villa Manis. Please come and stay again when next you are in Ubud.

Cheers, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennyMoam...
Moama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Villa Manis Bagus Sekali”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Very nice villa with friendly staff and proprietor. Peaceful and approx 800 metres to central Ubud. Spacious and well appointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful locality
Liked least: nothing much
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat in a Balinese neighborhood”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just had a return visit to the Garden Cottage at Villa Manis. We chose to spend two weeks here as we knew we could shut off from the hurley burley of life, enjoy the stillness and peace of the rice fields and still get to everywhere we wanted to go in Bali. Walking down Jalan Sri Wedari to Ubud Raya takes about 10 mins at a slow Balinese stroll through the neighborhood of Taman. It is a 45 minute drive to Seminyak and you also have access to the central areas of Bali if you want to experience the spiritual heart of this gorgeous island. Each day we walked to different restaurants, swam in the private pool, enjoyed the breeze from our balcony, and slept to the sounds of geckos and frogs. It is also easy access to my preferred yoga studio at Intuitive Flow in Penestanan. Mary Lee and her team Wayan and Made look after you so well it feels like home away from home. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing