We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have scooter, good stay”
Review of Villa Ibu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ibu
Ranked #370 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

It was a great experience staying in ibu villa. Staff were friendly. Lots of feedback were mentioning there are lots of insects. It is true. But we enjoyed being together with those insects. Especially the big lizard named gicko. The way the gicko sound is like human talking. Something special.

If you love the nature. You love the stay. However, it was very inconvenient to get to the town. Because too remote. Depends on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lim1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 29 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place, not too far from Ubud.

+ Very nice guy running the place, Su.
+ Nice basic room, with good view or outside bathroom.
+ Rice peddies next to the villa, great for a morning stroll.
+ Beautiful small garden with swimming pool to cool down.

- A lot of antz.
- Some morning noise, cock's, dogs, some traffic and ducks
- If Su is not there, service is different.

All together we stayed there more than 2 weeks. We would definetly go back when we're in Ubud. Keep your expectation low, thay will make the stay always more pleasant!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a great time at the Villa Ibu, set in a tranquil area amongst rice fields at the side of Jl. Suweta, small feeder road leading into Ubud. Our room service Su, who materialized whenever anything was needed, was so sweet to us (my Chinese-Indonesian girlfriend/fiancé and me, a German-French guy). Welcome drinks were set on the balcony to the beautiful view, Su laid out a large heart of plumeria/frangipani & bougainvillea blossoms onto our bedsheet for us to lay in. He also spontaneously brought candles to the nice and intimately set pool when we swam at night (a light had dropped out, so he made it even more romantic for us).

For AUS$5.- you can have a moped for the whole day, organized by Su, so the long walk to Ubud is no issue. In town we got an older jeep to use for the rest of the day, the whole next day and the morning of the day after for roughly AUS20.- altogether, plus petrol of course. Being so centrally located in Ubud we could visit so much of Bali with the jeep, like the welcoming Hindu festivals at Uluwatu, the beautiful temple Taman Ayun, amazing Tanah Lot - and with the moped the monkey forest and the Gunung Kawi Sebatu Tegallalang temple north of Ubud.

Whenever we came back from our adventures, we got friendly service from ever attentive Su and also spent fruitful time with the owner, who is a widely known and respected personality in Ubud but whose name we won't publish without his prior agreement. Villa Ubud more than satisfied our requirements for the very reasonable price we paid on short notice, our rooms were clean and well stocked, even air conditioned, of course one shouldn't expect a totally sterile place, sometimes a few ants or geckos (chasing the ants maybe) show up, but that just adds to the charm. The wide bed had a lovely mosquito net in three interloping parts which added to the romance feeling. i had a bad back from 10 nights in a far too soft bed in Jakarta before, the firm and supportive, very comfortable bed here was a blessing. The meals and juices were yummy, what can I say - it was perfect for us and we look forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less space in front of the bedrooms, but still offer abundantly large balconies wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan_Eix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Villa Ibu. We arrived late at night and our driver had trouble finding it as the place was quite secluded. Lets talk about the good points first, I loved the views of the padi fields from the room, it was amazing to sit in the balcony and look at the gorgeous fields while eating your breakfast. The bad points-there were many insects since there were many forested areas nearby. The water supply also seemed to be wonky. After I showered, the water actually ran out and my bf couldn't shower. We informed the staff and had to wait half an hour before there was water again. The water flow was extremely weak and he couldn't shower properly. This didn't happen on just one occasion. I woke up in the middle of the night and there was no water supply too! It happened on the second night again.
Overall, even though it was relatively cheap at S$70/night, I would recommend you to stay elsewhere in Ubud.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the EPL house (the house where the movie was shot) in the middle of the paddy fields for 5 nights and I loved it. After searching for a place to stay for 2 weeks, i ended up at this beautiful property. Location is 10 min bike ride from central of Ubud, which is fine (if you're ok if you ride a motorbike). It's very safe for single women travelling alone, not at any point did I feel unsafe.

The house itself is beautifully located, and if you want peace and quiet I can fully recommend this place. Another positive is that the owner is very much engaged. He is a very smart guy that wants to make you feel at home straight away. He even took me as his guest to a royal wedding after asking to attend a ceremony. He also personally dropped me off at the airport early in the morning.

Downsides: A young guy manages the place day-to-day and he's struggling. Breakfast was on Balinese time (more than half an hour late on several occasions), and the preparation of the eggs were sub-standard. Also, the house was not very clean at the start. I had to ask them twice to clean the house before it was manageable. The house can do with an upgrade, but value is still good compared to other properties.

Because the bungalow is located in the middle of rice fields, it comes with many animals, especially at night. But a MASSIVE upside is that there are no roosters or dogs waking you up early morning, something which is a luxury in Ubud.

All in all, an amazing Balinese experience. I will definitely come back to this place again, very sad I didn't stay there from the start.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangsi_wayan, Owner at Villa Ibu, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Hi Anne

Thanks so much for the review. Hopefully to see you again and stay longer with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed 5 nights at lovely secluded Villa Ibu. It is, as many of the reviews here say, not right in the centre of Ubud. But for us, this was a great thing, and exactly what we were looking for. Rice fields, friendly village, lovely staff, not busy or filled with tourists, and quiet! But still a managable distance to Ubud to go out for dinner, shopping or whatever you need. And a great location to do day trips to other parts of Bali.

ACCOMMODATION

The compound has four apartments, set in two double storey buildings, separated by a pool and beautiful garden in the centre. The pool is a really nice spot to chill out, have a dip, read a book etc. We tried out both of the ground floor villas, which were spacious, and clean, and had easy access to the pool and view of the gardens. The upstairs villas apparently have good rice field views, and from our walks around the area, there are certainly beautiful surroundings to enjoy! The beds were comfy and surrounded by cotton mosquito nets which while practical, also give off a nice holiday vibe. The bathroom was a generous size, and one of the bathrooms was partly outside, with an outdoor hot shower which I loved! The breakfasts are insanely good, with a plate of fresh cut fruit, fruit juice, coffee, tea, and a choice of scrambled eggs, omelette or banana pancake. I found it quite difficult to choose to be honest, they were all awesome. The staff were also really obliging with drinks of coffee and tea throughout the day when we stayed in. There is a fridge to store food, and facilities to cook (although they looked new and we didn't try them, so you would need to check that they work). The water is bore water, so you can brush your teeth and drink it safely, which was a nice comfort.

Did I mention the people at Villa Ibu are amazing? We met the owner (Pak Wayan Tangsi) who is a total dude and really friendly, he actually built the place so you can tell he really pays attention to detail and your happiness is his main concern. We ended up becoming quite good friends and felt like we were a part of the little Bentuyung community in only a few days. And the staff are really lovely and will help with anything if you ask. They also afford you plenty of privacy if that's what you're after.

LOCATION

While Villa Ibu is located on the 'main' street of Bentuyung village, it is at the northern end of the village and so the road is relatively quiet - particularly at night. We had no problems sleeping. I can see why drivers might have trouble finding it if they are not from Ubud (particularly if its your first day there, and you get a driver from the Airport) however, if you explain that it is the village of Bentuyung, north of Ubud, and north of the temple, they will work it out. It really is one straight road (Jalan Suweta) from the Ubud palace (centre of town) so its not difficult.

GETTING TO & FROM UBUD

The distance from Ubud could be a problem if you don't plan how you're going to get around. You can get a driver back and forth (about $3-$5 each way, depending on your negotiation skills) or hire motorcycles/scooters for the duration. If we had stayed longer we would have hired scooters for sure, but in the end, we enjoyed almost a daily walk to Ubud, substituting with drivers as needed. You can do the walk down the main road, which really isn't as scary as some make out. Still, that distance is about 4km, and took us between 45-60 minutes each way. Its a fun walk (though maybe avoid doing it at midday, when its super hot) and you get to experience the daily happenings of a Balinese village and meet some lovely locals and dogs and chickens! You don't get that from looking out a car window. The other option is to walk through the rice fields. There is walk that has become really famous among visitors to Bali, which starts at the main road of Ubud, and goes through the fields, past farmers at work, roosters crowing, people carting all manner of things around on motorbikes, to the cafe's Pomegranate and Sari Organic. If you kept going along this rice paddy walk for another 30-40 minutes, you come out in the middle of Bentayung village. Another 5 minutes, you're at Villa Ibu. So that was a nice alternative, longer, route into town (or indeed for a night cap at one of those cafes). At night, it was a particularly beautiful walk under a full moon, but you would need to bring a good torch just in case, mosquito repellent, and comfy shoes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelleMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Travelled with e more ladies, it was booked by my friend's colg thru some cheap deal. Location is far from Ubud town, even local driver we engaged wasn't sure where was this villa located. We arrived late night,having problem finding e villa since it's dark n deserted. Arrived at e villa,big room with big bathroom with bath tub but dirty bed sheet n blanket welcomed us. Requested e staff (owner of e villa) to give us another set of bed sheet, my fren and I changed it on our own as another lady already slept on e side bed. Friendly staff gave us a set of so-called new bed sheet but we still found stains.. Well,well... Told myself to bear with it coz it's just 1night stay. Think twice before booking! Cheers!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank yangly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.7 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ibu

Address: Suweta St. Banjar Bentuyung, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $47 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquility of nature and the local countryside of Bali just 1,5 hours drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport, surrounded by a natural gardens and beautiful rice fields, Villa Ibu is designed for relaxation and peaceful contemplation.Villa Ibu also offers an experiencing Bali aesthetic and at the same time enjoying the tranquility of nature and the local countryside of Bali with it architectural aspect, VILLA IBU accentuate the impression of Ubud - Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ibu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ibu Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing