We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #28 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

From the moment we stepped into the Samara we knew we had made the right choice.
Everything about this quaint property was amazing!
It was very hard to leave such a tranquil serene place and we will certainly return as soon as possible but I advise to all , book early as soon this property will be booked out for months ahead as more people hear about this magical place.
Only six stunning rooms so its like having the place to yourselves.
The entire staff and owners are so inviting and a more helpful bunch would be hard to find.
Arriving on scooters was the start of our best holiday.
The rooms, outdoor showers, pool, rice fields, restaurant and staff are all 5 star.
A huge thankyou Yudi and Stefano and all the staff for making our stay with you a true pleasure.
Cant wait to visit again and see that huge smile on Made's face.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dundajuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    54
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
255
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my first time in Ubud and it was a fantastic experience. The location of Samara is perfect, along a wonderful little trail which runs through rice fields in the countryside, but at walking distance from the city center. It's a new and elegant property, well integrated into its surroundings, the rooms are great and the staff is really friendly and careful. After staying in the chaotic Kuta, we finally found paradise!
The resort has only 6 rooms, very clean and with a huge bed and all comfort included. And the open area shower, in traditional Balinese style, is so lovely! Breakfast is included, and there is choice of continental, american or Indonesian. Having a big breakfast in the morning, overlooking the rice fields, was a fantastic experience. Samara also has a classy pool, lounging area and a fantastic Italian/Indonesian restaurant (try the Tiramisu, is incredible!)
Finally, the hosts, Yudi & Stefano, are simply fantastic. They don't interfere with your personal space but they really make you feel home.
The best place in Ubud, and one of the best places in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Vonnegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marche
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enchanting is probably the word that best succeeds in expressing my experience at resort The Samara.
The strategic location, close to the center, and at the same time away from the traffic helps give the holiday something magical, rice fields, beautiful walks, the staff friendly and willing to accomodate you.
The rooms are clean and equipped with every comfort, the bathroom is gorgeous and the mattress is better than that of my house!
Yudi, the owner, is always friendly and smiling, gave us a driver very professional and took us all day to discover the beauty of Ubud.
At the end of the evening we also enjoyed a wonderful massage at the spa recommended by The Samara
The restaurant deserves a good grade 10!
I can only advise to go, I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: all rooms are in a very good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trillyepeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked direct with Yudi via email for 7 nights based on TA reviews. When we arrived (after being picked up at the airport by Ray), Yudi and Stefano greeted us and gave us an overview of Ubud and some recommendations. Yudi and Stefano are wonderful hosts and manage a very professional group of staff. As cars can't travel the last 400m to the Samara you need to walk or jump on the back of a scooter; we walked everywhere and didn't use a car for the duration of our stay (the Samara is very central to ubud and surrounds). The villas are clean, spacious and come complete with cable TV, fridge, safe, outdoor shower and wifi. There are only six villas in the complex; everyone introduced themselves and minged (which created a community like atmosphere of travellers). We had #5 which was perfectly situated opposite the lap pool. The Samara is located amongst rice fields, we really enjoyed hearing the ducks and roosters whilst we ate breakfast and seeing fire flies at night over a few G&T's. Seeing the farmers go about their daily routines tending to the rice made me realise just how hard they work. The restaurant on site is fantasic and offers good choice; we ate dinner on 2 occasions and found the food to be of a high standard and delicious; this was a real bonus and was like having your own personal chef. We look forward to visiting Yudi and Stefano's new restaurant in central Ubud when we return in January. I must give special mention to the staff; all are very professional and always willinging to assist (so friendly and personable) - they really helped to make our holiday special. Love John & Terri

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for a short 2 nights at Samara and was hosted by Yudi, the lovely manager/owner of this hotel, in June 2012. We picked the hotel for its small size, "boutique" feel, lush green surroundings and great location.

Overall service was very good, rooms are modern and well kept. Yudi provided good suggestions for places to eat and things to do.

The hospitality of the staff and Yudi made the impact to this delightful find in Ubud. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Restlessboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you ever dreamt about staying in the middle of rice field, listening to birds chirping when you are awake but do not wish to stay in a kampung(village), The Samara is the best you can get.
Me and my newly wed wife stayed here for 3 nights. Before arriving, I've contacted Yudi for reservation for my honeymoon trip. When we arrived, we were arranged a corner room that has the best privacy in the resort. The good part doesn't end here, on the floor of the room, there are beautiful flowers arranged in a sweet message congratulating us on our honeymoon.
Although the resort is a bit of the main road, the resort will always glad to pick you/ drop off at the main road for free. Just give them a call and they will be there.
All in all, this is the best resort I've been to, and I will stay here again next time.

Room Tip: The WiFi signal is a bit weak at the last room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

An extremely clean and well run small complex consisting of about 6 villas in a secluded spot with views of paddy fields.
The staff are the most helpful I encountered.
Met the owners who were equally as charming and pleasant.
Excellent breakfast freshly prepared.
Great coffee!! Fresh juices and cocktails.
Coconuts fresh from the tree available on your walk into town which is a pleasant 10 minute slow walk through a quite road.
Great value and will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejp1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#7 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing