We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Samara
Nearby Hotels
$275
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$580
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
368
61
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
61
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsoutdoor showerjalan kajengyour luggagethe main streetmobile phonemotorbike rideminute walkour honeymoonbusy ubudvisiting ubudreception areathe hustle and bustleubud centrerelaxing stayprivate villaamazing place
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 437 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A small resort only with 6 rooms, and managed by a small team of multi-talented/tasking crew. They cook and serve breakfast, do airport transfers, pick you up on a scooter, house-keeping, surprised with birthday cake and flowers. Very sincere and heart felt services.

The rooms are clean lined with modern design, very well maintained. Even the glass doors and windows are clean everyday. Can see that every corner of the property is impeccably maintained.

There is a tiny kitchen, but they serve up the breakfast without any fuss, was very efficient. And surprising they also make very good standard Italian, tried the simple aglio olio, which is the gauge for italian pasta dish, it was make to perfection.

The property is build on the padi field, and is without and fence, hence you can almost lounge at the pool, stretch your arm and touch the padi crop.

Makes it hard to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stayNview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Loved our stay at the Samara. The villas were beautiful and the setting was breathtaking. Wished we could have stayed there longer! The location is quite secluded but still very close to Ubud. Unfortunately cars cannot take to you right up to the property, you have to take a motorbike or walk the last 500m so I wouldn't recommend the place for older folks or those with mobility issues. This was also a bit frustrating when we organized pickups for tours or restaurants as the parking lot was difficult to find and drivers were often late. Without a phone at the parking lot you didn't really have option but to hope there was someone on the way or walk back to the Samara to get them to make a phone call... The only other negative worth mentioning is the poor wifi service, but that being said I don't think this issue is limited to these villas, it seemed internet access across Bali is very slow, so do all your trip advisor research prior to arriving! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This review is long overdue, my hubby Mike and myself (Sam) stayed at the Samara in May for 6 nights, having read all the review on Trip Advisor we were really excited about staying here and we were not disappointed. We were collected at the airport as promised and transferred to a parking lot 400 metres from the Villas and collected by staff on motor bikes, I was panicking about getting on the bike as was due to have a hip replacement in July and didn't think I would be able to get my leg over the seat, but staff were just so lovely and concerned and helped me get on the bike, Haven't been on a bike for quite a few years and was just a fantastic experience, absolutely loved it.
On arrival, it was about 6.30 pm we were welcomed in the reception area with a Welcome Drink then taken to our room, it was nearly dark so couldn't really see the view, but the room was amazing, new, clean, bed so comfortable and pillows to die for. Loved the bathroom with the outside shower, everything has been wll thought out and the rooms are a very good size, I read a previous room that said there are cracks appearing and is looking tired, that is just not true, this place is a credit to the owners and deserves to be at Number One!
After settling into our room we decided to have dinner at the Samara as we were to tired to go out and so glad we did, the food is beautiful and you can choose between Italian or Indonesian, one thing you must, must have is the Tiramisu, yum, yum. My hubby chose not to have it that night and the next time we ate there they had run out so he never go to try it, very disappointed.
The next morning we woke up early and opened our doors to the most amazing view, the rice paddies all around us, this would have to be one of the most picturesque and relaxing places I have stayed in Ubud, and we will definitely be returning in December, I would not stay anywhere else now. Breakfast is included each day and you have a large choice of American, Continental or Indonesian, make sure you have the Nasi Goreng or Mie Goreng, to die for, one of the best of I have tried in Bali.
We used to venture out each night to try different places to eat, and when we wanted to come back all we had to do was ring the Samara and they would meet us in Jalan Kajeng on the Motorbikes and take us back home, this would have to be one of the highlights of my trip.
The owners, Yudi and Stefano are the most gracious hosts and can not do enough to make you feel welcome and part of their family, whilst we were there it was Yudi's Birthday and all the guests were invited to her party, unfortunately we couldn't go as we had made previous arrangements, but we stayed to watch the Restaurant being set up with beautiful decorations. I think this is why it is always nice to stay in a small family run place than a big resort as you are made to feel so special, Yudi and Stefano and a very special couple and I would like to thank them for their hospitality, Mike and I cannot wait to return and see you both again in December.
Ciao

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 5 or 6, these rooms have an unobstructed view from your room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOOLIEGIRL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Staff is perfect, helpfull but discret, always anticipating what you need... Excellent!
The view is really beautiful.
And the food is... AMAZING!
It was a real pleasure, we enjoy everything! What a good choice!
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gastronome92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Beautiful location in the middle of the rice fields - when sitting in the restaurant it feels like you are sitting right in the rice fields - very romantic and relaxing. The Restaurant serves very delicious and good priced food - Indonesian and Italien (try the homemade tiramisu, can only be described as amazing, better than the ones tried in Italy). There is a great pool with beautiful surroundings. The rooms are very nice and modern and the hotel has a fantastic service with very friendly staff and wonderful owners. The owners Yudi and Stefano (with Stefano being Italien - which explains the tiramisu and Italien food) are very friendly and welcoming and really creates a unique atmosphere. All in all a fantastic place that can be highly recommeded to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janni_and_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews