We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #29 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Helmond, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Beautifull vieuw, perfect service, great accomodation, very kind personal. We were ther for 4 nights, too short!!
We will certainly come back here.

Room Tip: room no 6 gives the best vieuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    56
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
264
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in one of the Samara villas for 4 nights last week. We really liked the peaceful and remote location of the villas. When we arrived, we got our driver to call the hotel and 2 staff came to collect us on their scooters. It seemed a long way on the scooter from the "carpark" in the dark and I was worried that we would be a really long walk from town. I had read all the trip advisor reviews so I knew that the villas weren't accessible by car and how nice they were reported to be but I thought my husband must be wondering what I had gotten us into at this point :) It turned out that it is really only a 10 minute walk from the villas to the main street of Ubud.
The villas were lovely: clean, spacious, comfortable. Breakfast was really good - choice of Indonesian, eggs and bacon, pancakes or cereal. Sitting by the pool in the middle of the rice paddies was something special, you really felt like you were on holiday and 1 million miles away from normal life.
We ate dinner one night at the restaurant, I had both the meatballs and tiramisu after reading rave reviews on trip advisor and I don't know if it is because I am from an Italian family but I really didn't think either was worth writing home about.
The service was excellent throughout our stay. We met Yudi who was lovely but not her husband.
We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Ubud!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodiScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Fantastic ... I really like this place, clean, away from the bustle of the city, a cool atmosphere, beautiful scenery and unspoiled nature, we come here after a few days stay in Balangan. unforgettable experiences during our holiday in Bali. we're still going to visit some places in Bali before returning to activity in our country. thank you for everything.

regards

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We truly enjoyed our 3-night stay at the lovely Samara Villas. With Stefano’s Italian influence and Yudi’s Balinese background, the villas are a perfect blend of the two countries! All of the positive reviews on TA are true. There are 6 cozy villas with a fun outdoor, but private, shower. It is very romantic at night.

We loved that we were right on a rice paddy. We enjoyed watching the ducks herding each morning – who would have thought ducks could be herded? We took several hour-long walks around the villa and enjoyed all of the people working in the rice fields, the local shops, and the amazing temples.

The breakfasts were all very nice and we loved all the fresh fruit drinks. And you would not really think about having Italian food in Bali but you must have at least one meal at the Samara as the Italian food was EXCELLENT! They were all made from Stefano’s mama’s recipes.

We also had Stefano and Yudi help us map out a custom tour for us on Sunday and hire us a driver. We enjoyed our day out and about in Bali.

We hope to come back for another visit soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Extremely tranquil stay at The Samara, 3 nights no where near long enough. Stunning location, made even better by the excellent service we received from all the staff. Food was lovely with great variety to choose from. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Did we mention the staff? they made our stay so much fun and are all a credit to excellent hosts Yudi and Stefano. Highly recommend The Samara

Room Tip: As per previous posts- try for room 6 (although all rooms have lovely views) lime and mint juice is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_KHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at The Samara Villas for 4 nights while on our honeymoon in November of 2011. It was tucked up in the rice fields, away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. It's a short and scenic walk from the city center and by far our favorite place while staying in Bali, Lombok and the Gilis. Yudi and Stefano were charming and incredibly helpful. We had the most delicious Italian while staying at their villas - we still dream about it since returning home to Atlanta, GA. Afternoon tea time was amazing poolside while watching the sunset. They have the most accommodating and friendly staff. We would come back in a heartbeat! Xoxo - Carey & David

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

6 pristine one-bedroom private villas all with views of paddy fields, swimming pool, restaurant with thai/Italian food, owners and staff very friendly and most accomodating - what more can you ask for! A real treat!

Room Tip: All great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagbani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#12 of 198 in Ubud
341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
735 reviews
1.5 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#31 of 198 in Ubud
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 198 in Ubud
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing