We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Warung”
Review of Semesta Warung

Semesta Warung
Ranked #147 of 731 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Warung”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've been to Ubud a few times and eaten at many different places. I have to say that Warung Semesta was very very good - I had dinner there 4 nights out of my 5 night stay. Good variety of choices (vegetarian and non vegetarian) and all the meals I had were delicious and very reasonably priced. We also couldn't stop at main dish ... had to have the coconut crème caramel most nights as it was excellent. The warung is clean, the food was fresh and delicious, the staff were friendly and helpful, and I think it is a "hidden gem".
Warung Semesta is situated in a quieter section of Monkey Forest Rd - on the less busy end of Monkey Forest Rd (close to where the road joins Hanoman Rd)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lelet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    65
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, good service”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was my main dinner restaurant while in Ubud. Good selection of local dishes (didn't try any of the western food), reasonable prices, tasty, and service was friendly and prompt.While most restaurants in Ubud have friendly staff, the laid back lifestyle often means prompt is not something I often associated with Ubud restaurant service. Would highly recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadowsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good food at very reasonable price”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

They have a variety of fresh juices and I really enjoyed the dessert.. Caramel coconut and the chocolate crepes were very good. The sandwich was average and the Greek salad was a bit salty for my taste, but good value for price.

Helpful?
Thank bb5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple food with vegetarian selection”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We came to Semesta Warung twice. Thought the food was simple and reasonably priced. Taste was not consistent though - food was too salty on the second visit. Staff are friendly and environment clean/quiet. Overall, would still recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank TBugSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This place is my favourite in Ubud. The staff is so welcoming and kind, and a nice laid back atmosphere. I had a coconut, and this fettucini pasta dish with vegetables, spinach and feta cheese. Sooooo good. Then even though I was so full I tried their rice with coconut dessert. Alsl delicious. Wish I had time to go back here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Semesta Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing