We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, tasty, good value and unique.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Semesta Warung

Semesta Warung
Ranked #137 of 724 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty, good value and unique.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We loved this place which was very near our hotel. It was an easy default with simple organic and healthy food that was delicious and good value. The spinach chips were really a nice touch We loved the avocado salad and burger Tempe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshandAbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    65
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent food but that's all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Just there for lunch today after reading the review and we were at Monkey Forrest Road premise. We were the only customers yet waited more than 30mins or more before our food arrived. Order 2 mains and 1 appetitizer, coffee and juice. Cost us about 130 000 rupee. good price, decent food, cosy deco but that's about all. And yes, they claim the food has no msg so that is a plus if eating healthy is very important to you

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EveT205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh & fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We ate at Semesta Warung on our recent trip and enjoyed every mouthful.

The food is fresh and flavoursome and offers great value for money.

Semesta Warung has dining over two levels. We opted to go upstairs where we got an outlook over the activity down on the street and being elevate enjoyed a gentle breeze on what was a hot day.

The restaurant design is not what you'd expect of a typical warung. Its quirky and very cool with loads of natural light.

A really enjoyable setting with quality food to match.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pegasus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in Ubud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

This relatively new restaurant is part of Tegal Sari. Unlike its name suggests it is not so much a warung but more a modern restaurant. Like other people wrote they serve a mix of Balinese, general Indonesian, Asian and Western food. As of such there is enough variation.

The quality of the food is good. Prices are friendly and the portion size is big enough. The friendly staff completes the whole concept. Opening times are from 7am until 11pm.

The only drawback might be that it takes longer than average before you get your order. We suspect it has to do they only use the freshest ingredients and make the meal just for you.

We ate here multiple times and can strongly recommend it for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fresh-healthy-stylish, topped with a big smile:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Best restaurant in Ubud!!!!
...if you don't want to spend too much,
if u would like to eat and drink fresh healthy colorful and nicely prepared things
(wich can be veggie also:) than go to this place!!! maybe after some days when its enough to try the indonesian food and really dreaming something simple you will find it here.
simple but stylish furniture, really clean kitchen and toilet!!! smiling staff:)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csermak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Semesta Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing