We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic - not me - BUT”

Chez Monique Silver Smith Class
Ranked #2 of 58 Classes & Workshops in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Expert silversmiths teach students how to fashion 10 grams of silver into jewelry.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Artistic - not me - BUT”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A great way to spend a few hours making something unique and personal to take home. Would highly recommend to everyone (even if you think you are not artistic) Plenty of assistance with choice of design.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,061
    104
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wayan Sunarta, welcomed us into his home and offered us a great morning. We made Rings, earrings and necklaces. Sunarta and his staff were extremely helpful the whole time. Coffee was fantastic, awesome and spectacular!!!!!!!!! The product we "created" was professionally finished and of high quality. The experience was one we won't soon forget! And one we would be willing to repeat.

Thanks Wayan for the great day:)

Dan, Laurie, Cynthia and Johnny
BC, Canada

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such an awesome morning activity!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

my husband and I had read about this class and considered taking it but weren't 100% sure. During an afternoon stroll through Ubud, we stumbled upon a jewelry shop that had several items in the window that caught my eye. We went in and began looking around. We started talking to the woman behind the counter and she mentioned a class. We were getting information when the owner came down to chime in. It just happened to be Chez Monique! After talking with him we knew we definitely wanted to take the class! We took a shuttle into the center of town the next am where he picked us up and drove us to his studio, which also happened to be his home. It was an amazing experience because we got to go into one of the villages and meet many people, including his wife & apprentice. It was such a cultural unique experience. We designed our own pieces and with his help finished them in only a few hours! We would definitely recommend this class to anyone coming to Ubud looking for a one of a kind experience!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FK-Marvelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sunarta and his staff are really friendly, patient, and helpful. An awesome experience designing and making your own silver jewelry to keep. A fun way to spend an afternoon! You leave with a sense of appreciation for hand-made jewelry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kli21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very neat experience to make your own jewelry. A cool keepsake from your trip.
Most times you are able to walk in and book a time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Monique Silver Smith Class also viewed

 

Been to Chez Monique Silver Smith Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing