We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could get used to this”
Review of Soulshine Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soulshine Bali
Ranked #86 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Soulshine twice during yoga retreats, and both times had excellent experiences.

Pros:
- Carla / Wayan / Agung are very attentive to every visitor request, from arranging tours to planning dinner
- The on-site meals are *amazing*
- Close to several "destinations" - Ubud and Mos
- All the rooms are decently-appointed and comfortable
- Has a nice, isolated feel compared to some of the places in Ubud

Cons:
- Water pressure and temperature in the showers are very inconsistent
- Brief power-outages every night
- A bit of a hike from the property to the road

Other:
- On-site scooter rentals are very economical, and you can reach quite a few of the southern Bali attractions on them (given you have good directions)
- The main house rooms are not all equal -- make sure you know what accommodations you're getting (private bath, shared bath, no bath, beds, view, etc)
- Don't get unfiltered water anywhere near your mouth. "Bali Belly" is real and a very miserable experience.
- Going to sleep listening to the Friday night temple performances echoing over the rice paddies is unforgettable

Overall, we'd highly recommend Soulshine to anyone wanting to stay near Ubud. The staff is great, the location is convenient, and the accommodations are very nice.

Room Tip: Firefly and Sunset have private baths, Sound of Sunshine has no bath, and the two 1st floor rooms sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GR_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 121 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed in Soulshine for 4 days as part of our honeymoon and our stay is best described as wholesome and tranquil. The food is pure, the staff is friendly and offer assistance at anytime (especially Agung and Rosa). It is a bit out of Ubud so you will need to get a scooter to easily get into town, but the staff of Soulshine can arrange this for you at a very good price. We also went to see a spiritual leader, walked up Mount Batur to see the sunrise from the top, went to went to a health spring and were shown many local artists. A special thanks to Agung to be such an excellent host and guide.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamar1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Soulshine is simply wonderful...the people, the scenery, the food, the tranquility.
Carla, Rosa, and Agund are all equally instrumental in making soulshine a beautiful place to visit. I hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stay here! Stop looking around! Just do it!

The website looked great so I booked a 4 night stay as I had heard great things about Ubud and wanted to adventure about. I ended up staying 9 days and coming back at the end of my trip for another couple of days!

I felt blissed out the entire time I was there... so much so that I think I may have fallen asleep in the pool at one point! The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is like family, the restaurant serves delicious traditional Balinese cuisine as well as some raw food items, the yoga has spoiled me for life! With views of rice fields all around, the sounds of Hindhu temples and the smell of frangiapani, yoga is taken to a whole new level.

There is always something going on in Ubud!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Back in July (2011) I spent two nights at Soulshine Bali (reviewing it for a travel guide). I had a fabulous time -- the food (vegan and/or vegetarian) was perfect, the yoga and meditation classes challenging, and I even slept in Michael Franti's bed (Sunset room -- he likes geckos ... who knew?). Can't recommend it enough. My review is posted at Green Traveler Guides (dot) com ... just search for 'Soulshine' /// Michael Straus, Contributing Editor

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelStraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Soulshine lives up to its name. Nestled in paddy fields, a short drive from Ubud this thoughtfully designed boutique resort provides the perfect place to recharge. Peaceful and beautiful with comfortable accommodation, infinity pool, delicious food made from home-grown ingredients and smiling efficient service. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors if possible - they get more breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogibliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Located in the middle of beautiful rice fields of Ubud, Soulshine is a perfect place to rejuvenate your mind and body. I enjoyed everything about this place including peaceful atmosphere, comfortable accommodation, amazing swimming pool, excellent food and friendly service. Everyday, I started my day with their special Soulshine juice or fresh coconut juice and amazing raw food or other tasty breakfast. I was not with the yoga retreat group but they welcomed me to join the yoga and meditation class in the yoga room overlooking the rice fields...it was the most wonderful yoga experience I've ever had in my life . In the afternoon, I relaxed by the swimming pool or went out to the central Ubud which is very close by for shopping and dining. Ubud offers variety of unique boutiques and excellent restaurants. I am planning on returning to Soulshine very soon!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, the Sunset Room or Fire Fly Room will be romantic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mantagirl1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
2.6 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#102 of 200 in Ubud
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#146 of 200 in Ubud
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 200 in Ubud
279 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#81 of 200 in Ubud
729 reviews
4 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulshine Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulshine Bali

Address: Jl. Ambarawati, Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $135 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soulshine Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soulshine Bali, a villa and retreat oasis located just 5 minutes south of Ubud centre. Surrounded by breathtaking views of ancient rice terraces, we invite you to get lost in the magic of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Soulshine Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulshine Bali Hotel Ubud
Soulshine Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing