We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxing, reasonable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gunung Merta Bungalows
Ranked #179 of 589 Ubud B&B and Inns
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxing, reasonable.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked here for our group of 12 based on reviews and we all loved our week long stay. The price was very reasonable and included excellent breakfasts and limited menu lunch or dinner. The bathrooms are basic with shower problems for tall people but the gardens, pool and wonderfully friendly staff plus the handy location to a big supermarket and Ubud's main streets made it a very popular choice.

Room Tip: Some rooms are up steep stairs and hopefully the noisy caged rooster has been removed from being so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
32
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Gunung merta Bungalows are fine just fine don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
On the plus side the compound itself is beautiful and quiet, the family are friendly and the room was comfortable with a view of jungle ( not rice fields as advertised), the breakfast is generous and the staff were lovely.
On the negative side the rooms have a lot of potential but we were placed in a downstairs room which was a bit dark and pokey whereas the photos of the upstairs rooms look lovely so I was a bit disappointed especially as all the rooms were not full.
The bathroom was pretty nasty and really needs updating but had a good shower. The wifi did not work apparently (unless you were a member of staff or friend who could browse as much as you liked ) they actually refused to give us the password despite our devices showing full signal.
The staff were lovely but could not answer basic enquiries about things that were offered in their own brochure ( only 1 member of staff had good English) ,
The bungalows are also on a very busy road and quite a walk from the centre of town so be prepared, there is a good supermarket over the road however.
We found Ubud very busy and were not that keen on the town itself so arranged a tour outside ubud through the bungalows which was great.
Overall the bungalows are fine and are good value for money, they have the potential to be fantastic but need a little bit more work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked well in advance thru Booking.com however they were not fully connected till the day we arrived and therefore they did not have a room for us. This was not their fault, but none the less they reserved a BETTER room for us in their other bungalow Lokasari and paid the difference. They really went out of their way in all ways. Although we didn't stay there, our parents and aunt/uncle did. They loved it. It's close enough to the hustle and bustle of Ubud yet your backyard is jungle-like. The pool is beautiful. The meals are delicious! Definitely get your fill of Nasi Goreng and Mie Goreng while in Ubud (Fried Rice/Fried Noodles) it is delicious! They arranged taxi/tours for us 3 times as well as organized our transportation to Gili Trawangan and back.
Highly recommend Gunung Merta and would stay there again if ever back to Ubud!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back, you will have a terrace at your back door looking out to the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaymH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We made a reservation 3 weeks ago and when we arrived today there was no room for us. They did not even take the blame and blamed Hostelworld. They promissed us an upgrade in another hotel, but this was more of a downgrade. Brick dodgy bungalows with no Balinese influences what so ever. Terrible beginning of our Bali experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaninAsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We must have been given a bad room as we found our stay here not very comfortable at all - I'm even wondering if we checked in at the wrong hotel. Our room was clean and basic, but the bathroom was FILTHY. The room has very little privacy. The curtains were see through and the border around the top of the room was fly wire. We were unable to close the room off to the noise from surrounding temples. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that it was fully booked. The sheets had holes in them, the wifi didn't work in the rooms and the service at breakfast was pretty average. The bathroom was the dirtiest I have ever come across in my frequent travels to SE Asia. I've added photos...disgusting. I felt dirtier after having a shower and one of the towels had a stain on it that looked a lot like blood. We didn't use the pool, but it looked cleaner than our room. There were only two lounges which were being used at the time we wanted to go for a swim. Location was ok, but the temples on either side and the noise from the cock fights going on made it uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Try for one that you can close up completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chooklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Gusde and his team leave no stone unturned for guest comfort and special needs. Stay at the Bungalows provide value for its location, natural beauty, peaceful surroundings, caring host - to all those who want to explore Balinese culture in Ubud.

We are also grateful to Gusde, going out of his way helping us reach medical facilities late in the night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayesh_sgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

What makes this place is the friendly staff and the serene atmosphere set off a busy road. Pool is great, set in a beautiful garden, and breakfast is included. Our view was of the forest and you can hear a rushing stream below. Didn't give it a five star because the inside of the cupboards were dirty (although they cleaned it quickly) and the shabby bathroom really lets the rest of the accommodation down (the mirror was hanging off its hook, grimy floor). But don't let that put you off, I think we were unlucky and our room was cleaned everyday. Make use of the road it's on (Jl. Andong)'as this is where you can buy cheaper goods from the workshops that line the street.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ohmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#95 of 196 in Ubud
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#167 of 196 in Ubud
41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#175 of 196 in Ubud
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#14 of 589 in Ubud
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darta Green Garden
Darta Green Garden
#123 of 570 in Ubud
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Ganesha
Casa Ganesha
#351 of 589 in Ubud
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunung Merta Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunung Merta Bungalows

Property: Gunung Merta Bungalows
Address: Jln. Raya Tanggayuda, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 589 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunung Merta Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Gunung Merta Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunung Merta Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing