We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great cultural experience in Bali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kecak Fire & Trance Dance

Kecak Fire & Trance Dance
Book In Advance
$40*
and up
Bali Kecak Dance, Fire Dance and Sanghyang Dance Evening Tour
Ranked #1 of 15 Concerts & Shows in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kecak and Traditional Ubud Fire Dance
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The dance started off a little slow but once we got into it we really enjoyed it. A little comedy livened it up and we really enjoyed the whole experience. Make sure you have a clear night to see it so you can appreciate the sunset which unfortunatley we missed as it was too overcast.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    394
    142
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Private Kecak and Fire Dance Performance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

There are many Kecak and Fire Dance all over Bali- I was informed a little too late that there were ones done in the beach. Sigh* but--- we were given a special treat when we watched the Dance.

We got the tour package- (less desirable but hassle free way of seeing Bali) and the Kecak and Fire Dance was next to the last stop. We were there 30 minutes early and were real happy bec. we expected lots of people to be coming in any minute (like that morning's Barong and Kris Dance Performance done at the same ampitheater)

Location: Batabulan at the Jambe Budaya Theater

Highlight: We were only 5 in the audience but they still gave a greta performance. It was a special treat for us that it felt really personal. We were just 2 meters away from teh stage and I was welcomed to take close pictures.

Expereince: Enriching experience. The chants can stay stuck in your head for days! Colorful pagenatry fo clothes. Lovely dances-and dancers.

Low-point: Some performers were kids that I feel were making fun of the performance. They kept on looking at each other and laughing/giggling even if the scene was serious. It was in appropriate and very unprofessional.

However I did not let 2-3 kids ruin the entire performance especially seeing two little girls perform the balinese dance- it was so pretty!

Do not let them take your picture with the two kids... they would print it on a platter and you will feel bad at the end for not buying it when you go.... i bought mine for RP80,000 or roughly around P700--- although i bought it cause i felt bad that only few people watched.

If you want to take good pictures, sit further back.

Don't miss this performance. It is really entertaining and better than the Barong and Kris Play that we watched earlier the same day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cher2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Fire Dance in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very colorful and exciting. Great singing worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wanton110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kecak Cak Cak Cak Cak Kecak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

A Must See for evryone coming to Bali and have a bit of interest of traditional dance!

Helpful?
Thank Dian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north hollywood, ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cultural must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

There are Kecak dances all over Ubud any time of the week. Tickets are readily available and if you get a chance to see a fire dance...it is worth the price of admission.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmbgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kecak Fire & Trance Dance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing