We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Kunang Kunang
Ranked #240 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A small relaxing paradise you would never expect so close to a main road. The villas are very comfortable and have a great porch for watching fireflies in the adjoining rice fields. For breakfast we tried Asian (really good) and continental (wonderful banana pancakes with coconut and palm sugar) and our boys (both 4 years old) feasted on chocolate pancakes. And the hotel staff really makes you feel at home. When one of our son was disappointed he hadn't seen any fireflies yet, they went looking for one, caught it and brought it to him. His smile was priceless...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siska80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Behind a small path lies a hidden treasure. This is such a nice and lovely place to stay when your in Ubud. The staff is warm and welcoming. Made, the manager is very helpful and the other staff members as well. They make you feel at home in Bali.
The rooms are nice, clean and really comfortable. It's also nice that there are only 3 villa's so it's not noisy and loud. It's a great place also for travelling families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten371983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks and was very comfortable and felt right at home. The location is perfect- so close to delicious restaurants such as Kafe, just a few minutes' walk to the Yoga Barn and to Coco Supermarket, as well as super close to lots of good shopping, Monkey Forest, etc.. However, it is still completely quiet without feeling like you're in the middle of the action. The hotel is located in a little side street just off Hanuman, and faces lovely rice fields.

The staff were very helpful. They were friendly and polite, and kept my room spotless. They never pushed me to book tours or anything and if I did need something from them they were very accommodating. I felt totally safe keeping my stuff in my room when I was out. The pool is a really nice touch as well. I loved my large, well ventilated, very clean standard room. I'll definitely stay at this hotel again, whenever I'm in Bali.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Me and a bunch of my friends checked in this place in February as part of our Bali trip. This place is truly secretive, there are absolutely no signage nor indication of where this place is, our taxi driver have to stop and asked several places before he found the place, The entrance to the hotel is a tiny alley between a row of shops and a car workshop. Upon walking into the tiny walkway, you'll be greeted by a small paddy field and when you step into the main gate, you'll be amazed at how beautiful the place is. We stayed at the 2 bedroom villa, which is a beautiful converted rice barn with an upper floor loft. We slept through the night accompanied by the sounds of frogs, geckos and all sort of nocturnal creatures. There is air-conditioning, but the high ceiling and open concept makes the place very cool and comfortable even in the middle of the afternoon. The manager; Made is a great person and made us very welcome, he even drove us out to Ubud and picked us up when we're done shopping. Location wise, it may be a little far from Ubud town center, but with the easily available taxi in town, it is not a problem. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: For some excellent food, try the BBQ pork rib rice just opposite the hotel at Warung Kanza
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flywan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Every staffs have a warm smiles and homey service.
They speak English and some staff speak Japanese.
Room is crean and lovely.
So comfortable and can relax.
You can choice breakfast ; continental, Balinese and Japanese.

But, noisy voice of flogs at night and too small entrance to find hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durianlovershuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to ubud numerous times over the past four years. This was my first stay at this guesthouse. I was attracted to its refreshing pool, free breakfast, beautiful views, and convenient location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

"Secret" - There is no signage or landmarks that made us hard time to find the resort. Our taxi driver asked help from the locals just to locate Villa Kunang Kunang, and then someone gave us correct direction. We passed by thru a small alley in the rice field until we reached the wooden gate of the resort.

"Paradise" - Wow! This is it! Fantastic! An extraordinary resort with 3 beautiful villas situated in the rice fields. We opted to stay in their huge Traditional Rice Barn Villa (loft type) with nice beds, comfort room and terrace that made us feel pampered. During our bedtime we heard sounds from crickets, frogs and some nightly creatures. Made, Kadek and Widya are great resort staff, from the moment we woke up until we fell asleep they see to it we enjoyed Ubud. Widya came to us as our tour guide and driver to and from the resort. He also escorted us with our transfer to Seminyak.

I will definitely return to Villa Kunang Kunang on my next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
16.9 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
16.8 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#71 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#29 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#80 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
16.9 mi away
Puri Naga Seaside Cottages
17.0 mi away
Sejuk Suites
Sejuk Suites
#53 of 81 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kunang Kunang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kunang Kunang

Property: Villa Kunang Kunang
Address: Jln. Raya Bunutan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Kunang Kunang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kunang Kunang is an eco-friendly retreat set within an organic garden and encompassed by productive rice terraces. This inspiring property captures the gentle spirit of a village community. It has been named after the swarm of fireflies that flicker around the garden at night performing for travellers in a synchronised harmony. Villa Kunang Kunang features just two distinctive accommodations. The first is a two-story Traditional Rice Barn made completely from wood, bamboo and other sustainable materials. The second is an authentic Balinese Bungalow with a thatched rooftop and a shady terrace facing the rice fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Kunang Kunang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kunang Kunang Hotel Ubud
Villa Kunang Kunang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing