We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Home, for the Home-sick.”

The Melting Pot Saloon
Ranked #331 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A great place to eat, drink and recreate. The comforts of home have been brought to Ubud. Play pool, throw darts, have a few drinks and some ribs,Tex-Mex, or burgers and such. Comfortable seating and great atmosphere that includes the flag of every country in the world. As a guest, one is entitled to sign the flag of their origin. Great place to see sporting events on the big screens as well.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A Taste of Home, for the Home-sick.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you miss having a beer with your mates at your local pub back home, this is the place for you. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, great western food, and cheap drinks all night! It's a place where you can escape from the tourist scene of Ubud and pretend your back at home.

It's worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LTDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Glad to know that you've made yourself at home while surrounded by our colorful cast of expat characters. Cheers Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    51
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Returning the the Melting Pot again and again - A Great Saloon and Hangout Place in Bali”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I just spent a great afternoon at the Melting Pot... again. I love this place. It's the Saloon that Bali's needed for a long time. I love the pub food, the hamburgers are awesome, excellent popcorn and the chili is a really good Texas style recipe. I've grown quite fond of the margaritas too and the Melting Pot doesn't hold back here. Every one was excellent, yeah, I might have drank a few too many, and I highly recommend the Hefewiezen while they have it (limited seasonal run). Every time we come in (which is fairly regularly with our busy schedules) we still check out all the flags on the walls (Melting pot) and enjoy the atmosphere of the bar.

There have been a few bad reviews here. One I just read where obviously the guy, I think he calls himself Willy Pow, has no clue what a Saloon is, was particularly aggravating in part, because apparently the owner was sitting right there while this guy was having some kind of awful experience, but he didn't even bother telling the owner. Instead, he goes on Trip Advisor and slags the guy!! Willy Pow, I hope you don't have a restaurant because if you do... Personally, if I ever have a problem with a restaurant, I tell the owner first... But maybe that's just me? Anyway, I reckon Bali, and the Melting Pot, are better off without some people anyway so there ya go.

For a great place to hang out, check out the Melting Pot on Jalan Hanoman in Ubud. And if you're lucky enough to be around during one of the bi-annual Chili Cook Offs, you'll have a great day, unless you're a total dweeb... :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junglerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks much for you continued support. Its expats such as yourselves that have really helped us to grow & improve. Cheers Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never believe a bad review”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After reading a review on here, I instantly thought avoid this place, but as I am not an easy influenced person I thought I would pop in for one drink and see what the fuss was about. (Nosey I think it is called) Well, I have been here all evening drinking, eating and playing pool. I have had a fantastic evening. DO NOT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU READ ON HERE!! .. I personally think some people lead sad lives and feel the need to pick and shout about problems that are not there to make their own lives a little brighter!!! .. .. Great service, great food, clean toilets and overall I wanted to stay here the night as I was happy and comfortable .. Thank you melting pot!!! Xxx

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, I'll not soon forget your long trip up & down the ladder to the Isle Of Man flag!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive Microwaveable Pizza”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was mediocre to bad and made us both feel less-than-well. Also, the pizza was a microwaveable monstrosity. Salt in the wound was the expensive check at the end. The flags are cool, though, and the waitress did try to get mine down so I could sign it, but it was too high. Points for her for trying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank clhottovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
First of all I’d like to personally thank you for visiting the melting pot. I would feel the same way if I was served microwaveable pizza. We pride ourselves in cooking fresh pizza here. We also strive to keep our prices as reasonable & feasible as possible ($3.70). I would like to personally invite you back to make your dining experience as pleasurable as possible. Thank you for complimenting my staff for their efforts, they try hard and are wonderful people. Keep the constructive criticism coming and we will do our best to keep you and all of our customers satisfied with the Melting Pot Saloon food and experience. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little taste of Home.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'll start off by saying that this is my first review. I have never felt a desire to post a review even for a place I was keen to. However, I have used TripAdvisor for years to just read the reviews and maybe find a place to eat and stay or, see. In any case I will be honest and admit It is because of a review posted most recently that I felt compelled to have some words and share my thoughts. Having read the review prior to my visit, it had lowered my expectations.

I travel a lot for work. Spend months at a time on the road, over seas...living abroad. I love my country (America) and I often miss it, being away from it for so long. It's incredibly rare that you come across a place that for even just a moment you are able to suspend reality and settle in to the idea that at our core we as people are really all the same. Sure the people look different, the language is different, the weather and atmosphere is different as it would be expected traveling around the world but, that's not what I refer to, It's the spirit of America - the spirit of all great countries. The Melting Pot for me was a most pleasurable experience and for a day offered a cure for my homesickness. The owner, Greg as I recall, I found more than accommodating. Greater than just the barkeep, we shared a few beers together as friends, and I greatly appreciated it. He happened to be from Texas as well - we shared a few laughs and talked about the old country. It's been nearly a year since I have been back. I found the Chili to be delicious and very traditional. Perhaps that's likely due to the fact that I know what it's supposed to taste like. Texas Chili is very specific and we take it very seriously - a true Texan takes it without the cheese but, I enjoyed it nonetheless. just like Mamma used to make. The Ribs are out of this world I can honestly say, I've never quite had ribs like them, I had to take another serving. They were top of the bag for sure. In regard to the music selection, as I recall...there is a jukebox with thousands of songs which as a patron you have the options to choose from, surely there will be a song or even more likely many songs that would set the mood that you as a patron desire. I'm not a huge pool player but, I can certainly hold my own. Greg played a few rounds with me - boy, he whooped me good! I even played some with his wonderful wife, a local...Clearly she's picked up a few things from her husband as she handed me my rear-end at the table again and again. The wonderful thing about this place is that you don't need to go with friends because, going there solo with an open mind you'll make them quick. Japanese, Indonesian, American, UK, Australian, African, Italian, French, Russian...This Pub truly is a melting pot; a place where you can set aside your differences and make new friends from around the world. Next time I find myself passing through the heart of Ubud in Bali, this very well will be my first stop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, much appreciated. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot Saloon also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing