We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stout, pool tables, and ambiance!”

The Melting Pot Saloon
Ranked #345 of 720 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A great place to eat, drink and recreate. The comforts of home have been brought to Ubud. Play pool, throw darts, have a few drinks and some ribs,Tex-Mex, or burgers and such. Comfortable seating and great atmosphere that includes the flag of every country in the world. As a guest, one is entitled to sign the flag of their origin. Great place to see sporting events on the big screens as well.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stout, pool tables, and ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband insisted on going to the Melting Pot during our 1 week stay in Ubud (after about 5-6th day of being there) and I am so happy he did. They offered a great stout beer, plus more, and their food was great. We enjoyed playing pool, and just chatting with people we met there, in particular, the soft spoken Texan-owner. I loved how there were flags from all over the world all around the bar -- we even signed the NY flag and were excited like little school kids to have done so. Also -- they have a juke box which was amazingly awesome. Do yourself a favor and take a break and unwind from all your sightseeing and Indonesian culture/food and play a game of pool and have a beer or two or three here. You won't be disappointed -- it was a breath of fresh air for us after traveling in Indonesia for nearly 3 weeks; so much so that we returned the very next day :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roro_fathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
You seemed to have captured the essence of what we strive to accomplish. Much appreciated. Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    45
    21
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food, Fun and Games”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Now have a quoits court [find that anywhere else]. Keeps getting better and better. I'm a "Texican" and living in the tropics and wouldn't do otherwise. Love it. But finding a real
saloon/game room with great pub grub and a pearl of great price ---well---good luck. You'd be negligent if you can get here and don't. No kidding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Thanks much for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pool hall and sports bar in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great place to unwind and hang out with friends....and meet more. I like to have a beer and play pool and there are always friends ready to play. And the best part is I don't have to eat before I go....they have good food too. This is a place you will want to go as you wind down from a busy day....and a place you will remember and tell your friends about. 2 thumbs up by me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlKing1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Glad you feel that way, that's why we are here! Many Thanks Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Melting Pot is a great place for locals, expats and tourists to hang out. They have flags from every nation on earth and encourage you to sign yours. I was amazed how many nations have signatures. If you have time at the end of the day....you will not be disappointed.

You will like the pool, darts and games but the food will surprise you. The owner is from Texas and you get the best Texas has to offer. You will e surprised by the quality AND the quantity...making it one of the best values in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkwters1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilyamusedasia, Owner at The Melting Pot Saloon, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Your review is much appreciated, glad you enjoyed yourself. Cheers Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
413 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Am I missing something here ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I'm a little puzzled by the reviews , visited here twice a couple of weeks ago to catch the AFL live, once on a friday nite and the next day in the afternoon but there was no AFL on.
They had it on the tv at the bar , the NRL on the big screen and the jukebox blaring out the back...so it was a little hard to hear what was actually happening , the NRL game kept on freezing on screen which was useless....had to get the barmaids attention many times to order drinks and there was only 6 other people in the place.
Tried a few choices from the snack menu , everything was straight out of the deep fryer and ordinary.
I'm confused with all the flags that adorn the walls when it is clearly a sports bar....or more a large warehouse.
Go here if you want to shoot some pool in a very large room and yes the toilets are very nice.
It could be so much better....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BundyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Melting Pot Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing