We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything is easy.”
other traveler has booked this property
Amazing villa, gardens and pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing villa, gardens and pool.
Open plan living area Even the king-sized bed is in the living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Amazing villa, gardens and pool.
Open plan living area
Even the king-sized bed is in the living area.
The TV viewing area has a large day bed.
The dining area abuts the kitchen for your convenience.
There's even a separate lounging area and a desk.
The kitchen is fully equipped if you choose to cook.
The bathroom is huge, with a separate toilet.
The open shower in the bathroom has a rainwater shower head.
The 10m pool has sun lounges beside it.
The gardens are spectacular.
The villa has 2 fish ponds.
There is a breakfast area on the terrace.
Come and stay for a few days, a few weeks or a month or two.
Upik is your villa staff member.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
sbmack201...
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
“Everything is easy.”
Reviewed January 24, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From first contact, everything is handled so well. The staff are well trained and prepared to make your stay enjoyable. The person preparing breakfast,taking of your villa,answering questions about the area is a wonderful person.
The picture is the front garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balismitt...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Words are not enough to describe Villa Damai. The photos don’t, and can’t possibly reflect the true tranquillity and beauty of this villa. Damai means “peaceful” in Indonesian, and peaceful it is - a secluded oasis. It is only a few metres along a path to a lane that leads, if you turn left, to a mini village consisting of several villas and turn right to get to the main road that goes through the village of Penestanan one way, and Ubud the other. The lane also has infrastructure consisting of laundry, warungs, spa, and “corner shops”, which is so convenient if one doesn’t wish to venture very far when there is the desire to laze around at the oasis all day. Incidentally, all lanes leading to the villa are accessible by scooter or motorbike.
There is plenty to do in relaxing mode. The pool is long enough to do laps, the large raised bale (gazebo) with the enormous daybed is a blissful place for reading or meditating, and the terrace has ponds at each end, one of which contains koi fish which are fascinating to watch. Villa Damai is exceptional in that it has a large beautiful garden which is meticulously tended by both the villa caretaker who’s there every day to make a delicious breakfast and clean the villa, and the gardener who comes in two days a week.
There is a sense of oodles of space both in the villa and the garden. The villa is very big and airy. It has an enormous cathedral ceiling and the heavy-duty exhaust fans are brilliant at bringing cool night air in for a good night’s sleep. Hint: Turn them off in the morning or they’ll bring in the heat from outside. Inside, there are several activity areas, i.e. kitchen, dining area, computer/office area, TV area, sleeping area and, of course, a bathroom one can throw a party in! Outside, there is a long terrace along the front of the villa where Upik serves breakfast. The terrace also has a daybed from which one can watch the fish in the second pond. Upik the caretaker is fantastic – he is so polite and friendly, and has a wicked sense of humour. He couldn’t do enough to make us comfortable and happy. Steve, the Manager is quick to respond if there is any problem. We were very sad when our stay at Villa Damai came to an end and will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thanks for the great review. I'm delighted you love the villa and keep coming back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balismitt...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our long stay at Villa Damai was the best, most enjoyable time we've spent in Bali. This villa exceeds all expectations. The villa is large and airy with Balinese-style decor and furniture, The kitchen is well-equipped, and the king size bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is huge, with a separate toilet. For sleeping, we switched on the heavy duty exhaust fans set high on the wall which bring in the fresh, cool night air.
This villa is different in that it has three areas for relaxing. Inside was perfect for watching TV or DVDs as it can be sealed off to the outside with two big glass doors and flyscreens on the windows, or we could sit outside on the terrace for drinks with friends. The bale is large, and a perfect place for relaxing, reading, and late afternoon drinks.
The villa is built on a large block and has the most beautiful garden to enjoy together with two fish ponds with fountains and koi fish. We often just stayed at "home" all day without venturing out - we were happy to just emerse ourselves in the ambience of our environment. We can't praise this villa enough and are reluctant to leave it behind! We'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thanks for the great review. I hope you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee419
rome, italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect little paradise!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When they say villa damai is stunning...it's not an exageration!! The garden is seriously beautiful, full of exotic plants, trees and flowers...even 2 ponds with fish! The pool is amazing and very refreshing after a day out and about. It's located a bit out of the center, but there are many places to eat in walking distance (also mini markets) and even if you don't mind walking a bit more, you can get to the main street where everything is in center in about 15-20 minutes. Upik, the helper, who tends to the room and fixes breakfast right there in the villa is fantastic! he's so friendly and even arranged a driver for us to take us around to see the sites. This was really a wonderful stay, wish we could've stayed more than a few nights...highly recommended!! Thanks again Steve & Upik!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rina m
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa Dalmai was just perfect. It was private and surprisingly big, complete with a decent pool, gazebo, two fish ponds and water features. The villa was fully equipped with functional kitchen, spacious living area opening up to the large yard and pool area. The location was a 20 minute walk from the main street and offered lots of choices for good food and yes excellent coffee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet and private and you have breckkie cooked for you.
Liked least: The gardener came in and worked for for 3 hours, whilst we were there, which was uncomfortable. Maintenance should be done when we were out.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvlight
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“we love this villa - its perfect for a couple”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

second stay here and we loved it.
would recommend without hesitation (unless you need aircon) its perfect.
great staff
every step is easy from booking to leaving

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmileyJan...
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Villa Damai for 10 days over Christmas. This is our third time to Ubud and by far our favorite place to stay. The villa is large, private and quiet. Steve, the property manager made our booking and logistics very convenient. Upik, the villa staff made our stay very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at this property.

If you have a little time here are the details of our stay at Villa Damai.

The location
Situated in Penestenan about a 10 minute scooter ride or 30 minute walk from Ubud central.
Accessed via lanes, about a 5 minute walk from Jn Penestenan. A car is too big to enter the lanes so upon arrival you will need to walk with your luggage from the main road to the villa. This is common for most villa’s in Penestenan. It’s what makes it so private and quiet. Scooters fit easily in the lanes.
About a 5 minute walk from some excellent restaurants in Penestenan. A list of local restaurants is provided at the villa. Some of my favorite are: Warung Mendez, Kue, Yellow Flower Cafe and Sari Organics.
About a 10 minute walk via lanes to Intuitive Flow Yoga.
About a 10-15 minute walk to the big Bintang Supermarket (directions provided in the villa)
About a 10 minute walk to the Campuhan ridge walking track (very beautiful walk approx 2km each way)
About a 1.5 hour drive from Denpasar airport

The Villa
Located at the end of a lane so no traffic
Large garden, well maintained surrounded by high walls on all sides made the setting very private. The original pictures on the website show a wire fence and open access to rice fields. There are now villa’s where the rice fields were. We were happy about this as it felt much more secure.
The garden has a large pool (approx 10m), a bale (hut with very comfortable couch) and two coy ponds.
At the back of the house is a washing line and washing machine (yea!) which can be used if Upik isn’t washing the towels.
The villa is a large open room with a fully equipped kitchen. There is also a large bathroom and separate toilet.
The villa has lots of fans, an extraction system for when it is cooler outside than inside and a large portable fan. There is no air-conditioning but with the fans we felt comfortable.
A bonus with this villa is the fly screens on some of the windows. This is a rarity for Bali villa’s and means you can leave the windows open at night for the villa to cool down. Most other bungalows and villa’s in Bali don’t have this option and if you would rather not be eaten by mosquitoes at night you need to close up the villa which makes for a hot evening.
The bed is comfortable with lots of different sized pillows. The couch is very comfortable and could be used as a bed.
There is a TV with video and lots of DVD’s in the drawers. Also provided is a nice library of books to read and a stack of National Geographic magazines for a lazy day of reading by the pool.
There is a large veranda around the entrance of the villa with a table and chairs. This was particularly enjoyable to sit at watching the monsoon rains.
The villa comfortably suits two people and there is a fold out bed for a third. Due to the open floor plan I wouldn’t recommend sleeping any more people. However, it is a great space for entertaining a bunch of people.
As there is no fence around the pool or coy ponds, so people with infants and small children would need to be extra vigilant when staying here.
A safe is provided inside the villa.
Free Wifi is available and the signal was excellent.

Property manager Steve
Steve has been very helpful in all our interactions. From booking to checking out he was easy to contact and replied in a timely fashion via email. He even arranged for us to have a late check out which we really appreciated as our flight left in the late evening.
Be sure to read Steve’s book in the villa as all the recommendations are very helpful. From directions to the supermarket to restaurant descriptions it was all informative.
Transport to and from Denpasar airport was arranged by Steve for us and cost 350,000 IDR each way.

Property maintenance – Upik
Upik made our stay very pleasant. He made us breakfast in the mornings (eggs, toast and fruit) and cleaned/maintained the villa. If you wish to rent a scooter Upik will set it up (usually 50,000 IDR/day). Upik is also happy to book any tours or outings for you on the phone.

We had such a lovely time at Villa Damai and will return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing