We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious Villa and Great Management”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Leif123
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Villa and Great Management”
Reviewed December 2, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Villa Susanta for 2 weeks to have a break and organise the production of silver jewellery in the nearby silversmith centre of Celuk.

Villa Susanta is situated off a road running through the village of Penestanen that has good restaurants, spas, shops and a few other hotels and a bar a short stroll down the street. There is a nice buzz about the village with locals going about their work and a few tourists heading off for their day's activities. It is a 15 minute walk into the centre of Ubud or you can get a taxi for about $2-3 AUD.

The villa is very comfortable and well maintained. There are 3 metre walls surrounding the villa and you have your own pool and small garden where you can do as you please in complete privacy. The lounge room and kitchen wrap around the pool and are open to the courtyard. It was a highlight sitting on the sofa watching the afternoon rain storms bucketing down into the courtyard area and pool.

The air-conditioned bedroom give you the option to escape the Bali heat and humidity at night . The double bed was comfortable and the kitchen allowed you to make basic meals when we did not have great food delivered from Bayu's Kitchen across the path. The houseboy did a great job and made us feel welcome.

Steve Castley (the manager and owner of some of the villas) is an Australian with some 20 years working in northern Australian indigenous schools. He was an inspiration and an invaluable contact into the local area and people. He was the person we turned to with all variety of questions.

If you are staying at one of Steve's villas or just in the Ubud area - then make sure you get hold of and read one of Steve books while you are there. Steve's stories and adventures of his last 12 years in Ubud bring to life where you are, how Steve's art gallery, villas and other projects came to life, the people working there and how it all fits together.

We are going back in February 2012 to stay in one of Steve's even more impressive newly completed villas. Can't recommend this place and Steve too highly. Do yourself a favour and book one of these villas.

Leif Godwin and Jamie Andersson
Sydney Australia Dec 2011.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa and the service. The management and Steve that answered all our questions.
Liked least: The cooking utensils in the kitchen (but the food from Bayu's Kitchen across the path meant it was hardly worth cooking yourself) so not a big issue.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewed June 27, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed June 27, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: open concept, in door pool, privacy
Liked least: old furniture, Mosquito, air-conditioner
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jennyersb...
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa - a place to call home!”
Reviewed June 10, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at Villa Susanta and loved every minute. It was the perfect home-base for our Ubud adventures. The villa is tucked away in a tiny alley off the main road in Penestanan and close to numerous shops and restaurants (heck, there's even a spa next door!). Although it's not located in the heart of Ubud, we enjoyed the short walk in to town and actually preferred being away from the hussle and bussle. Our favorite spot to unwind at the end of the day was Bayu's Kitchen (a short hop across the alley) or in the comfort of our villa watching one of the many DVDs on offer or catching up on a good book. The "houseboy", Lopo, was very friendly and helpful, diligently making us a delicious fruit and toast breakfast every morning (and offering motorbike rides to the local market!). I loved the openness of the villa and the thoughtful details of the furniture, artwork, statues... even the door was beautiful! Our only minor complaint were the neighboring roosters who loved to announce their presence every morning. But hey, it's Bali - roosters are part of the equation :) Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Villa Susanta and hope to be back soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.A
Reviewed May 19, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nel118
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury in Ubud”
Reviewed March 30, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

A wonderful 1 bedroom villa with a private dipping pool 20minutes walk from Ubud center.
If you enjoy the quiet and peaceful living of a country side this is it! The best holiday accommodation and the hospitality of the manager and staff of the property is just superb! And don't forget to try the massage at Eve just next door or dine at Bayu's Kitchen just across the lane...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Reviewed March 11, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing