We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bali on Bike <> Best bike tour we’ve ever had!

Dewa is an amazing host and tour guide. Bringing deep knowledge of Balinese culture and religion... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
tf_12345678
,
San Francisco, California
via mobile
Great bike tour

From pick up to drop off this was a superb day. We had a 7am pick up driving us to breakfast where... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2018
garterx2
,
Clyde, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 711 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ubud
from $28.00
More Info
from $26.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $43.00
More Info
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
662
40
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
40
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bob's wife dewa bob coffee plantation down hill rice bob's place pancakes delicious lunch family compound mostly downhill small breakfast back roads gentle downhill stop traffic downhill ride wealth of information great ride
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 711 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The bike ride we did started with a visit to a coffee farm and we tried loads of different types and were given pancakes for breakfast we then drove up to a fantastic view of the volcanoes and then it was mostly downhill through villages which was very relaxing! We did a small part going off road which was fun but tiring! We stopped off at rice fields on the way and learnt about farming techniques and could have a go harvesting it ourselves! Our guide was very friendly and at the end we went to his family's house where we had the best food we experienced while in Bali and learnt a lot about the Balinese culture. Definitely would reccommend!

Date of experience: September 2011
1  Thank Eloise_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My sister and I went on the Bali on bike tour with dewa bob and had a great day. The bike ride was nice and easy for us mainly down hill and dewa bob was a passionate kind tour guide showing us and telling us about local customs, farming, and sights. To top off the trip we had lunch at dewas house cooked by his wife which was huge and delicious, the best food we had in Bali. We felt very welcomed. Would recommend this trip for anyone and everyone.

Thank nikkiwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Dewa Bob and his family owns the business. He shares historical information, his family history and he is very funny. The day we did the bike ride was the day they had a storm - it was windy and raining hard, but this did not bother us , it actually made our experience even better. They provided us with ponchos. My brother and 2 of my friends did this bike ride with me.

They provided pick up and drop off from our hotel. We started with breakfast in a coffee plantation, we checked out the mt. Batur lake and volcano before heading to our starting point. The bike ride is mostly downhill with the exception of 2 or 3 climbs towards the end of the ride. We went thru rice paddies and villages- we did not see any tourists, all locals on our route.

We were all soaking wet when we got to his home and he let us borrow sarongs from his family.

The best local meal we had was in Dewa Bob's house which was prepared by his wife. We feasted on satay, soup, rice, fried tempeh, Mi goreng and gado-gado.

We all celebrated by drinking the local beer and Dewa Bob joined us and shared more stories about local life, traditions and his family.
It was a great experience overall. This is locally owned and they just started about 11 months ago. Support local businesses. If you are adventurous and want to experience something different - this is a must do in Bali.

Thank Travel_photography13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Bob was the best! He taught so many life lessons like "The 3 S", shared stories about his life and offered us the generosity of staying in his home. His wife also prepared a delicious meal. Instead of just a churning tourists in and out we felt like he genuinely wanted to share his culture with us.

It rained during the bike ride, but thats what made it so fun! It added some danger and x-factor to the ride. I felt like I got a genuine tropical experience. Besides, if it was sunny and hot I would have been really sweaty, and thats just gross haha.

Date of experience: November 2011
Thank Red G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

If you want to see Bali not through the window of the car, to meet local people in their everyday life environment, to try authentic food - this tour is perfect to get all this.

Biking down the hill through the wonderful Balinese villages and paddy fields, feeling like it is only us are on this island as tourists, saying “hello” to local kids, stopping where you want, getting answers to all your questions about Bali, tasting homemade food – all this made the trip just perfect.

We highly recommend this tour for those who seek authenticity and personal approach. To get better price - book in advance via Internet.

Date of experience: November 2011
Thank Ingrida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews