We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #7 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Ubud and Kamuela was part of our honeymoon trip. The prices match 5* but the service is more 2-3*. The staff seemed very friendly and kind first but after few days we realised it's not genuine and all they expect is money. Such a shame.. The bathroom covered with limescale and ants, we informed the reception on the first day but nothing was done about it. Next door Vila is having works done so we did not get the peace and quiet we seeked. It took number of visits and phone calls to the reception until they did something about it. We understand it wasn't their fault but we could've been moved to another place which we were not. The choice of in room breakfast was great. The food looked nice but had no taste. You can choose what time to have it. On our last day they woke us 20mins earlier telling us the food is ready. (We were not) so we ended up having it cold. They did not come to clean up after the breakfast and the afternoon tea couple of times so we ended up having the kitchen area messy most of the stay.

The good points:
-We had the airport pick up arranged and everything went well
-Location
-Beautiful spacious villa with amazing surroundings
-We appreciated the little extras like towel swans, flowers and yummy chocolate cake on arrival
-A monkey visited our Vila
-They serve nice coffee - like everywhere else in Bali.

The manager appologised and compensated us by providing free car transfer and we did not pay for the packet of peanuts we had from the mini bar ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dee_225,

We apologize for the less than acceptable service that you received, this is something has been shared with our management for their further review.

We sincerely appreciate that you stayed at our villa and thank you for the feedback.

Best regards,


Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    63
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
403
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at Kamuela with my partner and we had my parents and my aunt and uncle in two of the other villas. This was an amazing place to stay. Terrific service, thoughtful and practical decor, gorgeous rooms (the pool is beautiful), good food. There was enough space to really relax with an outdoor kitchen equipped with bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, some home made biscuits and fresh fruit. The grounds are well maintained and on a couple of occasions the monkeys visited out villa and enjoyed the gardeners' efforts (and ate lot of flowers from our garden!). The design of the villas is very clever - not a lot of street appeal, but once you go down the driveway it's much quieter already and the villas are tucked away down the hill a bit further meaning you cannot hear any of the hustle and bustle from Jalan Monkey Forest. The free afternoon tea was sweet. We did not notice any of the other guests because there is enough space in the villas to be content for many hours. Great restaurants and shops are on the doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJB17Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear CJB17Melbourne,

Thank you for the lovely review, and for staying at our villa. We sincerely appreciate the support. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Ubud!

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful & spacious villa. stayed there for 3 nights and had a very good time. Exceptional staff & service. always available for any need. perfect location.. bang in middle of the main street. Just found the inhouse restaurant prices to be expensive.Neat and clean pool & villa with total privacy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donut_Dodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room and location of the hotel are amazing. The breakfast is also pretty good with a wide selection of foods.

What was a huge disappointment and consequently resulted in an early checkout was the service. Whilst some of the staff members were kind and polite, those at the reception were very sketchy. Making fun of my husband and I (not knowing he spoke Bahasa-Indo) and overcharging for made up tours that were not on the hotels menu. The driving services were very sketchy and not set. They were constantly changing the prices of transport (these were not set which is very dodgy).

In a nutshell, the hotel and its location are lovely, but avoid using ANY of the hotels services, especially the transport and tours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dadoo89,

Thank you for the nice review of the excellent room in our villa and our daily breakfast selection.

We apologize for the disappointment service and we have passed this to our management for further review.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serving you a better service in the future.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Royal Kamuela Villas for 2 nights following our stay in Sanur. Our villa was beautiful with private pool. Great breakfast each morning. Dont be fooled by the small portions that us westerners are used to. Local food is full of flavour and together with fruit, juice and coffee is enough to get your day started. Location is great with many restaurant and shopping venues right outside. We were especially impressed with the afternoon tea which included real illy coffee and cake/snack. We enjoyed the morning monkey visit although be warned not to leave anything outside as they may try to steal it (including my husbands beloved Jim Beam). Only thing missing was the bar although you could have drinks at the coffee shop or at one of the many surrounding on Monkey Forest Rd. Staff were very friendly and proactive should monkeys be in the vicinity (we had to have breakfast inside one morning whilst the monkeys put on a show).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thank you to all the staff we met, and had contact with, for ensuring that we had a wonderful stay at Royal Kamuela Villas in Ubud. From the time of making the booking to being farwelled at the airport we had wonderful assistance and service throughout.

We received prompt and helpful replies to all enquiries; were made feel very welcome when we were met at the airport, during the check-in process and at all stages during our stay. Our villa was wonderful and the staff very friendly and willing to assist. The staff appreciated our attempts to speak a few phrases in Balinese and encouraged us to learn some extra words during our stay.

We had fun doing the cooking class, enjoyed the romantic dinner package and made use of the hotel services to organise some local tours. Our driver, Nuratna, was very safe, courteous and happy to answer our questions.

The villas are well situated – within very easy walking distance of the Monkey Forest (with the monkeys coming to visit on most days); close to a lot of good shops and restaurants; and not too far from the Ubud markets.

Royal Kamuela Villas offer a touch of luxury, are very comfortable and offer a high degree of privacy. The daily breakfast, delivered to our villa, was excellent and there was a good variety on offer. We were very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

Thank you to all the staff who helped us enjoy a wonderful stay. We would certainly look at staying here again on a return visit to Ubud.

Suksma!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMQ_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights.

The pro's : location in central Ubud is excellent. You walk out and you are in the centre of town within access to restaurants , monkey forest and shopping , pharmacy , spas and tour agencies. Car trips either north or south takes about 1-2 hours and the roads in Bali are not exactly without portholes, so if you are prone to car sickness , staying in Ubud is a good idea.

The villa itself is luxurious with plenty of staff. At checkin , you are given a sort of iced lime drink , great after an hour's trip from the airport.The room is large with a king sized bed and a luxurious bathroom with a huge tub( accomodates two people easily) two sinks, a shower area and a toilet. Water pressure is good and water is hot. All air conditioned. There is also a dining table and sitting area with a small kitchenette facing part of the adequately sized pool but this is not air conditioned. A fridge , microwave, 6 bottles of water , newspaper and a small basket of fruits are provided daily.

Breakfast is either taken in the rooms itself or at the small cafe. Food is adequate but not great. The indonesian selection is the best by far. A spa is also available though prices are slightly higher than outside.

The cons: Being so near the forest also means mosquito bites. The monkeys awaken you in the morning with antics on the roof tiles. You do get to watch the amusing cheeky animals within the comfort of your rooms without fear of being bitten.

The toiletries need to be improved. The toothbrush is ridiculous . Shampoo, conditioner , moisturising lotion are all given in jars. Don't really like that because you do wonder whether somebody had previously stuck any thing inside like a finger. Would really prefer individual packed bottles or dispenser.

Food quality needs to be improved. A belgian waffle is crispy not soggy. Cornflakes are served with cold milk not warm milk. Having said that , the selection is adequate. Do the indonesian selection , that is the best of the lot. Breakfast is served with fruits in the morning , that is very much appreciated.

Another thing which can improve the service is to actually provide flower petals for the pool or tub everyday.

A deposit of 300000 rupiahs or a credit card is required at checkin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#37 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Property: Royal Kamuela
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing