We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell short of our expectations of a luxury villa”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #7 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fell short of our expectations of a luxury villa”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Royal Kamuela, albeit new is seemingly lacking in terms of personalised service that one will expect from a luxury villa with 10 villas to manage.

Pros:
A wonderful complimentary foot massage that was thrown into the booking package. It was promised to be a 15 minute foot massage, but turned out to be luxurious 30 minute lie-down experience. The masseurs were both very good.

Villa is huge and well-manicured. Nice mojito as a welcome drink.

Nice touch that we could have breakfast in the privacy of our villa. Selection was good, American, English, French, Indonesian even Japanese. Quality of the food was average though.

Cons:
Pillow covers(both sides) were stained, and a quick check with our friends staying in an adjacent villa revealed the same conclusion. It was disappointing and somewhat disturbing being unable to find a clean unstained side (out of the four pillows given) to rest your head on.

Unfortunately there was a problem with the water heater in Villa 4 when we were there. We didn't have hot water for the night. When the repair man came the next morning, he said the water heater has been repaired but the water will take about an hour to heat up. After waiting for 1.5 hours, the water was only warm enough for a shower, and not enough to fill the jacuzzi tub for a soak. We had to check out thereafter.

Hotel Shuttle around the Ubud area was provided but my friends and I were rather disappointed to be informed by the reception that the driver left to send some guests to the airport at Kuta, a good 3-4 hours drive away and will not be back for the day. We were also rather shocked when there were cars available, but only one driver who was already on his way to the airport.

Structure of the villa also meant 3cm gaps between the main sliding doors and the room, such that mosquitos could get into the room, which was a rather significant problem as we had a whole week of rain. My friends in the other villa also had the same problem of getting harassed and bitten by mosquitoes in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaseyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear kaseyong,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Royal Kamuela. I am sorry to hear our service not really meet your expectations. We are always working towards upgrading and improving and your feedback is very much valued and appreciated.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    63
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
403
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks honeymoon at Royal Kamuela and had an amazing time.
We organised return airport transfers with Royal Kamuela so from the time we exited the airport till the time we returned to the airport the staff at Royal Kamuela were always friendly and willing to help.

We arrived at Royal Kamuela at 10.30am with check-in not due til 3.00pm. But not only was our villa ready for us we were also allowed to order some breakfast for the day.

Royal Kamuela has 12 private villas each with their own pool. We had villa 10 and could not have been happier. The villa was totally private and very spacious. Very modern (only 2 years old) with large bathroom, bedroom overlooking the pool, alfresco meals and lounge area, and with a poolside deck. The high surrounding walls for privacy were made almost invisible with the lush tropical plants.

On our first night we had the romantic poolside dinner and whilst expensive compared to the rest of the food in Ubud the price was reasonable given the setting up required and that we were also supplied with a bottle of wine.

Our week was spent mostly relaxing by the pool til the afternoon with breakfast provided daily by the hotel. The range available for breakfast was good. We ate in our villa which meant food was not quite as hot as eating in the care. But that was our choice. We had room service a couple of times for other meals with the quality not quite as good as the local restaurants and cafés.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, collecting dishes after meals, making the room up etc. Occasionally things we requested got a bit lost in translation but that is to be expected when holidaying in a foreign country. Every day they would ask us how things were going and asking if we needed anything.

We chose this hotel based on TA reviews and were not disappointed. TA and the hotel both advised to not leave anything unattended in the villa as the monkeys would take it. Well we only saw the monkeys twice. On the last 2 days of our stay… they came banging through the trees about 7am on both mornings looking for breakfast. It was an awesome show but at no time did they enter our villa. They did however make some noise on the villa roof in the middle of the night twice. But hey! It’s a Monkey Forest right?

Our stay at Royal Kamuela was truly memorable and we wouldn’t change a thing if we did it again. We highly recommend them and would not hesitate to return.

The only thing we could be critical of was the water in the bathroom/shower was not hot enough at times.

PS: When booking with Royal Kamuela you get a free foot massage which you can have at anytime during the stay. We both had ours on our second last day. We expected a nice little 10 minute massage and were wowed by a half hour massage each that left us totally relaxed.

Room Tip: Villa 10 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metragnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear metragnome,

Thank you for the awesome review and lovely photos.

We continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you and we look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was truly amazing, the room was huge and the lap pool was a true luxury. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff was all very helpful. Also, it is more centrally located than some of the other nice hotels in the area, so going out to dinner was no problem.
Do note, because of the indoor/outdoor design, do expect a lot of critters ranging from very big spiders, various insects, lizards, to monkeys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falconskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear falconskg,

Thank you very much for the nice review and we hope to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in villa 7. Fantastic introduction to Bali, right in the heart of Ubud. Would love to stay again. Pure luxury!

Service
Very attentive, if possibly a tad too much. Struggled with language on a couple of occasions. Absolutely loved our main 'butler' who was a sweetie.

Room
Beautiful decor. Loved our pool which was much larger than expected. I was visited by curious moneys whilst swimming on morning, and we could hear them on the roof of the villa which was entertaining. Very well appointed with lots of supplies. Great double bath, although it took a long time to fill. Everything was very clean. Lovely and quiet, no children allowed and we barely heard our neighbours.

Food
Breakfast was ok, but nothing wow. It was nice to have it in the room, although it was 20 mins early the second morning. We did order room service which was a bit of a mix: inedible nachos missing the promised guacamole, declicious crab & asparagus soup and red snapper.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear tal202,

Thank you for the review and we glad that you enjoyed staying in our villa but sorry that we didn't "wow" you for the breakfast.
It is true that our villa are completed with large swimming pool and homely master bedroom. The villas are quiet as it's exclusively design for adults - no children allowed.

Hopefully we’ll be welcoming you again next time you are on Ubud. Thank you for staying with us and also the nice picture.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We are currently sitting beside our private pool at Royal Kamuela, beautiful weather, sun is setting and life could not be any better. Our villa is perfect, great bed, great shower, great pool, fantastic breakfast, helpful staff, quiet, restaurants just outside the main entrance or the boys will drive you anywhere. This is a holiday.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you were enjoyed your holiday and experiencing the royal perfection in Royal Kamuela.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at this lovely property. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were served to our room each morning at a time allocated by us. There were great choices on the menu and the quality and taste was delicious. We did tend to overeat as they were very generous servings.
The location is in the heart of Ubud but you would never know it as it was lovely and quiet. The room was very clean and had lots of extra touches, e.g toothbrushes, emery boards, etc etc. The bed was turned down each night.

Room Tip: I believe all the villas are the same size. We did not have any visits from monkeys which was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Chris L.,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear we exceeded your expections with the extra touch of our amenities in the room and friendly staff.

One of the popular services that we have is our a la carte breakfast which can be served at anytime of the day and the guest can choose to either have it in Wanara Coffee Shop or in the villa.

Should you return to Ubud I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks in this lush paradise. From the moment of arrival to departure we could not complain about anything. All our needs were supplied. The staff very courteous, happy and helpful. The breakfast can be changed to your choice and afternoon tea was substituted by healthy juice at our request. The couple of evening meals we had were very good. We hesitate to praise these Villas, as we fear they will become too popular. As there are only 12 Villas and no children the peace and relaxed atmosphere is addictive. Complimentary transport is available around Ubud at your request. The Villas are conveniently located close to very good restaurants and shopping, they are large with great bathroom spa bath, separate shower and toilet. The pool is beautiful and large enough for a swim. All Villas are beautiful.
We thank all staff for a great holiday.
My only suggestion is a discount rate for long stay guests, as we would stay 3 weeks instead of 2.

Room Tip: Any Villa is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bungy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#36 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Property: Royal Kamuela
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing