We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience.”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #8 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Incredible experience.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in villa 7. Fantastic introduction to Bali, right in the heart of Ubud. Would love to stay again. Pure luxury!

Service
Very attentive, if possibly a tad too much. Struggled with language on a couple of occasions. Absolutely loved our main 'butler' who was a sweetie.

Room
Beautiful decor. Loved our pool which was much larger than expected. I was visited by curious moneys whilst swimming on morning, and we could hear them on the roof of the villa which was entertaining. Very well appointed with lots of supplies. Great double bath, although it took a long time to fill. Everything was very clean. Lovely and quiet, no children allowed and we barely heard our neighbours.

Food
Breakfast was ok, but nothing wow. It was nice to have it in the room, although it was 20 mins early the second morning. We did order room service which was a bit of a mix: inedible nachos missing the promised guacamole, declicious crab & asparagus soup and red snapper.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear tal202,

Thank you for the review and we glad that you enjoyed staying in our villa but sorry that we didn't "wow" you for the breakfast.
It is true that our villa are completed with large swimming pool and homely master bedroom. The villas are quiet as it's exclusively design for adults - no children allowed.

Hopefully we’ll be welcoming you again next time you are on Ubud. Thank you for staying with us and also the nice picture.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    65
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
408
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We are currently sitting beside our private pool at Royal Kamuela, beautiful weather, sun is setting and life could not be any better. Our villa is perfect, great bed, great shower, great pool, fantastic breakfast, helpful staff, quiet, restaurants just outside the main entrance or the boys will drive you anywhere. This is a holiday.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you were enjoyed your holiday and experiencing the royal perfection in Royal Kamuela.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at this lovely property. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were served to our room each morning at a time allocated by us. There were great choices on the menu and the quality and taste was delicious. We did tend to overeat as they were very generous servings.
The location is in the heart of Ubud but you would never know it as it was lovely and quiet. The room was very clean and had lots of extra touches, e.g toothbrushes, emery boards, etc etc. The bed was turned down each night.

Room Tip: I believe all the villas are the same size. We did not have any visits from monkeys which was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Chris L.,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear we exceeded your expections with the extra touch of our amenities in the room and friendly staff.

One of the popular services that we have is our a la carte breakfast which can be served at anytime of the day and the guest can choose to either have it in Wanara Coffee Shop or in the villa.

Should you return to Ubud I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks in this lush paradise. From the moment of arrival to departure we could not complain about anything. All our needs were supplied. The staff very courteous, happy and helpful. The breakfast can be changed to your choice and afternoon tea was substituted by healthy juice at our request. The couple of evening meals we had were very good. We hesitate to praise these Villas, as we fear they will become too popular. As there are only 12 Villas and no children the peace and relaxed atmosphere is addictive. Complimentary transport is available around Ubud at your request. The Villas are conveniently located close to very good restaurants and shopping, they are large with great bathroom spa bath, separate shower and toilet. The pool is beautiful and large enough for a swim. All Villas are beautiful.
We thank all staff for a great holiday.
My only suggestion is a discount rate for long stay guests, as we would stay 3 weeks instead of 2.

Room Tip: Any Villa is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bungy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

'Plunge pool' is an understatement. The pool was almost longer than our apartment in Sydney! Very spacious rooms with outdoor kitchen. Bugs are at a minimum if that bothers you- they spray twice a week (mosquitoes and critters). We were told to be careful of sneaky monkeys as this place is very close to the monkey forest, however no visitors at our villa! Great spa bath, good living area and again great pool/garden area. Breakfast was varied and delicious- delviered to your villa. Afternoon tea also delivered to villa consisted of your choice of tea or coffee and an Indonesian sweet. Location was great - not right in the thick of it all but very easy walking distance to restaurants and the huge mass of shops. Staff were friendly, helfpul attentative and polite. Big thumbs up!

Room Tip: villa 12 has a bigger gardens than other villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Maz,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and it is true that our swimming pool is big enough and be part of the favorite facilities in the villa. Royal Kamuela also has strategic location and gives you access to a wide variety of art shops.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon..

Best regards,


Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I almost don't want to give a raving review just so that the secret isn't out! This place is truly wonderful. We were in Villa 4 and it wasn't facing the monkey forest so I don't think any monkeys ever came in, but that was ok. we still saw tons in the forest. the villa was SO nice! the pool was way larger than we expected and the bath tub in the bathroom was awesome too! Very romantic and relaxing. We almost didn't want to leave the villa and go hang out in Ubud! The staff were helpful and since this was our first time to Bali, they were able to easily talk us into using them to book some of our sight-seeing trips (we did cat poo coffee and the rafting trip). The coffee trip was free! Next time I will book our own "adventures" mainly because the lady at the front desk was just too pushy. that is our only complaint. Other than that we LOVED it and will definitely book this hotel again-and hopefully SOON!!!

Room Tip: Villa #4 isn't facing the monkey forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Melissa H.,

Thanks for taking the time to provide this detailed review and great to hear your enjoyed your overall stay. It really is appreciated when we receive such feedback, each week we discuss our reviews at our team meeting in detail so we can deliver a better customer experience for our travellers every time.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon..thanks again!

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

As I sit in Villa 7 overlooking the pool, my new husband is snoring his lungs out and I could not be happier. The RK is heaven on earth ~ private, luxurious, serene and best of all ~ NO KIDS! With only 12 villa's,we only ever saw another couple once in the 4 days we have been here. My husband had never been to Bali before, hence our splashing out for a top-notch spot ~ we found it. From the genuine smiles, to the crisp, clean laundry smelling of the most wonderful fabric conditioner to the very generous and varied breakfasts, our stay here was worth ever dollar. Highly recommended. Ps. Lina at the Day Spa was wonderful as was the cooking class with Chef Wayan.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are excellent. With only 12 villa's,there are no bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Joh P,

Feedback on guest stay is very important to the measurement of success for our villa so we thank you for sharing your opinion on your most recent stay at Royal Kamuela Ubud.
We are delighted to hear that you are fond of our First Class service, private & luxurious design and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Spa Treatment and our Cooking Class.

Hope to host you again upon your next visit to Ubud.


Sincerely,

Oka B. Cahyani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 196 in Ubud
1,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 196 in Ubud
771 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Property: Royal Kamuela
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing