We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great pool...”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #8 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ubud seems like a bit of a trek from the airport but it is well worth the journey! A journey made all the easier when arranged though the Royal Kamuela. The property is excellent for its price point and the staff attentive and helpful. Each Villa is completely private and has a fantastic lap pool right outside the bathroom door. The only criticisms would be slow room service and breakfast (although delivered to your villa each morning) was a little disappointing. However that said I give this place both thumbs up and we will definitely stay there again next time we are in Ubud.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beaujae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Beaujae,

Thank you for your kind review and feedback on your stay with us here at Royal Kamuela. We truly appreciate the time taken to post these reviews on TripAdvisor.

I do hope that you can visit us again in the near future and we will do our best to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as your last visit.

Best wishes,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 523 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed there 9 days in Jan. and enjoyed it for location, privicy and comfort. The 15 by 70 pool was well used by us. I agree with all the positve reviews so I'll consentrate on some of the more negitive things. The staff is very helpful but some of their english is rudimentary and caused some confusion with bookings, but i know that they are trying. The tours booked through them are at inflated prices, laundry too. We booked a tour through them from a broucher that was in our villa the price shown was about 40 dollars but booking with them it turned out to be over 70? Better to find a cabbie you trust on the street. The breakfasts and the roomservice is mediocare, but after 9 days maybe thats from over use. It was a great place to interact with monkeys, who raided our villa 5 of the 9 days. Our last day they came in the middle of our outdoors breakfast. I had to fence them off with an umberlla as my wife qucikly put our food indoors, all fun. But don't keep food or anything you don't want to loss out side. They also have a few rats but it is an Indonesian island and I think they are a problem throughout, we even saw one at the airport as we were eating lunch before our departure. Thats some of the negitives but all in all we really enjoyed our stay as it really fit our needs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimConnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

2nd time to Ubud, 1st time stay (4 beautiful nights) and we were very, very please with our choice of accommodation, Hidden Paradise, quiet, yet just a few steps to town. Arrived bout 3pm and was warmly greeted by the receptionist, process quickly and taken to our Villa No 3 (not far from reception area). We were in ore with what we saw when we entered our villa.Luxury is a understatement for these Villa's. What you see in the photos is exactly what you get, (no lies). So Private with large clean pool (which we used all the time). Fresh fruit, room cleaned daily, menu breakfast delivered to your villa on time (yummy), laundry collected and return back the same day O yeah and a free foot massage when we arrived. Thank you Royal Kamuela Staff for all you done for us, we couldn't ask for anything more from you, ( O how I wish reality never had to re-appear its ugly head). The only problem we had was with no night light outside our villa so it was a bit difficult finding the key hole, If you are reading this review and are a couple/solo or with adult friends I seriously recommend these Villas for you.

Room Tip: Villa 3 close to receptionist area, yet very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

1st time visiting Ubud and what a great place to stay.
Very friendly and helpful staff, our butler helped us sort out a afternoon cycling and evening a elephant park.
Great location, walking distance to some very nice restaurants and monkey forest.
Our villa was number 5 and was the futherest from reception, very private and beautiful.
We had a couple of monkeys visit each morning, but they only sat on the fence and watched what was happening.
Can't wait to go back for longer next time

Room Tip: Room 5 very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were only able to spend one night here but made the most of every moment. Our villa was our own private oasis of tranquility and comfort. We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like visiting royalty.
We spent hours in playing in our private pool, and had our breakfast brought to us there as well as opting to have our complementary foot and leg massage right there as well.
We had no problem with our wifi access in our room. I logged in to my Spotify account and streamed some some fun music uninterrupted while we were out enjoying our pool. There is also an ipod dock in the room, as well as television though we did not make use of ours.
Though the villas are located just a two minute walk to the entrance of the Monkey Forest Preserve, and only a few minutes wak to many restaurants and cafes, there is also a complementary car and driver to take you to anyplace you want to go in Ubud if you prefer not to walk.
We really loved our stay here, and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyPearl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Royal Kamuela is on the main Monkey Forest road and as you approach the place, you can't believe it could be tranquil and quiet ... but it is. It's set back from the road and each villa is surrounded by lush vegetation. It's complete heaven and a retreat from the bustle of the city whenever you want it. It's modern, utterly functional and luxurious with a hint of Balinese influence - and it is as you see it on the website. My already high expectations were met and more. I would come back to this place, definitely. As a lone traveller, I have been made to feel welcome and I've been left alone when I wanted it - you really do get away from everything here. The help from the staff has been exceptional and valuable; their friendliness is humbling and lovely. Basically, I have been a bit blown away by this place and I can't really recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same, I think - they are private villas and there are only 12 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

my 21 year daughter and i stayed 6 nights in villa 6..we enjoyed every minute of it. the villa is lovely, service is great, location perfect..if i want to be really picky i can say that the water in the shower was not very strong and the food could be better but all in all hotel was great..free bottled water..coffee..tea..cookies everyday. breakfast in room any time you desire.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,943 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $211 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing