We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Royal Kamuela Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kamuela Ubud
Ranked #9 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

1st time visiting Ubud and what a great place to stay.
Very friendly and helpful staff, our butler helped us sort out a afternoon cycling and evening a elephant park.
Great location, walking distance to some very nice restaurants and monkey forest.
Our villa was number 5 and was the futherest from reception, very private and beautiful.
We had a couple of monkeys visit each morning, but they only sat on the fence and watched what was happening.
Can't wait to go back for longer next time

Room Tip: Room 5 very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 539 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were only able to spend one night here but made the most of every moment. Our villa was our own private oasis of tranquility and comfort. We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and from the moment we arrived, we were treated like visiting royalty.
We spent hours in playing in our private pool, and had our breakfast brought to us there as well as opting to have our complementary foot and leg massage right there as well.
We had no problem with our wifi access in our room. I logged in to my Spotify account and streamed some some fun music uninterrupted while we were out enjoying our pool. There is also an ipod dock in the room, as well as television though we did not make use of ours.
Though the villas are located just a two minute walk to the entrance of the Monkey Forest Preserve, and only a few minutes wak to many restaurants and cafes, there is also a complementary car and driver to take you to anyplace you want to go in Ubud if you prefer not to walk.
We really loved our stay here, and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyPearl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Royal Kamuela is on the main Monkey Forest road and as you approach the place, you can't believe it could be tranquil and quiet ... but it is. It's set back from the road and each villa is surrounded by lush vegetation. It's complete heaven and a retreat from the bustle of the city whenever you want it. It's modern, utterly functional and luxurious with a hint of Balinese influence - and it is as you see it on the website. My already high expectations were met and more. I would come back to this place, definitely. As a lone traveller, I have been made to feel welcome and I've been left alone when I wanted it - you really do get away from everything here. The help from the staff has been exceptional and valuable; their friendliness is humbling and lovely. Basically, I have been a bit blown away by this place and I can't really recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same, I think - they are private villas and there are only 12 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

my 21 year daughter and i stayed 6 nights in villa 6..we enjoyed every minute of it. the villa is lovely, service is great, location perfect..if i want to be really picky i can say that the water in the shower was not very strong and the food could be better but all in all hotel was great..free bottled water..coffee..tea..cookies everyday. breakfast in room any time you desire.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I am bewildered as to how people have not given this venue 5 stars on every review! Nothing was too difficult for the staff, our butler was on call 24/7 and the tranquility and styling was beyond what I expected to get in the heart of ubud. While you don't have the views of rice fields of some of the other 5 star establishments the service and quality is of the same level and you step outside this sanctuary into a bustling Mecca. Fabulous!! Can't wait to go back!!

Note we had villa 9. A few people have given it poor reviews ... And while it is near to reception and so you can sometimes hear people speaking, it's by no means prohibitive to relaxation and serenity. Plus it's the easiest villa to access when you're coming home from a few too many cocktails...so definite plus!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laceywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just been back from our honeymoon in Bali and Malaysia. Did Bali over 10 days. We started with Seminyak then moved to Ubud and lastly to Jimbaran. This property is worth every penny spent. Lovely villas (we stayed in villa 4). HUGE private pools .......they are literally big..... the decor , design of the villa , the bath layout everything was perfect...............the bed too was very comfortable...........the villas look fresh. With two of the walls made of glass u can directly get views of the pool from ur bed. The tv too was big with a dvd player......lovely breakfast spread.
The best thing about this property is its workforce.........Great people WIWIT, SUTAWAN, ANNIE , forgetting some names sorry.......all wonderful.......no issues with bfast timings u can get it in ur villa or their restaurant at ur convenience........villas offer free afternoon teas as well which we hardly used........
The villas are located close to monkey forest, the market and good restaurants ........yes but ubud unlike seminyak shuts early almost by 11:00pm........but i would certainly recommend 2 to 3 nights in Ubudfor people who want some quiet. for restaurants i would be writing separate reviews for Bebik Bengil , Cinta Grill , Paon........

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stunning villa with artistic touches, massive pool, super private, gorgeous bathroom and the best part.... The bed is like sleeping on a fragrant cloud. The villa layout is clever with all the mod cons, decent wifi connection, big TV and heaps of cable channels. Staff are attentive but discreet, check in and out was smooth and breakfast is always served on time. A very convenient location on monkey forest road, easy access to shops, restaurants, spas, the monkey forest and markets.

My husband and I were in villa 9 and, it's true, you do get some noise from the reception, but it didn't bother us that much, we were out and about most of the time anyway. If this isn't 5 star, i must be very ignorant, because it lived up to all my expectations and I am notoriously fussy. If you don't like bugs, geckos, frogs or monkeys, either don't holiday in Asia or stay in a sanitised high rise BUT you will miss out if you don't try this place.

Room Tip: If you're finicky about noise, avoid villa 9. Also, see if you can get one with a bale, we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thescrutinizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 200 in Ubud
2,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,342 reviews
1.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela Ubud

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $199 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest - Ubud boasts of 12 luxurious pool villas, featuring a whole host of luxurious services and facilities, including a full-service wellness center, private butlers for each separate villa, and a stylish restaurant set amidst the backdrop of lush tropical gardens. Step out into the heart of Ubud. The resort is very close to the main attractions of Ubud and just a short distance from the popular Monkey Forest. With dozens of attractive restaurants within walking distance, and boutiques and art galleries aplenty nearby, the location of Royal Kamuela makes it the perfect base from which to enjoy the plentiful offerings of Ubud. The ultimate vacation experience. This very intimate property has only 12 one bedroom private pool villas and is exclusively for adults – no children allowed. Each villa is artfully balanced, entirely private and self contained, allowing our guests total relaxation for their honeymoon or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Kamuela Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing