We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I had stayed longer”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #7 of 553 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wished I had stayed longer”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed in the hotel this week-end only for one night as I live in another part of Bali but wished I had stayed longer. Very nice staff in front office, very helpful and giving proper information.
the villas are new (March 2011) so you will have the Balinese architecture but with all modern technologies. The location is perfect as two minutes walk to the Monkey Forest and on one of the shopping roads of Ubud. It is very nice to walk around in the evening and to stop for a drink. I recommend especially for the couples and the honeymooners as it is really for them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rai-Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    64
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
405
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent 2 nights in Ubud at The Royal Kamuela before moving onto Seminyak for 7 nights. The position of this hotel is fantastic, right off the main street in Ubud and right next to Monkey Forest which is a must see if you come to Bali! Even though 2 nights maybe 3 at a push is enough in Ubud I wish we could have stayed at Ryal Kamuela longer. The room is a true 5 * luxury room, where you have your own private villa with a pool and a living inside/ outside seating area and kitchen. The bathroom is huge! It is very private and we felt like we were the only people staying there, so great for a romantic getaway! The service at this hotel was also faultless, the staff were so friendly and attentive and there were times where they really made me feel like a princess! We took a day tour with the the hotel guides well which was brilliant! He took us to the rice paddies, temples, coffee plantations, mountains/ volcanoes, we went everywhere and had the best day and it was made even better as our guide talked us through everything and looked After us so well! The whole 2 day experience was incredible all because of The Royal Kamuela! Please stay here when in Ubud... You'd be a fool not too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a 2 week trip to Bali with friends and used Kamuela as a 3 day trip for just the two of us. Brilliant location, beautiful rooms and attentive staff. Could easily laze by your private pool all day or stroll to the street for a little local interaction. Very relaxing and the private foot rub in the villa is sensational.
Set back from the street enough to be very quiet all day and night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Love everything about Royal Kamuela! Very good location. Everything is clean and well maintained. Staffs are very accommodating and friendly. Great breakfast selection too! The only disappointment was not greeted by any monkeys in the morning!

Wish we could stay longer to enjoy the beautiful villa. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Do not worry if you are unable to locate Royal Kamuela on google map at the moment. It is without a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

These villas are amazing and we'd agree with all the positive comments about the beautiful decor, delicious breakfasts & afternoon tea, large pool, cozy bedding, and the attentive and friendly staff.

We stayed three nights and found our villa was an oasis just off a busy and dusty street - such a treat to retun to at the end of a busy day sightseeing. As the hotel dinner menu only consist of western meals (steaks etc), and we were keen to eat Indonesian food, ate out each night at one of the many nearby restaurants.

We went to the spa twice for massages and facials. The massages were amazing - as good if not better than I normally get back home and for only a fraction of the price. My only suggestion for improvement is to play music in the spa as this would help improve the ambiance.

The monkeys did visit our area on the first morning, however they stayed on the perimeter fence and only hung around for about 15 minutes so really were not a nuisance.

Yes the spa and taxis are more expensive than what you can get on the street, but it's Bali, so it's still very well priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 5 - which is at the far corner of the property and on the edge of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great facility, location and very friendly staff. Only 12 villas, so staff gets to know everyone. Walking distance to many restaurants, including some live music venues less than a 10 minute walk. The afternoon team and local snacks (Bali style banana pancake for example) was great. The entire staff was very welcoming, including in the spa.

Overall experience was fantastic, much better than an impersonal hotel or larger resort.

Room Tip: New facility and all villas have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is the best villa both of us have ever stayed in... OMG, you take a step back when walking into the villa area... Massive private pool, outdoor area, day bed, large room, large 2 person spa looking out onto pool area and awesome bathroom with dowble sink and shower. We don;t ever want to leave. Downside is that they don't have there liquor license yet so you can't order cocktails etc to your villa... But all good as you can go to the local 7/11 and grab wine, beers and vodka... Hopefully they get it soon... Yummy breaky included to have in room or coffee shop... Excellent value compared to others for $300 and under...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Property: Royal Kamuela
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 553 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing