We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Pampered”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #8 of 584 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Love everything about Royal Kamuela! Very good location. Everything is clean and well maintained. Staffs are very accommodating and friendly. Great breakfast selection too! The only disappointment was not greeted by any monkeys in the morning!

Wish we could stay longer to enjoy the beautiful villa. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Do not worry if you are unable to locate Royal Kamuela on google map at the moment. It is without a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Royal Kamuela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

These villas are amazing and we'd agree with all the positive comments about the beautiful decor, delicious breakfasts & afternoon tea, large pool, cozy bedding, and the attentive and friendly staff.

We stayed three nights and found our villa was an oasis just off a busy and dusty street - such a treat to retun to at the end of a busy day sightseeing. As the hotel dinner menu only consist of western meals (steaks etc), and we were keen to eat Indonesian food, ate out each night at one of the many nearby restaurants.

We went to the spa twice for massages and facials. The massages were amazing - as good if not better than I normally get back home and for only a fraction of the price. My only suggestion for improvement is to play music in the spa as this would help improve the ambiance.

The monkeys did visit our area on the first morning, however they stayed on the perimeter fence and only hung around for about 15 minutes so really were not a nuisance.

Yes the spa and taxis are more expensive than what you can get on the street, but it's Bali, so it's still very well priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 5 - which is at the far corner of the property and on the edge of the jungle.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great facility, location and very friendly staff. Only 12 villas, so staff gets to know everyone. Walking distance to many restaurants, including some live music venues less than a 10 minute walk. The afternoon team and local snacks (Bali style banana pancake for example) was great. The entire staff was very welcoming, including in the spa.

Overall experience was fantastic, much better than an impersonal hotel or larger resort.

Room Tip: New facility and all villas have a private pool.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is the best villa both of us have ever stayed in... OMG, you take a step back when walking into the villa area... Massive private pool, outdoor area, day bed, large room, large 2 person spa looking out onto pool area and awesome bathroom with dowble sink and shower. We don;t ever want to leave. Downside is that they don't have there liquor license yet so you can't order cocktails etc to your villa... But all good as you can go to the local 7/11 and grab wine, beers and vodka... Hopefully they get it soon... Yummy breaky included to have in room or coffee shop... Excellent value compared to others for $300 and under...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We just got home from a week long stay at Royal Kamuela and I'm pleased to report we had a fabulous time. The villas are magnificent, beautifully appointed, very private and they are situated in a very convenient location just a few hundred metres from the monkey forest and some fantastic restaurants. The staff are all lovely and eager to help out wherever they can, though at times we felt pressured to do their tours or use their spa facilities which were much more expensive than typical Ubud prices.

Each morning we had our breakfast brought to us by the wonderful, friendly staff and in the afternoon, after a long day of sightseeing and shopping, we were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and sweets which was a nice touch. My only criticism with the room was the layout of the toilet, it's all glass and didn't feel all that private. It's a minor point though and definitely did not detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezza755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our experience here was consistent with the other reviews (though we tried very hard to get the monkeys to come to our room every morning by leaving bananas out...but never had any luck...).
The pictures are accurate. The villa is beautiful and stylish. The private pool was an extremely pleasant surprise!
The staff are all very sweet, but there is only one lady who is reliable in giving recommendations (she is the supervisor. I think her name was Ani...something. Go to her for everything).
The hotel shuttle costs 43USD and takes about 1.5 hours (with traffic).
I personally liked the breakfast very much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romyromyromy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were very impressed with the villa and private pool, in particular the new, modern, tasteful interiors and use of glass walls maximising the outdoor view from within. Very convenient location, next to monkey forest and 5 minutes from Ubud central market.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#19 of 199 in Ubud
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
2,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#12 of 199 in Ubud
790 reviews
1.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 584 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $215 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing