We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Tripadvisor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warung Pulau Kelapa

Warung Pulau Kelapa
Ranked #53 of 714 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indonesian restaurant with Cafe and Lounge. Authentic indonesian cuisine, coffee and ice cream. Our restaurant is also equipped with a - Garden - Parking Area - Meeting Place - Wi-Fi
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
486 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Thanks Tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I fancied some sop buntut (javanese oxtail soup) and I had not yet seen it on any of the menu's of other restaurant in Hindu Ubud so Google brought me to Tripadvisor's page of Warung Pulau Kelapa. What a find!

The soup was very nice, accompanied by some emping, lemon and sambal. This would have been enough for my lunch but as I did not know about the size of the portions, I had also ordered a delicious chicken dish with creamy coconut sauce.

Both dishes were very nice so I will surely return to try some of their other delicious looking food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    228
    45
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Indo food, cheap, organic garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This restaurant is well worth the short taxi ride up Jalan Rayan Sanggigan. The food is authentic, delicious and super cheap. Go when it is light so you can stroll through their organic vegetable garden out the back and over the creek amongst the rice paddies. Good vegetarian selection. Try their red ginger tea!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very good traditional javanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

great food in a great setting. the antique javanese teak house with verandah is beautiful, the food authentic and tasty and the staff very friendly. i especially love their es cendol!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lebenskuenstler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Many flavors of Indonesia at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pulau Kelapa offers the cuisine of Indonesia--many regions are represented, from Sulawesi to West Java to Bali. Unlike most local warungs in Ubud, they have many beef dishes on the menu, including oxtail soup and beef ribs, as well as many varieties of fish and chicken dishes. The setting is a Javanese wooden joglo house with indoor and outdoor seating. Service was attentive and the price very reasonable, with many dishes between $2 and $3. The menu has pictures of everything, and it tells you where all the dishes are from, so you can see what it all looks like, including the drinks. A small dish of pickled vegetables was served before the meal. I had Soto Ayam, which is a chicken soup with boiled egg and vegetables--very good, accompanied by a delicious small potato dumpling. My companion had BBQ chicken rujak--a wonderfully flavored red sauce, though the chicken had been boiled, not barbequed. Since we were both fighting colds, we had Red Ginger Tea from Sumatra--very good.
In the back of the restaurant is a spice and vegetable garden and the waiters will give you a daytime tour of it if you ask. They close by 9:30 PM. Parking in the rear.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msjones707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Indo food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you ever crave for a traditional indonesian good this is a perfect place to go to. The restaurant is very unique, joglo style.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiky Reski A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warung Pulau Kelapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing