We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality outways the price”

Warung Pulau Kelapa
Ranked #53 of 731 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indonesian restaurant with Cafe and Lounge. Authentic indonesian cuisine, coffee and ice cream. Our restaurant is also equipped with a - Garden - Parking Area - Meeting Place - Wi-Fi
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Quality outways the price”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When arriving we were recommended by our driver to go to Warung Pulau Kelapa. And till this moment I'm really grateful for that recommendation. Our hotel was just a short walk away and we have been here three times for dinner of the three days we were in Ubud (we got recognised eventually). As the title suggest the quality is superior to the price. This has probably much to do with the ultimate low price the food gets offered. This in combination with the nice interior, outside seating and a booth in which the sateh gets cooked, makes this a really special place and worth the walk. Not to mention the good service it offers as well. Only problem I had, was getting to greedy in ordering dishes for the low price. For the Dutch it is great way of making your own "rijsttafel"

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    233
    46
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“beautiful place with delicious indonesian food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have you any visitor of this place happened to enter their restroom near the parking area in the back? It was amazingly clean, even with a vase of flowers arranged on the small table inside the restroom.

It was just too bad we found this beautiful place one day before we left Ubud. The place is beautifully decorated with Javanese style, and a cozy place to eat, chat, and relax. Especially on the afternoon or evening. If the day was just too hot, the indoor table would be a great choice.

The price is not expensive too. The waitress are polite and helpful.

And their sour appetizer is unforgettable. When I got the chance to visit Ubud next time, I'll be here for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vyaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Value, Nice setting”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

First i read review for this restaurant somewhere in Inflight magz then later i decide to make a visit. the setting is so nice. i feel like i'm in traditional house. They have a authentic indonesian menu. The service was good also. I tried nasi kuning (i forgot nasi kuning or nasi uduk). The rice taste so good, with a lot of side dish such as chicken, eggs, abon, vegetables. taste like a home cook dish. The price is also cheap compare to their big of portion.

They also have vegetarian menu and use no MSG :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andesita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“found my best javanese dish in Ubud”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been searching for my favorite dish called "rujak uleg" in ubud, this is a rice cake, some fruits, boilled vegetables leaves, tempe (fried soya bean), tofu, and mixed with black shrimp sauce and peanut. And this is the only restaurant who has this dish, it was really delicious. And tastes like the one I used to have in Surabaya.
Another our favorite dish is soto ayam, hmmm.... yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in Bali!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We discovered this amazing gem purely by accident and the only thing we are disappointed about is we are leaving Ubud tomorrow and can't come back!!
We came to Bali to experience the culture and we sure had a taste of it here! Great selection of authentic Indonesian food....some that i have not seen offered at other places....that makes your taste buds think they've died and gone to heaven!
And the prices....5 main dishes, 2 dessert dishes and 3 drinks for $18 AU....!!!!!
Staff were friendly and polite, surroundings beautiful, clean and peaceful, location great for us as walking distance to our hotel!
Our first 5 out 5 eating experience in Bali!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Pulau Kelapa also viewed

 

Been to Warung Pulau Kelapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing