We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great change from local food”
Review of Taco Casa

Taco Casa
Ranked #40 of 751 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 2010, Taco Casa is simple, clean, casual, quick - friendly service taco joint, serving fresh, light & delicious Mexican flavors. Our flour tortillas, guacamole, pico de gallo salsa, enchilada sauce, hot sauce, beans (black, pinto and re-fried beans), taco shells, corn chips, taco salad bowl and salad dressings are all made from scratch from fresh ingredients and contain no lard, MSG or preservatives. They are prepared in small batches daily and kept refrigerated to assure quality and freshness. We use organic and local ingredients whenever possible. our beef is all tenderloin cuts and our chicken is all breast fillet. Three locations: Ubud, Seminyak and Canggu. Ubud location offer dine-in, take away and delivery service (within Ubud area only). Rp 5.000 to Rp 10.000 delivery charge will be added to the bill.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great change from local food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

After ten days in Indonesia we felt like something different and this was perfect. Very friendly staff, great tasting food, and nice selection of different drinks both alcoholic and non-alcoholic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alynaw_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,675
    723
    149
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican with Gluten Free Options”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My friends and I loved the Taco Casa in Ubud so much we made sure to go for dinner at the Taco Casa in Seminyak as well. The food and margaritas were both delicious and the service was great. Not being able to eat gluten, travelling in Indonesia was a bit tricky and Taco Casa was the first place who understood when I said I couldn't eat wheat and were able to explain everything I would eat on the menu. The corn tortillas and chips are made in house (along with a lot of other things) which was reassuring. The menu is also clear that the vegetables are all washed in purified water which is great.

Taco Casa isn't the cheapest place you will eat in Bali but if you feel like Mexican this is good quality food for a good price (especially in Seminyak). An entree is about 50,000 to 70,000 IDR and the margaritas are about 50,000 to 60,000 IDR. The nachos were my favourite at 40,000 to 60,000 IDR. Definitely recommend if you feel like a fiesta!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cben5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Little shop has friendly staff and good food. The passionfruit margarita was amazing. Food was fresh and beef was nicely marinated. Good flavors and definitely worth visiting if you fancy a change from Indonesian food on your trip. Prices are reasonable for Bali.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Indonesian for a night.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Great place, and super nice food. Lots of flavours and freshness about it. I would say could do with a little bit more chilli in places, but overall a fantastic alternative if you're starting to get a little tired of eating Indonesian every night.

It is not expensive, nor really cheap, I would say middle of the road price wise, but well worth the money. Approx 20-25 aud for starter to share with mains each and a couple of beers.

Helpful?
Thank Padwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So fresh! Perfect change from Indonesian”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The menu is simple but super yummy. All the ingredients are fresh. No MSG. No Preservatives. And not very fattening! Lots of non-fried options. Try the lemon orange mint and ginger drink. Amazing. And if you want something a littler stiffer go the classic margarita. They do a fantastic one. Not as cheap as earrings but still very reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Casa also viewed

 

Been to Taco Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing