We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to be back at Rumah Roda!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumah Roda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Roda
Ranked #96 of 511 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great to be back at Rumah Roda!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

After our experience at Rumah Roda back in 2009, we decided to stay there again during our recent visit to Ubud. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the homestay had expanded - it now has 10 rooms and a small swimming pool available for its guests.

Our room was the best (and most expensive) of the bunch and was good value considering its size - we had a queen bed and a single bed as well as a small table and chairs, a bench, an en suite and a small kitchen. On the upside, we had massive open windows with lovely views of the property and the colourful sunsets each night. We also had a small fridge which was great for keeping drinks cold and also preventing insects from getting into open snacks. As in 2009, we were very happy with the handy location and also the but yummy breakfast which was served in the Warung and included in the price of the room.

On the downside, our room was on the 3rd floor which required us to carry all of our bags up the stairs but, to be honest, we had so much help from the family/staff, it was hardly an issue. Also, on a more practical level, the en suite and kitchen were not quite up to the standard that we are used to when traveling. For instance, the bathroom sink didn't actually have a plumbed drain - just a hole in the sink with a bucket below. It didn't really pose too much of a problem really - it was hot enough that splashed water didn't stay around for too long! That said, we did suffer from the heat a bit - the fan in the room barely moved the hot air around and there were a couple of times when we would have been grateful for A/C. It was a trade-off though - some of the rooms do have it...but they don't have those big, open windows!

Really though, the main draw is that the family and staff are lovely. We were looked after wonderfully especially as we were there for Nyepi and we were invited to join the family for a re-Nyepi excurison/ceremony which was a privilege.

If you're looking for an interesting home stay (and are happy with basic accommodation) where you can gain insights about Balinese culture, Rumah Roda might just be the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want a big room, ask for room 7. If you don't want steps, ask for 1-4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
31
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

At Rumah Roda we stayed in a big room at the first floor. 1 big bed, 1 single bed and it was no problem to put a matras extra. The room was the cleanest we had on our trip. Breakfast is good and the staff (family) very nice and helpfull. Swimmingpool is lovely. We end up staying 4 nights and then we moved for 1 night to Rumah Roda II, in the middle of the ricefields. WAUW!! We got a big room and breakfast on our balcony looking over the river and forest. We end up staying 3 more nights!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosier, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed at Rumah Roda everytime I stay in Ubud. I absolutely love the family and staff. They just finished their new rooms and now have a pool. The family is very friendly and Darta is great to talk to about Bali history and other fascinating tidbits. delicious balinese buffet every sunday!!! Stay in one of the many newly built and furbished rooms, because I stay in the old 'David's Room' next to the pool :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Enjoyed beautiful Balinese banquet: a recommended experience. Easily assessable to main shopping locations, rice fields walk and monkey forest and restaurants. Also kecak fire dance venue. Bountiful information available from owner re history of family/culture of area.

Room Tip: Fan only for cooling. Quite sufficient for wet season accommadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yachats
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Rumah Roda last September and had a very pleasant time. The room on the second floor was basic and the bed was comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised that the room fan kept the temperature comfortable. I really liked the swimming pool that I believe was installed last year. It was clean and refreshing. The breakfast was good and the special buffet dinner was a real bargain. The rooms are inexpensive (about US $22.00 for a double).

The location up hill was a little trying (I am 76 and out of shape) but not impossible.

A big plus is that Threads of Life, a fair trade organization that supports weaving groups all around Indonesia is on the street level. This shop is a museum and education center for anyone interested in Indonesian textiles. The staff is wonderful, all speak English, and are experts in the field of Indonesian Textiles. A stop here should be must for anyone visiting Ubud. The prices are high but the quality is indisputable.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a good view of the garden, and the neighboring family temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed there for 5nights,totally local feel,stay with Darta family,and they are friendly,especially Abut will chat with you when he is free,he is the son of the owner--Darta,he is also a driver,can give you good information about trips and explain balinese culture to you.there is a small swimming pool at Rumah Roda ,but i found no time to swim,regret.their breakfast is simple,but enough,i love banana Rai,the first time i had it,tasty!the room is big,though no air-coin,but for me a ceiling fan is ok.room with hot water ,but i seldom use,i love cool water to shower.the room i stayed with a double bed and mosquitoes net,prevent me from mosquito bites! Rumah Roda did give me a good memory while i was in Ubud,a budget homestay with good location,highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just stay at this hotel few days ago and it was a bad experience for me. We need to pay an extra >100,000 rupiah the time we check out without any information earlier and according to them, the price they offered us is for another rooms and we rooms they gave us is different. The reasons was the room is occupied by others as we reach too late but when booking the room, I already inform them that I will be reach at hotel at night time ( around 9-10pm) and a day before we reach, I email them again to inform that we will reach after 10pm and get them to prepare us the room.

This guest house is not honest at all and never inform in any room charges changes. The staff here also not friendly at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#160 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#169 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loka Sari Guest House Ubud & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artja Inn
Artja Inn
#189 of 511 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Arjana Accommodation
#352 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud Sari Health Resort
Ubud Sari Health Resort
#127 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Roda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Roda

Property: Rumah Roda
Address: Jalan Kajeng 24, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 511 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Rumah Roda Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing