We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Booking thru website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alas Petulu Cottages
Ranked #130 of 622 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked and paid for the pool villa,only to get an email the next day to say that it was booked out. They offered a deluxe room,which we declined as we wanted to stay in a private pool villa.
The trouble started When I asked them to give me a refund as it was their error.
apparently it was the computer system that emailed confirmation and request for payment!!!
They said they were unable to give me a refund and kept trying to get me to book something else.
There is a Commonwealth Bank in Ubud which they could have deposited my refund, but after several emails(16) they said I would have to pick up the money and that it would not be what I paid as they would only refund what they received after bank charges.
I paid $250 USD and transfer fees of $25 and they are only going to refund me about $230 AUD

It may be a nice place,but the booking system is obviously a problem and the fact that they made the error and it is still going to cost me about $45 + the cost of arranging for the money to be picked up from Ubud is pretty poor

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Kazmac0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaspetulu, Guest Relations Manager at Alas Petulu Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Kazmac0511,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience here on Tripadvisor
While I am disappointed your experience at our booking system felt short of expectations. I am thankful that you have shared the feedback with us as our team reviews all guest feedback in an effort to improve the guest experience. We encourage guests to contact directly with any concerns in this regard so that we can correct any faults as a matter of urgency
We hope to welcome you back again in the future for another relaxing vacation.

Sincerely,
Alas Petulu Cottages Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 143 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed three nights at Alas Petulu and it was great, we had the double room with facilities but since it has it's own terrace and pavilion area for breakfast you can feel like you are the only guests. The walk to the main street is perefectly easy and lit at nights and there is lots of choice of places for meals and refreshments. The owner Made is very helpful and friendly as are his family and the staff. He gave us lift early one morning to allow us to do a walk through the rice fields. The two pools are lovely and since one of the cottages has it's own pool you have lots of peace to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmadEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaspetulu, General Manager at Alas Petulu Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear TravelmadEdinburgh

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We're happy to know that you had an excellent stay and our team member are grateful to know of your appreciation.

We hope that on your next visit to Bali you will allow us to be of service once again!

Best regards,

Made Sudirga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Alas Petulu Cottages is located about 400m off the main street of Ubud town. When you walk out of Alas Petulu, turn right and walk straight on. At the end of the street is the main street. The walk is safe even at night. We booked the 1 bedroom pool villa and it was wonderful. Upon checking in, we requested for a in room massage service and our request was granted. We had the massage by our pool. Breakfast was done at the kitchen in the villa. We just had to leave the door/gate open for the staff to come in and cook for us. There are other type of rooms at the premise and they look cozy as well, as well as an outdoor pool. This place is so private although there are other guests there. Would definitely recommend this place but the pool villa may not be suitable for children as the pool is very deep for a kid. Only one thing they can improve on is the mattress and pillows which seem a bit old. Other than that, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOLA_BLISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaspetulu, General Manager at Alas Petulu Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear LOLA_BLISS

Thank you for an excellent review of your your stay at Alas Petulu Cottages also mentioning our great location, spacious rooms, fabulous pool and grounds
We highly value all your feedback. Please rest assured the fine details of your stay are very important to us and shared with our team

We are sincerely grateful for you choosing to stay with us and hope you will return soon to Bali and Alas Petulu Cottages

Regards,

Made Sudirga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night. I stayed with my husband and 14 year old son. It is located a couple of hundred metres off the main drag (turn right and walk another couple of hundred metres to the markets), but it is a nice, quiet walk. The grounds are beautiful, with lush gardens and a lovely stone path down to the pool area; a small pool above with waterfall flowing into a larger pool below, surrounded by what looks like forest. We stayed in the family room, one bedroom downstairs, one up with a balcony. Clean, usefully furnished and good wifi. Hated leaving. Next time will stay longer. Lovely staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked to be quite private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makeitso66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaspetulu, General Manager at Alas Petulu Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Makeitso66

Greetings from Alas Petulu Cottages.
Thank you for your precious comments that is posted through TripAdvisor
It is delighted to learn that your stay with us a pleasant one which left you with such wonderful impression of our Cottages
No words can describe how excited we were to read your positive review

On behalf of entire team, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back and to enjoy another wonderful experience with us in near future

Sincerely,

Made Sudirga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am currently writing this review using the free, excellent wifi that the cottages offer. This is our third night. We are staying in the lovely pool villa, but the other guest houses look nice as well. The property has 2 lovel infinity pools in addition to the infinity pool for the pool villa.

Made, who owns the property, is very nice and accommodating. My husband hurt his toe, so Made drove us to the Monkey Forest. Later he drove us into the center of town for dinner. Made should have been a landscape architect as the grounds are beautiful. He seems to have a passion for creating beautiful gardens.

One more thing. We took a wonderful tour of the countryside today. Our driver spoke very good, clear English and he was very attentive. If you are looking for a driver anywhere in Bali, contact Kadek Rencane at dek_ren@hotmail.com . Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin0753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaspetulu, General Manager at Alas Petulu Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Robin0753

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are happy to know that you had excellent stay and very grateful to know your appreciation

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Made Sudirga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and I was so pleased I did. Our room was on the top floor so it was like a tree house, very private and beautiful garden views. Breakfast was brought to the balcony each day, eggs, fruit, toast, coffee and fruit juice - all very good. The pool Villa looks very nice and reviews of this have been good, but I was more than happy with my upstairs room. The large pool area is beautiful, and with only 3 rooms sharing, is like your own. Walking distance to the centre of Ubud is about 15-20 minutes, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaspetulu, General Manager at Alas Petulu Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Traveldestin

It was a pleasure serving you. I am delighted to know how much you've enjoyed our facilities and our service
Thank you for noticing some excellent aspects of the cottages the wonderful photograph opportunities surrounding and grounds, breakfast, swimming pool and our location
Please rest assured your review will be shared with our team

We hope to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Made Sudirga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very beautiful, serene "hotel" surrounded by bana trees and other tropical plants. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. I'd wished I had stayed longer than the 3 nights. Restaurants, bars and shops in the busy mainstreet were on a 300 meters distance from this hotel. I certainly will go back again. Breakfast is served on your balcony or terrace. The only thing that was not quite alright was the showerhead, but who gives a ....!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Villas Ubud
The White Villas Ubud
#122 of 199 in Ubud
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baruna Sari Villa
Baruna Sari Villa
#111 of 622 in Ubud
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#38 of 622 in Ubud
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La-Meli Villas Ubud
La-Meli Villas Ubud
#195 of 599 in Ubud
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashanti Villa
Ashanti Villa
#301 of 622 in Ubud
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladera Villa
Ladera Villa
#41 of 599 in Ubud
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alas Petulu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alas Petulu Cottages

Address: Jln. Tirta Tawar No. 18 | Banjar Kutuh Kelod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 622 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $41 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alas Petulu Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ubud, Alas Petulu Cottages is an ideal spot from which to discover Bali. Only 45. Km away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Seniwati Gallery, Low Art Gallery, Ubud Palace, Antonio Blanko The Museum of arts, Monkey forest. The facilities and services provided by Alas Petulu Cottages ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides bicycle rental, room service, laundry service, dry cleaning, car park to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. In addition, all our Guestrooms feature a variety of comforts such as complimentary bottled water, kitchenette, shower, bathtub, air conditioning to please even the most discerning guest. The complete list of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including garden, outdoor pool, pool (kids), massage. Whatever your reason for visiting Bali, the Alas Petulu Cottages is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alas Petulu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alas Petulu Cottages Hotel Ubud
Alas Petulu Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing