We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surroundings, great service staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud
Ranked #79 of 584 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our stay here was very pleasant overall. The surroundings were wonderful and we had breakfast everyday at the restaurant because the view was so awesome. The villas are well appointed and toiletries such as dental kits, toothpaste, shower cap, etc are provided (this was surprising). They even provided bath salts which was cool and when we requested for more bottled water, the service staff obliged immediately. The bedroom and bathroom are very spacious and clean.

The massage at the villa was ok, we had it free as part of our package which was a nice touch. But I preferred to go to external spas for the same massage quality at half the price charged by the villa spa.

The main draw of this place would be its peace and quiet and lovely surroundings but this place is not for those who want to be near Ubud centre as it takes almost 15 mins to reach there, and more if there is a traffic jam. Ubud has become very crowded which is really sad and traffic conditions are quite horrible. Special mention too about the service staff, they are awesome - friendly, obliging, very quick to respond to requests and just really warm and approachable.

I would have given this villa full stars if not for these - 1. The breakfast policy. Breakfast was adequate but would have been great if we could order one or two items for sharing without extra charge like most villas we've stayed at in Ubud. You can only order ONE item on the menu per person and children above 5 yrs old have to pay for breakfast even though they don't eat very much. Perhaps we were spoilt by the other villas we've stayed at who do not charge for extra beds or breakfast for young children below 6 or 8 years old.

2. The shuttle service to Ubud was nice but the return trip timings do not work for families with young children who have slightly earlier bedtimes before 10 pm. You would need to pay USD$7 per car per trip for shuttle services outside their prescribed timing. Not too expensive but again, we've been spoilt by other villas who provided on-demand shuttle services.

3. The plunge pools in the villas are really tiny, not for swimming. Only for dipping. I did expect a bigger pool for the price I paid for these villas. There was a pool for children and a slightly bigger pool for adults near the restaurant but the point of having pool villas is to be able to swim in them, no?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camelot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 247 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Bali Rich after being in Seminyak. Talk about chalk and cheese. Bali Rich was so quiet and relaxing. For the first 2 days we didn't see anyone else and it felt like we were the only people there.
Service was excellent. The staff were more than happy to please. The spa was lovely. I indulged in 2 treatments with them and was given discounted prices both times.
The villa was lovely. The bathroom was huge with a lovely big bath and shower. The private plunge pool was also great.
As the villas are in a village outside of Ubud, Bali Rich offer a free shuttle bus into town which we found very handy.
The breakfasts were lovely. We had dinner in the restaurant 1 night. It was delicious.
The only complaint we had was the roosters crowing all morning...we had a lovely chicken dinner that day...hehehe.
If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay, then book here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the villas at the end of our trip to Bali and it made a peaceful change. While a bit remote from shops and restaurants and the centre of Ubud the location is lovely and the villas very quiet. Our one bed villa was well laid out and the sun bed by the plunge pool got quite a bit of sun during the day. The plunge pool was cold but my partner used it like an cold bath to soothe his aching hips after a days walking around Ubud. The gardens at the villas are very lovely and we spent a lot of time just lazing on our four poster bed watching movies on the large flat screen tv, very relaxing. The shuttle service provided by the villas was very good and pretty much the same rate as would be paid for a normal taxi service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoCosta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Terrific staff, wonderful clean, comfortable rooms, great restaurant, pool and spa. Looked after us very well - peaceful base to travel from - able to transfer free-of-charge to Bali Rich villas Seminyak on second-last day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robynblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My friend and I spent 1 week in May 2012 at Bali Rich Villas Ubud. On our second-last day, we changed our plans and were able to transfer free-of-charge to the Seminyak Bali Rich Villas. Ubud was peaceful and beautiful, the staff wonderful - especially when my friend got very ill with a severe migraine and they arranged a doctor then a driver so I could get to a chemist etc. Our driver Made was wonderful and we took advantage of the daily 'programs' or tours to visit the volcano, zoo, monkey forest, and excellent jewellrey, batik and woodcraft merchants where we got the real deal, not fake knock-offs. The people are honest, friendly and very helpful
The villas are clean, comfortable and there is a small private plunge pool, as well as a large pool right next to the restaurant (lovely meals) and spa - pedicure, manicure, massage etc.
Would go back any time and recommend very highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robynblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found Bali Rich to be exceptionally friendly and accommodating to any request. We stayed at the end of May and they were relatively quiet, but with only 17 villas in total, I can't imagine that it ever gets busy to the point of intrusive. Standard of room, cleanliness, service, restaurant, breakfast cooked in villa, etc could not be faulted. We stayed at Bali Rich using a Deals.com voucher, and so it is probably unfair to promote the value, but it was exceptional for a private pool villa. Meal and drink prices at the restaurant were comparable or slightly higher than for similar standard restaurants in Ubud.
Other reviewers have found that they are very pushy promoting their own tours and perhaps this could be the case if you just want to do nothing, but since we did want to get out and about, we were happy to use their services and create custom itineraries that covered what we wanted to see. Price was probably a bit higher than we could have got elsewhere but was still very reasonable for a private tour.
They also organised a white water rafting trip with Graha Adventure at a reasonable discount to the normal price (paid direct to Graha, not the villa), which was very professionally run.
Location is about 15 minutes drive out of the main town. There is a shuttle that is convenient in the morning but limited in the evenings - however, you can ring them for a taxi pickup at any time for only 50,000Rp (about $5.50), which we did twice and they were very prompt on both occasions. We also took a very short taxi trip whilst in Ubud and that was 40,000Rp for only a 3 -4 km trip.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Beautiful fully equipped air conditioned private villas with your own private garden with plunge pool and spa. Set in magnificent garden setting in the cooler climate of Ubud. Relax in the beautiful decked pool area or restaurant overlooking a beautiful green tropical valley with plantations and paddy fields. The great location, only minutes away from the main Ubud market and shopping area, friendly and helpful staff together with free transport to and from the Ubud centre make this the perfect relaxing escape location.

Room Tip: All the villas are equally equipped.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipo11961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Kampung Ubud Villa
The Kampung Ubud Villa
#161 of 584 in Ubud
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ubud Green
Ubud Green
#45 of 584 in Ubud
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
1.9 mi away
Swarapadi Villa
Swarapadi Villa
#124 of 584 in Ubud
50 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Puri Darma Agung
Villa Puri Darma Agung
#118 of 584 in Ubud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud

Address: Jalan Raya Kedewatan Banjar Tanggayuda | Banjar Tanggayuda, Ubud 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bali Rich Luxury Villas Ubud)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 584 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $99 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Rich Luxury Villa & Spa Ubud is reminiscent of a traditional Balinese village where life is lived just one day at a time. The property embraces a green parcel of landscape overlooking the Wos River on the rural outskirts of Ubud. It is an area charged with spiritual energy where the legacy of local art and culture is carefully preserved. Guests are welcomed with a signature brand of hospitality and personalized services that enhance the quality of each and every stay. Bali Rich Luxury Villa & Spa Ubud is removed from the busy pace of modern living. It is a place to take time out to relax and rediscover the simple pleasures revealed by each by each new day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Rich Luxury Villas Ubud Hotel Gianyar
Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing