We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud
Ranked #78 of 570 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Peaceful”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found Bali Rich to be exceptionally friendly and accommodating to any request. We stayed at the end of May and they were relatively quiet, but with only 17 villas in total, I can't imagine that it ever gets busy to the point of intrusive. Standard of room, cleanliness, service, restaurant, breakfast cooked in villa, etc could not be faulted. We stayed at Bali Rich using a Deals.com voucher, and so it is probably unfair to promote the value, but it was exceptional for a private pool villa. Meal and drink prices at the restaurant were comparable or slightly higher than for similar standard restaurants in Ubud.
Other reviewers have found that they are very pushy promoting their own tours and perhaps this could be the case if you just want to do nothing, but since we did want to get out and about, we were happy to use their services and create custom itineraries that covered what we wanted to see. Price was probably a bit higher than we could have got elsewhere but was still very reasonable for a private tour.
They also organised a white water rafting trip with Graha Adventure at a reasonable discount to the normal price (paid direct to Graha, not the villa), which was very professionally run.
Location is about 15 minutes drive out of the main town. There is a shuttle that is convenient in the morning but limited in the evenings - however, you can ring them for a taxi pickup at any time for only 50,000Rp (about $5.50), which we did twice and they were very prompt on both occasions. We also took a very short taxi trip whilst in Ubud and that was 40,000Rp for only a 3 -4 km trip.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    88
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
149
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Beautiful fully equipped air conditioned private villas with your own private garden with plunge pool and spa. Set in magnificent garden setting in the cooler climate of Ubud. Relax in the beautiful decked pool area or restaurant overlooking a beautiful green tropical valley with plantations and paddy fields. The great location, only minutes away from the main Ubud market and shopping area, friendly and helpful staff together with free transport to and from the Ubud centre make this the perfect relaxing escape location.

Room Tip: All the villas are equally equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipo11961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

It would be hard to find fault with these villas. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. The bed was big and comfortable and the plunge pool was great and the villas were clean and spacious. I would suggest the information on the tours they conduct be clarified as we sometimes found it difficult to fully understand what was involved. maybe some printed flyers explaining what they involve, including costs, lunches etc. I know they tailor the tours to suit but we lost a bit in the translations .. We were also not quite sure how they worked as to the drivers .. it seemed whomever you spoke to about it became your tour driver, and there did seem to be some sort of competition in that regard. We felt we had offended because we spoke to one person then went and discussed it .. came back and spoke to another person and he became our driver. The first person seemed decidedly miffed with us on our return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njomangangga, Manager at Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Christine,

Warmest greeting from Bali Rich Luxury Villas & Spa Ubud...

First of all, we would like to thank you for your staying at our resort.
We are really appreciated that you have been commented on this site and we would make a flyer which it has been containing of tour itinerary, tour description and exclusion during tour program.
Basically, we have remind all drivers that they have to serve all the resident guest with harmfully and no competition in this regard. we grant that next future it will not happened anymore.

Meanwhile, we are looking forward to welcoming you back at our resort with better service in the future time.

With kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Understand that tangayudda is 15 by car outside ubud - but that's what makes the villas great in the mountain - plus hotel has shulltle buses free. Pools are a little sml but great atmosphere - beds comfy - villas clean n free painting class worth doing 9/10 n we've been to 3 villas around ubud now ;)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Addamperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njomangangga, Manager at Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Addam,

Warmest greeting from Bali Rich Luxury Villas & Spa Ubud...

First of all, we would like to thank you for your experienced staying at our resort.

It's very pleasure to hear that you have been satisfy with our service, therefore we have to more improve our service to reach fully guest satisfaction. This comment is very helpful for us and hopefully, you would come back and stay at our resort.

With kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Got the Deals.com package but then read some negative reviews so were a bit concerned. Our experience was that we needn't worried. We thought the resort was very nice and our villa particularly spacious. The one small problem with water flow in the shower was rectified immediately when we notified the staff. Am glad to see the latest posts have been very positive as that is in line with our experience. Staff were fantastic apart from one of the drivers that changed his demeanor (from friendly to indifferent) after we took up none of his suggestions for day trips with him and explained that we had arranged day trips outside the hotel at a cheaper rate. Would not normally mention something as minor as this but reading other earlier reviews that mention this as an issue it is something the management might want to address. That one driver's attitude stood out because the other two drivers we experienced were delightful. Both advised us that they were available for day trips but remained very friendly and helpful after we declined their offer. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOOra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I got Bali Rich Villa threw Deals.com and decided that we should go on a couples retreat with our close friends and OMG what can I say but we loved it, we felt very spoilt the staff were so friendly and couldn't be more helpful, when i got the deal i looked up TripAdvisor to see what peeps where saying and some were saying that the staff harassed you for tours...SO NOT TRUE... not to us anyhow we did as we pleased and the staff were happy to help when needed, there was free shuttle bus into Ubud and pick up and if you wanted a different time for 50,000rph they would pick/drop you off.- that was the normal charge in town as well. We found to use the main pool area more then the villa's as they are pretty small but the rooms are amazing just like picture, we normally stay around South Kuta but now we love Ubud, not the area if you want to party at night, more quite but great to see another side of Bali. We will be back to Bali Rich Villa thank you to the staff we loved you xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasent and enjoyable stay, villa grounds are comfortably accomodating with all the amenities required, staff are always attentive and very friendly. We would recommend this accommodation with complete satisfaction.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 196 in Ubud
373 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Kampung Ubud Villa
The Kampung Ubud Villa
#148 of 570 in Ubud
68 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gino Feruci Villa Ubud
Gino Feruci Villa Ubud
#67 of 570 in Ubud
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
1.7 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#10 of 570 in Ubud
152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Onje Resort and Villas
Onje Resort and Villas
#73 of 570 in Ubud
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud

Property: Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Raya Kedewatan Banjar Tanggayuda | Banjar Tanggayuda, Ubud 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bali Rich Luxury Villas Ubud)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 570 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Rich Luxury Villa & Spa Ubud is reminiscent of a traditional Balinese village where life is lived just one day at a time. The property embraces a green parcel of landscape overlooking the Wos River on the rural outskirts of Ubud. It is an area charged with spiritual energy where the legacy of local art and culture is carefully preserved. Guests are welcomed with a signature brand of hospitality and personalized services that enhance the quality of each and every stay. Bali Rich Luxury Villa & Spa Ubud is removed from the busy pace of modern living. It is a place to take time out to relax and rediscover the simple pleasures revealed by each by each new day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Rich Luxury Villas Ubud Hotel Gianyar
Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing