We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Bali Cooking Class with Culture Experience
58

Book in advance
from
$50.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Lobong Culinary Experience
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
946
32
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
946
32
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family compound local market cooking class balinese culture local ingredients highlight of our trip balinese home bali trip dishes indonesia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 985 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We absolutely loved our day with the super friendly family who run Lobong. We went today and I don't normally jump straight on to leave reviews, but this deserves a top rating. Easy to organise, speedy responses via email to make arrangements and we were picked up on time from our hotel. We loved the market visit, there were no other tourists and our guide shared so many insights and traditions - it was the first time we really came to understand the Bali way of life. Then it was back to the family compound for more insights into the family, the community and culture before 2 hours of hands on cooking and eating together. The food was delicious and we got the recipes to take away to try at home. I will be recommending Lobong to all of our friends heading to Bali.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Other cooking schools might be good as well - but Lobong was just perfect. Pickup was exactly on time, took us to a village market with no other tourists, welcomed us to their beautiful family compound and served us delicious fried bananas and coffee/tea. The cooking class was obviously the highlight - our instructor made sure to explain lots of details to us and get everyone involved in the cooking. After two hours of chopping and stirring, we followed the family matriarch into the compound's temple to make an offering before sitting down to eat.

The food was amazing, and on top of that, an extra treat was a little recipe book and bottle of coconut oil presented to us at the end. Lovely addition to any Ubud trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 82hannahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

What a well organized, professional and fun day!
The people at Lobong pick you at your hotel, take you to a local market, explain in depth about the ingredients you will be cooking with and then take you back to their family compound for a fun day of cooking.
The hands on instruction is great, and as someone who cooks for a living, it was instructive and informative.
This was one of the best things I did in Bali and I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in Balinese cooking and culture.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Rockit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Wow - what a fantastic day.
We were picked up at the hotel (on the minute) by the Lobong staff in the morning.
We had a friendly driver who got us safe to the market a couple of minutes away from our hotel (Puri Sebali).
The day started with a trip to the local marked, guided by "Sunday" (who spoke excellent english and was super-friendly). Our group were the only tourists there, since this was a marked used by balinese, which made it even more special.
He guided us through the marked and explained the different spices used in balinese cuisine, along with fruits and vegetables.
After a very interesting morning we were taken to their home, were also the cooking class was arranged.
This was really something special and we didn't just learn how to cook a delicious balinese meal, but also a lot about balinese culture, religion and family traditions.
This is really worth it and I would recommend it to everyone who travels to Ubud!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

I expected this to only be a cooking class. We were picked up at our hotel in the morning and driven to the traditional food market where the locals go. Had a try of some local fruits and learnt about different spices and other unfamiliar things. Then onto the family compound where we had an overview of the family structure in Bali and about all those temples. After a coffee and morning tea, we got stuck into the cooking class. In total, we prepared 7 dishes which were served up as three meals. Just prior to eating, the grandmother of the family made offerings to the shrines and her son explained to us how, why and when the offerings were made. After our extremely delicious meal, we received a recipe booklet and homemade coconut oil and rolled back to our hotel. So much fun, really interesting and delicious!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Carz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews