We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Jiwa damai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat
Ranked #114 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
“Best of Jiwa damai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at Jiwa Damai retreat from 24 February to 11 MArch and participated in the international Permaculture Design class. I am enchanted with Jiwa Damai, its location and extensive gardens, friendly caring staff and services and the professional organization of the workshop. The food was organic and mail vegetarian and prepared in avery careful and loving way. I also very much appreciated the offering of early morning Yoga, (free of charge) and the daily evening Heart mediation(free of charge) guided by Margret, the caretaker. I rate Jiwa Damai and it facilities and food excellent. The only drawback was a small group of participants which disrupted the harmony continuously by provoking conflict within the group.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanes w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
8
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Giessen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Heartbutterfly

three and a half weeks in jiwa damai
I have staid in jiwa damai from the 20.2. - 15.3. 2013 The place is
incredibly beautifull. Immediatly I came into peace and quitetness. This
place is so soft and abundend. Twelve years ago I had been here the first
time. Margret has built and developed this place and is its care taker.
Under her care this place has unfolded its beauty and the
earth has opened much more and is exuding its soft energy. Several new rooms
and littlie houses were designed by Margret tastefully, beautifull and with
love. The matrasses were very good (I have problems with my back). In the
area were less mosiktos and every bed has had a complete moskito net. Every
day the rooms were cleaned, and every four days the bedlines were renewed.
Three times a day you could have warm food if you wanted. Balines cooking,
however with diversity on vegetables and salad, different kinds of tofu,
tempe, chicken, fish etc., different excellent soups, and allways fruits.
Yoga and Meditation were offered for free. The area has different special
places to be and to relax and to come in a healing touch with nature and the
earth. If you search for a place to deepen in your true self, to find
yourself, to listen to your inner voice, and perhaps to orient yourself new,
go there. There ist nothing to do, the energy of the place works by itself.
This time I will not wait as long to come here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heartbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Jiwa Damai is a place for embracing nature, health and balance.
A typical day in Jiwa Damai starts waking up in a typical balinese Lumbung (very confortable and special). Yoga excercise, meditation and a very expected breakfast prepared by the lovely adn very talented local cook (from whom we learnt a lot!)
All the staff in Jiwa Damai are smiley, efficient and very helpful: we got invited to a local ceremony and we were introduced to a local healer by one of the members of the staff, unique experience!
Facilities are merged with the landscape, a walk following the river and around the organic permacultural gardens was a very fullfilling daily habit. Most food we had was taking from these organic gardens, form were coconuts are harvested as well to make an amazing organic coconut oil (we took some with us and we use it not only for cooking but as well as on the skin!).

The way to Ubud was a 15 minutes drive, through the rice fields, which is a beautiful view.

We really recomend it!

Room Tip: The Lumbung is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been enjoying now a 2 year training program in Transpersonal Psychology at Jiwa Damai. Our group consist of ten participants , and I am always very exited when I leave Java to go there., The place is very quiet, cool and peacefull. The room designs are based on natural concept. You can feel the fresh air, green area, hear the sound of the water, and if you lucky you can enjoy sound of the rain. It is very different than other place that I visited in Indonesia. The food is similar to the concept of the natural rooms, cooked naturally, with Balinese seasonings and very delicious. There is nearly no waste, since Jiwa Damai tries to be self sufficient.
The place is not only about room and food.The place and the program which is designed by Margret is excellent. She creates the atmosphere to learn about the basic chain of the nature. I learnt so many things in Jiwa Damai, beginning from understanding my inner self, inner potential and understanding how nature reacts to us, to our behavior, to our beliefs. Margret the owner, explains us very clearly, practically and theoritically . She supports us very caring and kindly.
I love Jiwa Damai... See you in June 2013...

Room Tip: Choose the room beside of the pool, or the room with bamboo material it will give you different expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supriadi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was in Jiwa Damai for attending the Permaculture Course which held by Jiwa Damai Foundation, it is very interesting course and more than 30 participants came, they came from many different countries and some are Balinese and Indonesian.I think this place is good for doing this kind of events ( Permaculture and other Sustainable Agriculture ).In this place, I like the garden, they grow many organic vegetables. I like the food here, I recommended you try Nasi Goreng,it is tasty. Also the teas ( lemon grass tea, ginger tea,mint tea and black tea ). The staff and Volunteers are very friendly and they are handy persons. If you want to come for relaxation purposes, you come to the right place. Jiwa Damai has organic garden surrounded by nature, here in Bali we need more places similar like this. One thing I would like to say to the owner, that she must give more opportunity for local/Balinese to come and learn about nature, sustainable agriculture,permaculture,and waste management. Nowadays, Bali needs more people who want to take care our environments. I, personally very happy that many NP0/NGO's take parts to save Bali.
Thanks
WT

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonlandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

expect everything and nothing at all .. a beautifully transcendent experience.

By grace i took the balinese lumbung home with me, thankfully for all to follow .. i only borrowed it by heart, so it still stands .. so. you can take it home too .. stay there and be surprized by all that you may find in the stillness.

beauty ~

Room Tip: do not hesitate in trying the lumbung =D
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LavidaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Short story - we loved it - we would love to go back soon again - it is the perfect organic and sustainable oasis in the heart of Bali - so it is right for you if you a) seek retreat from the mayhem that is kuta or your busy main city living, b) interested in organic / sustainable living, c) you love nature. Jiwa Damai is not for you if you seek room service, alohol, party.

My husband and I stayed unfortunately only 3 nights at Jiwa Damai. If we would have known how good it is we probably would have amended our itinerary to allow for additional days.

When you arrive at Jiwa Damai you step into a whole new world. Like this bubble of peace and serenity amidst the exciting but sometimes hectic and loud worlds of Bali. Jiwa Damai is actually a permaculture foundation that is teaching the locals about sustainable and organic living as well as educate children in schools about waste management (which is very needed). Plus they have well known names in the field of permaculture visit to teach certification seminars. Anyways, consequence of the retreat being a permaculture foundation, all food you eat there is organically home grown and prepared with love, and tastes absolutely delicious. Plus you get all day herbal teas (like lemongrass, or gingner, or mint, or all three together). Also the breakfast is amazing - try their Nasi Goreng for breakfast I loved it so much I had to eat it every day.

We stayed in one of their Balinese Lumbungs, which is this open, modern, but traditional construction or hut, where your bed is a very comfortable mattrass on the top floor that is encaged in mosquito net (so basically the whole top floor is like your bed). Because everything is open you fall asleep and wake up to the sound of frogs, to the light of the sun the moon the stars, to the sight of trees in front of the big windows. Its like being sheltered amidst nature. Each Lumbung has a really great open air hot water shower (I loved it as it is like a fountain, the water comes out of this frog).

The other great thing about Jiwa Damai is that its care taker and founder is Dr. Margret Reuffler, who also is a well known transpersonal psychologist, who developed the Heartself Intelligence Program, and is available for private sessions or workshops, as well as her publications are available. there. We did one of her introductions to Heartself Intelligence as a couple and had some profound insides that most definitely will shape the next step in our relationship.

Consequently staying in Jiwa Damai is an amazing, tranquil and rejuvenating experience.

Room Tip: if you don't like mosquitos or geckos or the potentially odd spider or if you don't like sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KindledSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
2.9 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Soulshine Bali
Soulshine Bali
#81 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Om Ham Retreat Centre
Om Ham Retreat Centre
#46 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Lotus Yoga & Meditation Centre
1.5 mi away
Ubad Retreat
Ubad Retreat
#78 of 512 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat

Property: Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat
Address: Jl. Melati 2, Ubud 80352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiwa Damai is a hands-on, socially responsible organic garden and retreat center. We are located amidst lush tropical vegetation in the heart of Bali. We provide a sanctuary in an idyllic, powerful environment where guests can experience tranquility and re-connect to the life-giving qualities of the earth. It is a meeting place for people from all over the world to find and initiate peace; to learn from each other and the land. Beautifully decorated guest rooms, a spacious lounge and dining area, a fresh water pool, several ponds and a large permaculture garden all situated within an abundant tropical vegetation make Jiwa Damai a perfect retreat place to relax in alignment with nature, learn about permaculture principles and find time for reflection and contemplation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing