We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hide-away...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat
Ranked #146 of 597 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I just wrapped up my month's stay at Jiwa Damai retreat center and feel as though I am leaving a completely changed person. The atmosphere was so conducive to really focusing on my personal growth and I learned so much from my hosts and the Balinese staff. I was here as a volunteer over the past month; the schedule was really nice and was respectful of my own personal goals as well as the goals of the center. We met every morning to practice yoga and meditation, sometimes together and when we wished, alone. We had an hour for breakfast and then three hours of making a contribution in our own unique way through both physical and creative work. Our hosts would check-in with us regularly to make sure our needs were being met, which was very unique in comparison to my other volunteering experiences. We then had two hours for lunch and met in the afternoon for two more hours of work and typically did something less labor intensive during this time. We met every night for dinner and the food was just wonderful. I think what I enjoyed most was learning from our hosts and gaining so much insight from them. We also got to attend several local ceremonies, which we would have never seen had we not been volunteering here. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and they recently told us they will be having an internship program soon as well, which I am bummed I will miss. Happy to provide more feedback!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

My family and I stayed for a week there and had a peaceful retreat that we enjoyed. The environment takes you away from the typical tourist places and offers a natural and more local feel of Bali. Yet it is less than 30 minutes from Ubud, so you're never too far from the center of attractions, if you feel like going out.

We enjoyed the chats we had with the people we met there, both locals and foreign visitors.

We like Jiwa Damai's approach to the environment by having its own organic garden and by working on plastic waste recycling. We like their social projects in Bali.

It's a peaceful and unique place, not only to stay but to experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RInaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very peaceful and picturesque - perfect for days of meditation (although beware the barking dogs on site!) and the group yoga in the morning is fun.

The food is of a high standard - very fresh and not oily like so many balinese restaurants - I have a couple of food allergies that were catered for (took a few askings - but got there in the end!). Be aware that this is not a cafe/restaurant open all day/night - it offers meals at set times of the day and is a set menu (very delicious I must say).

My friend and I slept very well here - the room was clean and beds large and comfortable.

Just to be clear - the location is out of Ubud - so if you have never been to Ubud town centre then it would be best to stay in a Hotel located there for a few days first or you will feel frustrated by travel in and out of town. You come to Jiwa Damai for a rest and to get away - not so much to explore Ubud. Although you will get to see some beautiful rice fields and a nice local town.

The most beautiful thing about this place is that money you spend here goes to local charities - a declaration that few hotels can match in Ubud.

Happy retreating!

M

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reviewer101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This property is located about 25 minutes from Ubud. The architecture is minimalist and is essentially two large pavilions set in a lotus pond. Staff is very friendly.

I was scheduled to stay in a “lumbung” - an open air two-story structure with mosquito netting for walls, but it was located on a hill and up a set of stairs, so I stayed in the Frangipani Room next to the spa room and near the pool. It had two beds, a sofa and a nice bathroom. There was also good lighting for reading. The food served is organic (and delicious!) and the vegetable gardens are also organic so there are mosquitoes. Repellent coils are available in the room.

The large pool is wonderful, fed with spring water that is very refreshing.

The center is known for its Yoga programs, but due to a staff illness, it was not available when I was there, but I was compensated with the room upgrade.

Proceeds from the retreat center fund a foundation that helps local children.

If you wish, staff will call a driver to take you to Ubud - cost is 50,000 rupiah (about $6.), but I found it difficult to get a Ubud driver to bring you back for less than 80,000 rupiah (about $9.50) and many of them are not familiar with the property. I had to ask several drivers before I found one who could bring me back to the retreat center. Make sure you take a brochure or card from the center with you if you leave the property.

This is a quiet, relaxing place to stay for a few days if you don’t need to be that close to Ubud.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I had a fabulous weekend here on my own. The retreat is so peaceful and beautiful and the food was the best vegetarian food I had eaten pretty much anywhere. Its a great place to stay if you want to feel in tune with nature, have some quiet or reflective time and relaxation. I took part in the yoga session every morning, walked the local rice fields and enjoyed the wildlife and organic garden. Margret is very nurturting and gently makes sure everyone is enjoying their stay. My room was lovely as was my massage. All in all one of the highlights of my Bali trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank griff20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Jiwa Damai is a hidden place near Ubud on Bali Island. If you are looking for a gorgeous and peaceful place to stay, you definitely have to stay in this place surrounded by nature.
The high standard rooms (for a reasonable price) are nicely arranged and decorated. And the food ... oh my good ! so delicious and 100% homemade with organic products from the garden. You can't miss it! i'm still dreaming about it!
Jiwa Damai provides retreat seminars. I attempted one of them in December 2010 about "unfolding the heartselfintelligence" which i would recommend to anyone.
I've been there twice. The first time by chance, the second time on purpose. Now i fell in love with that place.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank MathildeCousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I was planning a romantic vacation with my girl-friend and came across Jiwa Damai when I was looking for retreat centers in Bali. We are Californians, so we came to Bali to surf & enjoy the beaches. Yet when I found this secluded retreat center 20 minutes from Ubud, I knew right away this was the place for us. The room we stayed in is the Bamboo Room and we had a beautiful king-size bed, and nice bathrooms all for a very reasonable price. They have the most beautiful garden, and the staff is super friendly and approachable. We had dinner every night made by Jiwa Damai’s Balinese cook and it was delicious. If you want a place where you can relax, have your space, and feel rejuvenated, this is the place for you. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadePilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
0.4 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
2.5 mi away
Bambu Indah
Bambu Indah
#68 of 199 in Ubud
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sthala, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,221 reviews
6.2 mi away
Om Ham Retreat Centre
Om Ham Retreat Centre
#50 of 597 in Ubud
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat

Address: Jl. Melati 2, Ubud 80352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 597 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $53 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jiwa Damai is a hands-on, socially responsible organic garden and retreat center. We are located amidst lush tropical vegetation in the heart of Bali. We provide a sanctuary in an idyllic, powerful environment where guests can experience tranquility and re-connect to the life-giving qualities of the earth. It is a meeting place for people from all over the world to find and initiate peace; to learn from each other and the land. Beautifully decorated guest rooms, a spacious lounge and dining area, a fresh water pool, several ponds and a large permaculture garden all situated within an abundant tropical vegetation make Jiwa Damai a perfect retreat place to relax in alignment with nature, learn about permaculture principles and find time for reflection and contemplation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jiwa Damai Organic Garden & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing