We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with friendly and caring staff.”
Review of The Grand Sunti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Sunti
Ranked #112 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort with friendly and caring staff.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall we had a lovely stay here.. Amazing pool, beautiful grounds, and a spacious room. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Few problems though.. our bathroom and first towels weren't entirely clean (they did clean the room every day though and our new towels were always clean), and on our second day the staff informed us they were about to do "fogging" (a pest spray that covers the entire resort in a white fog) - I was really annoyed about this because they didn't give us any warning, they'd already started it when they told us about it! So we got caught in the fog it was horrible. Some notice would have been appreciated. Great location though - Ubud is wonderful and there's heaps to see! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubymerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, Management Consultant at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your stay at our resort and share your experience through tripadvisor. We learn from every comment to elevate our facilities and service quality to exceed guest satisfaction. The Sunti Ubud is owned resort and was run with family style. Now The Sunti Operate and Manage by Satyam The Bali bade Hospitality management who committed to help the local owners develop their property into an international standard service with the soul of Balinese personalized service. We do understand that takes time to retrain the employee and refurnish the property, we believe with our successful in previous property and the spirit to practice the t local genius life concept into bussiness we w ill be able to present the Balinese Holiday Experience at The Sunti Ubud. We look forward to welcoming you again next year at The new Grand Sunti Resort with more indulgence facilities and olympic size pool, Spa and all guest entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    129
    70
    14
    9
See reviews for
52
121
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived and checked out the place at first it seemed fine. We got to our room where there was a huge stain on the floor and the toilet was making a noise. It was dark and awful. The walls were paper thin and you could here everything from the street and also from the other room. We were kept up all night with someone having a coughing fit. Also they advertise their 'new' suites on the website we got an old and very dated room that was nothing like it. We only stayed there for one night (we were booked for two) and then we left. It ruined my experience of Ubud. Oh and also the toilet didn't flush in the morning and the water wasn't working properly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 1 night here and we experienced too many problems - no water, no electricity, 1 hour + for room service where the meal selected was 'finished'. The complex is good, great location and the rooms are clean and modern. Pools are good. Simple and cost effective within walking distance to Monkey Forest and town. The ARMA across the road has a great cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiMelbourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnlandBali_12, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Honestly, what had been happened to this customer was previously unthinkable, that was came suddenly.

We had taken quick action for solving the problem but however that was spend a lot of time,
Actually we did compensation for them to keep late check-out at another room on the last day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed three nights at the Sunti Ubud and had a good experience. It's about a half hour walk from the center of town (they will take you in, I think—I walked it). To me this was a plus; it was quiet, close to several good restaurants (try Taco Casa, believe it or not), close to the art museum (wonderful place), 5 min. walk from the Monkey Forest. Also, if you walk out the Jalan Goa Gajah, you'll see some terrific wood and stone workshops. Pool is small and not heavily used, and some rooms have little patios/balconies that are really pleasant in the evening. Only real negative I found was that the shower was designed in such a way that it was almost impossible to stop water from spilling onto the floor. If you're used to Indonesian bathrooms, which are generally wet, this isn't an issue, but a mobility-impaired guest might find the floor dangerously slippery. Airport pickup cost 250,000 rupiah; the driver and his friends offered to take me around during other parts of my stay in Bali as well, and since the prices seemed fair I took them up on it and got some great recommendations. You can probably find fancier, more convenient, or more purely charming places in Ubud, but this one did the job.

Room Tip: Probably the farther from the road, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Westayed here for one night. We arrived and the reception was a little frosty. We had requested a twin room but they gave us a king bed. So we insisted on a twin and we got a mattress on the floor. Some rooms have been renovated but roughly done. Hotel is clean and rooms have all the necessary amenities. The hotel has two pools. We had lunch at the restaurant and it was terrible. My tuna steak was like cardboard. Breakfast was fresh and ok. Ok if the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, General Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We also would like to apologies if we have made your holiday uncomfortable and rest assured that is not our intension.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at the Sunti for 3 nights in July 2012. I have to say that the staff were excellent escpecially the hotel manager who managed to track down my taxi for me after I realised 10 minutes later that my laptop briefcase had been left behind. The room was large and clean although the bathroom was showing a little bit of age - no problem really as it was clean.
The hotel is situated next to some great restaurants such as the arma cafe across the road.
It is also a five minute walk from the monkey forest and situated quite close to everything you'll want to see and do in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank someone_in_the_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a special deal for a super deluxe room....but our 100 euro was worthing much more! Even if clean and central, we would not recommand rhe Sunti for more than a night. No problem for us, the staff was very nice but Ubud is full of better deals. 10 minutes walking (south) from the monkey forrest. Poorest breakfast we had in Bali. Said that, the room was big, clean and giving directly on a small swimming pool. In a road with many shops and services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, General Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We also would like to apologies if we have made your holiday uncomfortable and rest assured that is not our intension.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#91 of 198 in Ubud
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#67 of 198 in Ubud
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#103 of 198 in Ubud
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#148 of 198 in Ubud
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Sunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Sunti

Property: The Grand Sunti
Address: Pengosekan Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Sunti Ubud Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#70 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#91 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Sunti 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sunti, located only 5 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, is the ideal home to explore Ubud in all its beauty including its rich cultural heritage and natural environment. Visit the traditional village and experience the true Balinese Lifestyle. Offering 52 Balinese and contemporary designed rooms with 8 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 32 Super Deluxe Rooms. Enhance the Ubud lifestyle, visit the Ubud monkey forest, walking through Monkey Forest Road with various restaurants and shops. Come back to the resort then Relax and sunbathing by the pool or hanging at The Cafe in front of the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Sunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunti Ubud Hotel Ubud
The Grand Sunti Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing