We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Sunti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Sunti
Ranked #105 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I am at a loss to understand the moans and winges of previous reviewers. We were met at the airport at gone midnight! We stayed in a Superior Deluxe room by the back pool. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable and well maintained. OK the bathroom was inclined to flood when taking a shower, but with a little common sense that could be avoided (and I didn't have to clean it up!). Towels and toiletries were replenished daily. The bedding changed every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.( I have stayed in bigger better hotels where the staff were very unhelpful). Some of their English was poor, but we got there in the end. Breakfast was OK. Eggs as you wanted them, bacon, tomatoes, toast etc. The lunch and dinner menu was adequate, but we always ate outside. We left at 6am, and were given a breakfast box for the plane. I thoroughly recommend this resort. Not really suitable for children as the only amenity for them was the pools (Two).

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe at the back by the pool, quiet at night. Not much extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineL415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    126
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
50
116
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and booked through agoda. We had a superior room, located on the first floor over looking the main (vey small)pool. Checking in was OK, the room on first impression, was ok!!!!!!. From there it was down hill. The room or bathroom had a very bad smell in it after the shower was used, trying to get out of the shower along with the amount of water around the floor made or could make this very dangerous. We lost the water totally on one day, then the next day it had air blockages causing water to spray all over the place.The tiles at the back of the shower had mould and the whole bathroom was in a real need of a upgrade. The pool although small was ok, had to find the pool towels ourselves and l thought that this was also an area that the hotel was very poor.

The location is a bit out of town and in our minds too far to be considered if you do not have transport. The hotel does have a car to drop you in the town but we took the punt and hired a scooter from the many close by and had no problems.

On a positive note we did find the kitchen staff very curtouse and went out of their way to help. The breakfast menu is a fixed menu and very little options but ok!!!!!!!. On looking around Ubud there are too many to mention better options than this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dicke-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, General Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We also would like to apologies if we have made your holiday uncomfortable and rest assured that is not our intension.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a superior deluxe room overlooking the back pool as well. The rooms were spotless and everything seemed brand new, lovely pools and service was outstanding. Beds were super comfortable. Really liked the nice touch of free unlimited bottles of water from the bar upon request. The bathrooms looked lovely but unfortunately were terribly designed so that any time you turn the tap on in the sink it went all over you and the floor! also the shower flooded the entire bathroom floor. But overall this didn't bother me too much as the rest was so nice. Breakfast was basic but again service outstanding.
The location is wonderful for the ARMA art museum which is a lovely place to spend the day, and there is also a really cheap spa across the road (Made's) which do great Balinese massages for 60000 (USD6).
30000 (USD3) for a car into town (we couldn't find any official taxis so just negotiated with local drivers who were offering to take us.)
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Ellie_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Had a Superior Deluxe room overlooking the back pool. Lovely large room, very nice breakfast and staff very helpful. Short walk to Monkey Forest but probably best to take 5 min taxi to centre.
Would certainly recommend if looking for a reasonably priced place.
We were there in "off season" which we found fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerarddaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The pool and rooms are lovely. Wish there was a bit more soundproofing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfeld0ax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at The Grand Sunti Ubud!

We hope you and your love one have had a wonderful and enjoyable time at our resort and will come back for more.

We are really grateful that you spend your valuable time by giving us all the point and feedback during your stay with us so that we can improve our service for the benefit of our guest in future.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support towards The Grand Sunti Ubud !

Best Personal Regards,

Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very friendly staff, nice rooms (spacious rooms, good (hot) showers, good bed), free wifi,awesome breakfast (American/Indonesian) and only a few minutes away from the monkey forest and Monkey Forest Road! Had a wonderful stay for two nights! Had a pick-up from the airport in Denpasar which only took less than 1 hour (at night).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AroundTheGlobe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed here form 2 nights recently and were disappointed with our room and the service. We were travelling light, but felt that there was much space to store suitcases and belongings and, strangely, no hooks to hang anything in the bathroom, even towels. Also, the TV reception kept cutting out.

The staff looked confused and overwhelmed whenever we asked about something and we were even told to come back later by one lady at reception who didn't seem to really be working for the hotel, even though she was the only one on duty.

The hotel really is only a 10 minute walk to the central part of Ubud, but the sidewalks in Ubud are not in great shape so it's not really a great place for walking around. You're better off staying closer to Monkey Forest Road.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask not to be put in a room overlooking the pool. The staff were not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We also would like to apologies if we have made your holiday uncomfortable and rest assured that is not our intension.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#89 of 195 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#69 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#112 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Sunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Sunti

Property: The Grand Sunti
Address: Pengosekan Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Sunti Ubud Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#67 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#86 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Sunti 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sunti, located only 5 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, is the ideal home to explore Ubud in all its beauty including its rich cultural heritage and natural environment. Visit the traditional village and experience the true Balinese Lifestyle. Offering 52 Balinese and contemporary designed rooms with 8 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 32 Super Deluxe Rooms. Enhance the Ubud lifestyle, visit the Ubud monkey forest, walking through Monkey Forest Road with various restaurants and shops. Come back to the resort then Relax and sunbathing by the pool or hanging at The Cafe in front of the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Sunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunti Ubud Hotel Ubud
The Grand Sunti Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing