We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, but great location and surroundings”
Review of Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Inn
Ranked #290 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor service, but great location and surroundings”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had booked for 3 nights initially in a standard room but when we arrived the standard rooms were full and they kindly put us in a deluxe bungalow, which was supposed to be 200,000 more for the same price. We ended up staying for 6 nights as the location was great; everything is close by but you are far enough from the road for it to be quiet. The gardens and the rice fields are beautiful, and it was lovely sitting on the balcony having breakfast, which was very nice. However, in the 6 days we stayed there our room was cleaned once. We continually had to ask for new toilet roll and the towels looked like they had seen much better days. The bed was quite hard but the sheets were very soft so I didn't mind too much. The staff were friendly but no-one really seemed to have a clue what was going on and everytime you needed something there never seemed to be anyone around. I wonder if the service would have been the same even if we were paying 350,00 a night. The moped rental is cheap however and there are loads of places to get decent tours from nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    64
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
71
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here back in August. Thankfully we only paid for one night via Agoda. For the price we were expecting something quite nice but the rooms were nothing special at all. Old, tired bedding, worn bed, and dirty bathroom. The staff were ok but we were woken by a family in the room next to us at around 11pm as they were having a very loud conversation and since the rooms were not sealed it was almost as if they were in our room. All of this in itself can be expected in Bali but at the price we paid definitely not. We walked further down the road the next day and got something similar but newer for half the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Swan Inn architecture and surroundings are beautiful and tranquil, and you feel like you are experiencing a real Balinese life by staying next to owners' family home.
We loved sitting in front of our room for a good breakfast and enjoy the garden view. However, the room itself and cleanliness needs more attention. It was not a very comfortable stay because the room was dank, bed was hard, and the towels were worn-out although clean. The children and karaoke noises from the family home did affect our sleep too.
But I must say the staff and owner were indeed very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YTHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money, friendly helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Really nice tranquil garden. I'd recommend getting a garden view room, they are bigger brighter and cleaner, with a porch that overlooks the garden - perfect for relaxing. Location is convenient too on monkey forest road. Can also rent mopeds cheaply from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Each of the rooms are small bungalows with the main room and basic bathroom. The room was ok (in any case we hardly spent any time in the room as we were visiting Ubud). The gardens of the hotel were amazing, and full of peace... very quiet.

Breakfast was served outside your room (where you had a small entrance terrace).

We loved the experience!

Clearly, for the price we payed for the hotel we were not expecting luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdecaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We had booked for 6 nights and stayed only one. The room was dank and dirty and something set my asthma off so much so i found it hard to breath. After a sleepless night we decided it was best to pay for the cancelation and move on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

i think this place its good for rest and relaxing, kindly staff. good breakfast. only one is in this place there is no tv, but for a very good sleep quality. so quite place. and also cheap room. I stayed two nights and i miss that place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulusNuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud View Bungalows
Ubud View Bungalows
#141 of 555 in Ubud
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#17 of 555 in Ubud
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#25 of 555 in Ubud
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puji Bungalow
Puji Bungalow
#57 of 555 in Ubud
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duana's Homestay
Duana's Homestay
#79 of 555 in Ubud
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Inn

Property: Swan Inn
Address: Monkey Forest Road | Wisnu Lane, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Ubud
Swan Inn Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing