We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Casa Luna Class”

Casa Luna Cooking School
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.25*
and up
Bali Cooking Class with Private Transfer
Ranked #16 of 46 Food & Drink in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1989, The Casa Luna Cooking School is Bali's most renowned cooking school. Set in the lush grounds of Honeymoon Guesthouse in Jalan Bisma, classes run 7 days a week and include a vegan class, smoked duck twilight class, market tours, food tours and daily sessions. Learn the secret language of spices from our experienced teachers and taste a world of exotic Balinese flavours. Fresh hibiscus tea is served on arrival followed by a discussion about spices, the preparation of all the ingredients, ending in a delicious, memorable feast.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed January 22, 2018

This cooking class is perfect for those who want to get to know the local flavour and culture of Balinese food.

Laid back and relaxed from beginning to end you ease into the schooling of fantastic combinations of the spices and flavours Bali has to offer. As a non-foodie-foodie, I hardly noticed I was actually doing some real cooking.

Janet delivered an enormous amount of cooking, historical and cultural knowledge throughout the class in an effortless fashion that you would only expect from a long term local.

When we all sat down to taste our delicious labours, Janet sat with us and engaged in delightful and insightful conversation that really left us with a lovely taste in our mouths. A must do in Bali.

As an aside you should definitely try the Indonesian lemon grass and fish soup at the Casa Luna restaurant, just divine and the staff are warm and friendly too!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Brendon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fragrantrice, Owner at Casa Luna Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

Thanks so much Brendon for your super kind and comprehensive review. Really thrilled you enjoyed the class so much! I enjoyed it too. And I'm glad you loved the fish soup at Casa Luna. It's based on a soup I ate in Banda Neira. Try this recipe. Traditionally it includes sliced nutmeg fruit!

Maluku Fish Soup

2 tbs oil
4 lemongrass, bruised and tied into knots
5 lime leaves
9 red shallots, sliced lengthwise
7 garlic cloves, sliced lengthwise, finely
1-2 mild red chilli, sliced finely
2 cups water or fish stock
40gms galangal, smashed
10 wild starfruit, sliced in rings or 1 tbs lemon juice
1 kg fish such as trevally, snapper, sliced into 5cmx5cm pieces
2 tomatoes, sliced into 8
kemangi or Thai basil, chopped
sea salt

Heat the oil over a medium flame. Fry the lemongrass with the
lime leaves for about one minute, tossing them around until the oil is fragrant. Add the red shallots and garlic and fry for 20 seconds, making sure they don’t burn, then add the mild chilli. Add the water or stock and bring to the boil, then lower to a simmer. Toss in the wild starfruit or lime juice.
Add the fish and lower the heat. Simmer gently for 2 minutes trying not to let it break up.
Please don’t overcook it! Then add the sliced tomato and cook for 2 minutes.
Before serving add a handful of chopped lemon basil. Check seasonings. You can add a drop of fish sauce at the end for a more fishy flavour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hibiscus tea"
in 19 reviews
"market tour"
in 38 reviews
"smoked duck"
in 9 reviews
"balinese food"
in 18 reviews
"vegetarian class"
in 6 reviews
"fish curry"
in 5 reviews
"honeymoon guest house"
in 4 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 8 reviews
"mee goreng"
in 8 reviews
"wonderful teacher"
in 3 reviews
"cookery class"
in 3 reviews
"great class"
in 3 reviews
"learned how"
in 3 reviews
"local market"
in 7 reviews
"fruit"
in 8 reviews
"our honeymoon"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 256 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2017

Such a wonderful experience!
We came in the afternoon and cooked a few dishes with the most wonderful teacher (i have forgotten her name now, but she made the whole experience extra special!) We drank hibiscus tea, and learned not just how to cook the food, but we also learnt a lot about the life in Bali and how the people live.
When i return, i plan to go again and learn even more, it was a really great way to immerse yourself in Bali life, highly recommend!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Soph_Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fragrantrice, Owner at Casa Luna Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review! Yukde was your teacher (Gusti Made). And she's an absolute comedian. At the Casa Luna cooking school we pride ourselves on being, not only super informative, but also, hilarious, so thanks so much for rolling with the punches! Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

Bit doubtful about the fish curry but honestly some of the best food I tasted in Bali and I made it! All the food was delicious - spicy but not for spicy sake. The lady teaching us was hilarious, cracking jokes but also explaining the uses of all the herbs and spices and the differences between them and when to use which one. Who knew there was 4 types of ginger! Absolute great activity.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Lovepeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fragrantrice, Owner at Casa Luna Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks so much for enjoying the cooking class. I agree that the fish curry is delicious and the best thing is that it's made fresh for your enjoyment. And yes the teacher is an absolute comedian. A joy! Hope to see you again. Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

I found the casa luna cooking school a wonderful experience Janet De Neefe has set it up very well and its great to learn about the local cooking for me it was good as I'm a chef

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank michaeledkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fragrantrice, Owner at Casa Luna Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks Michael for enjoying the class - and even bigger compliment coming from a chef! Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I did the duck cooking class some time ago. Would love to do this again sometime in the future. Teacher was very knowledgeable and taught the entire class new skills

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fragrantrice, Owner at Casa Luna Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Dear Shannon. Thanks so much for your super kind review. We hope to see you again in Bali soon! Best Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Luna Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Casa Luna Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing