We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our 1st meal in Ubud” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pignou di Penyu - CLOSED

Pignou di Penyu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Phone: +62-361 972577
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“our 1st meal in Ubud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

not the best nasi goreng which we were craving, but the entree we had was very nice satay platter and spring rolls, nice little place though

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    13
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Mmm, onion soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Have eaten here twice. The onion soup (with cheese crouton) is delicious. The Nasi Goreng was also nice. Basic decor, but pleasant enough. Service okay.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lautrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Honest French fare in big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We passed by for lunch and were surprised by the menu with some real French items on the list that reflect passion for food. The atmosphere is pleasant and informal with friendly service. The food comes in big portions, no space left for dessert. One of the dishes we had was a plate for two (would have been enough for the whole family) with mixed dishes, incl e.g. Filled rabbit, rilette, but also some very nice salads. One of the kids had gnocchi which was also very tasty. As in a real French restaurant, the owner is prsent and enjoying the food herself. All in all a good experienc, not top-notch, certainly not 'nouvelle cuisine' with its mini-portions but homest French fare.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pdv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“another best kept secret in Ubud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I must say that I was amazed with this small restaurant. Located in the small alley of jalan goutama ubud, pignou di penyu looked very ordinary. nothing special really. small. no sparkle. not warm. there were couple of people speaking in french while the balinese waiters were chatting at the back of the resto. very informal.

I was visiting his place late afternoon and i hadnt had my lunch, so i ordered quite a heavy meal, nasi goreng a la francaise. and i was surprised. it was modified Indonesian Fried Rice, with French twist. Butter, load of cheese, mushroom, green beans and chicken. A very heavy stuff and it came in very generous portion. Priced at less than 6 bucks this meal is not only awesome but a real bargain.

The next day I came again, and this time i'd like to have the stuffed rabbit. Too bad the waitress said that I had to wait since the chef was still sleeping. hahaha. I love this place! so natural. Too bad i did not have much time so I left.

Next time I visit Ubud, this place will definitely be my primary target. yumm

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ariavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Real French Food, Nice French Ex-Pat Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I don't always seek out french food outside of France but this place does an excellent job of offering typical french food as well as indonesian dishes with a French flair. I had Nasi Goreng Bebek (Duck Fried Rice) $5.00. There was an interesting french flavor in the rice, maybe butter was used instead of the more typical canola or coconut oil. There's a lot of Nasi Goreng in Bali cafes but this one stood out as better than average.

There were several French people eating here and drinking wine with their meals which I took as a good sign. Ketut the waiter spoke good english as well as french. He's been a waiter there for 5 years and is more attentive than the average Balinese server which was a pleasant surprise.

Pour Bali c'etait un bon marche et delicioux.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheZenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing