We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Paon Bali Cooking Class tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Paon Bali Cooking Class
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (3,862)
Filter reviews
3,862 results
Traveler rating
3,564
203
56
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,564
203
56
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puspa's home rice aunty puspa market tour yellow sauce cooking school ubud market wonderful hosts cooking experience dietary requirements fruit cooking course recipe book welcome drink food market gado gado learn how
Filter
Updating list...
3,203 - 3,208 of 3,862 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2011

It is clear that Puspa and Wayan have built their business on a base of love of Bali and cooking, and they and their whole family made us feel right at home immediately. The highlight of the day was certainly the cooking, where we prepared nine dishes. This was the best food we had in Bali during our stay!!
We had a group of ten, and there was lots of hand-on cooking to be done! "Aunty Puspa" and her staff were very good at explaining all the steps and ensured that everyone got a turn at cooking (and taste testing!) all of the dishes. We received a printed copy of the recipes, and tonight on our first night home from Bali, we tried to re-create Puspa's clear mushroom soup - not quite right without the fresh kaffir lime leaves (we plan to create our own Balinese vegetable garden just like Puspa's!).
We loved Puspa's tour of the market and being able to ask all those silly questions you've always wanted to ask (what is that spiky fruit?!), and also loved being entertained by Wayan with his explanation of rice harvesting.
I would highly recommend this class to anyone visiting Bali.

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank Polly6034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We enjoyed the hospitality of Wayan and Puspa in their intimate cooking class. It was the highlight of our visit to Ubud. They both exude personality, spark and ensure that everyone understands a bit about the markets, rice growing, family living conditions and especially how to prepare, cook and eat delicious, fresh and ultra Balinese foods. We highly recommend this not only for the food, but for the wonderful delight of being entertained in a real Balinese home with real and enthusiastic hosts. Thanks for a fabulous experience!!

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank JuJu2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Really enjoyed it! A wounderful couple , Wayan and Puspa, who were hosting us there in their own house, were full of energy and sense of humour and let us know a bit more of their own way of living! It was not a cooking class only, but a sort of combination of cultural experience, great fun and great lunch! Would recommend it to everybody!

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank SlowBreathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This course is absolutely excellent. The hosts, Wayan and Puspa, are a genuinely delightful couple who welcome you into their beautiful home and share with you a fascinating insight into Balinese life. The market visit is so interesting and fun, the descriptions of life in the village and how this is mirrored across Bali is one of the best memories from our trip to Bali - it gives a real understanding of Balinese life that adds to the enjoyment of being on such a wonderful island. The variety of dishes cooked is excellent. We had a little production line going in the gaden kitchen and Puspa explained excellently how the dishes were coming together. Everything was delicious and it was a truly wonderful experience and day out. I would have one small criticism - there were 18in our group, and I feel that was slightly too many - a few people didn't get a chance to do much more than a bit of veg chopping - and eating of course. I think a limit of around 12 would be better, but that's being really picky! Highly recommended, and you get to take all the receipes away too in a beautifully presented folder.

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank GeorgiaExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

what a wonderful day and experiece this was. been to Bali many times and at the end of this (26 day) trip, decided to attend this cooking class with my sister and our 16yo daughters. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Our hosts, Puspa and Wayan, both such beautiful, humble people with a lovely sense of humour, take you into their home and their hearts. at the end of the class you get to eat all that was mad, what a feast.
I might also add that the cost of this was a lot less than most of the other cooking classes.
Since returning to Australia I have cooked a few dishes I learnt and they turned out beautifully.

Date of experience: April 2011
1  Thank Chery711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews