We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Paon Bali Cooking Class tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Paon Bali Cooking Class
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (3,864)
Filter reviews
3,864 results
Traveler rating
3,566
203
56
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,566
203
56
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puspa's home rice aunty puspa market tour yellow sauce cooking school ubud market cooking experience wonderful hosts dietary requirements fruit cooking course recipe book welcome drink food market gado gado learn how
Filter
Updating list...
3,235 - 3,240 of 3,864 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Great day five stars from us. The market and rice paddy tour starts off the day well then you learn a little about their culture beliefs and such like. Then the cooking it is so much fun Puspa, Wayan and the rest of the staff, as well as all the other people you meet from so many different areas and back grounds make it so much fun and the food is just wonderful. Can't wait to try a few reciepes when we get back to Perth, even had a vegetarian dish that I never thought could taste so good. If your only a little bit into food this is a must do it is brilliant. Thanks Honey Bunny

Date of experience: March 2011
Thank crewzin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Paon Bali Cooking Class was one of the best activities we did in Bali.  Don't be mistaken by the title. It is more than a cooking class.  Wayan provides free pickup at your hotel in Ubud. From there you stop at his family's personal rice paddy where he explains the process of making rice from growing the plants to maintaining them all the way to harvesting and cooking the rice.  The paddies themselves are a beautiful green-yellow during March and this was a perfect time to take pictures.

After touring the paddies Wayan's wife Puspa was our personal guide through the local food markets where she explained the differences between strainers and hats, spices and herbs, and fruits and vegatables.  

The cooking class itself was bomb!  Puspa, an expert chef, was very detailed in every step with documentation to accompany every recipe. There was about nine of us in the group and everyone had a chance to participate. I am slightly incompetent when it comes to food preparation and especially onion chopping but luckily there were other staff members to help out. The end dishes were, seriously, the most delicious Balinese dishes you've ever had in your life. There was chicken, rice, curry sauce, peanut sauce, vegetables and dessert beyond this world. 

One of the most valuable parts of the class though is just being taken inside their home. It was really fascinating to learn about the architecture of their house and the traditions of Balinese families. We would highly recommend Paon Bali Cooking Class to anyone visiting Bali!!

Thank JenAndMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The Paon Cooking Class was one of our best experiences in Bali. The hosts/teachers, Puspa and Wayan were very kind, and personable. We not only got a lesson in Balinese cooking but were given some history and background about the Balinese people and their culture.

After an informative visit to the local market, there was plenty of hands-on experience with prepping items for the various food items that were on the menu. Myself and my girlfriend had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed every single food item which we ate for lunch once done.

We are so glad that we were able to fit the class into our vacation and will definitely be using the recipes to try our hand at making the items on the menu at home. Again, the class was one of the most memorable things we did in Bali and I highly recommend it. We had a ball!

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank somuchworldtosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Puspa and Wayan host a state-of-the-art cooking class with a morning tour of Ubud market, a real rice paddy, and a hands-on 8-course meal and cooking class. You cook in a traditional Balinese house, and the food was probably the best we tasted in Bali. It's true when they say a homecooked meal tastes better. You see what effort and intricacy and love goes into the food, and Puspa and Wayan teach you in a way so it's easily manageable and you can cook it at home. We didn't even eat dinner that evening because the lunch was so full and satisfying. A true highlight to our Bali trip!

Date of experience: March 2011
Thank travelandadventure24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

If you want a cooking class in Ubud you MUST do this. Everything on the day was fantastic. From the markets to the rice paddies and the time we spent at their house Puspa and Wayan were so happy to be sharing their knowledge with us.
We learnt so much more than just food and cooking.
A complete package.
Will definitely be doing this again on our next visit.

Date of experience: March 2011
Thank katonsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews