We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, avoid, avoid”
Review of Guest House Kudos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest House Kudos
Ranked #339 of 615 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I will simply state the facts:
1. the room was dirty
2. there was one sheet on the bed
3. the comforter was filthy by any standard
4. the bath tub was grimy and needs to either be cleaned or replaced
5. the whole room smelled of mould and mildew
6. breakfast was a partly cooked pancake, supposedly banana
7. front desk staff were not happy to provide any sort of service
8. no bargain, even if it were free

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Easy: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at this guesthouse and really liked the relaxing and quiet atmosphere. The rooms are big and clean, with tv, fridge, hot water. You can make yourself some tea or coffee. Outside we had a terrace for breakfast or just to sit outside for reading, internet etc. with a nice view over the rice paddies.
The 2 boys from the staff and the manager are really friendly and helpfull.
It's a little bit far from Ubud centre, but if you like a walk every day you can walk in 20 min. to the centre on a cosy road with not to much traffic.
There is a nice restaurant with good Japanese/Indonesian food on 5 min. walk. It's called Bintang restaurant. And if you don't want to go out for dinner, you can also order food from different restaurants and they will bring it to the guesthouse.
Don't forget to pay some attention to the lovely (and still young) dog, the black Labarador. We walked him a few times (but you need to be strong).

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucAnna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

If your overall expectations for cleanliness and service are high but you don’t want to break the bank then Guesthouse Kudos is the place to stay. Kudos is located about 2 KM north of Ubud and its location in the rice paddies is perfect. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised at what a spotlessly clean and lovely place Kudos was. I booked directly through Kudos by email on their website and took advantage of their 5 night (1/2 price) discount. It was well worth it. Yes it is a bit of a walk from town, especially when it’s hot out, but the walk is relatively easy, scenic, and traffic is minimal compared to other destinations in Bali. Taking a taxi back from town was easy and cheap. We did use the swimming pool daily and it was WELL worth it. It’s a 100 meter walk down the road and the owners of the other guesthouse know you are from Kudos and are welcoming and happy to have you there. Ani and her staff were fantastic. It took a couple encounters for Ani to really warm up to us but after that she couldn’t do enough for us. She was helpful, knowledgeable, and accommodating. There are a couple restaurants in the area which is good when you don’t want to walk back to town. Air con. worked great in the room. Breakfast was good. My only complaints are that the bathroom in our room could use a renovation. Also, on our last night some people moved into the room next to us. I could hear them and it was enough to lose sleep. Their voices seemed to echo through the ceiling. I'm not sure if this is a problem in other rooms or just ours. Other than that I would stay at Kudos again and I would (and have) recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Sometimes you hear people say you don't need A/C in Ubud because it's in the mountains and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceangril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was an excellent spot we found on trip advisor but were unsure at the time as it had very few reviews. That is just because is is fairly new. It is a beautiful little family run hotel with fantastic staff. The lady that runs it is extremely friendly and helpful but not overbearing in the least, she helped us with numerous things such as restaurant suggestions, speaking Indonesian on phone to help us, let us use the front desk computer for Internet and Skype and was very kind to our children. The rooms are quite big with satellite tv, AC and and it sits ovely looking the beautiful rice fields of UBUD.

It is about a 15-20 minute walk from town which is quite easy or a cheap taxi ride. Plus you have use of a pool at a nearby guesthouse which I stess you should use, outdoor infinity pool overlooking rice fields. Breakfast is also included.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graveatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We couldn't be happier with our stay in Kudos guesthouse in Ubud. We were looking for a place with a reasonable price (under 400,000 rupiah/$40 per night) during the high summer season, but found other guest houses in town to be fully booked or too expensive.

The most important criteria we had for a guesthouse was cleanliness, and Kudos certainly met that. The bathroom and spacious rooms were well cleaned everyday. Ani was very helpful and friendly and speaks great english. Her dog, Amo, was so fun to play with. She can also arrange a car rental for day trips. The breakfast was fine and met the standard for Bali--eggs/pancake.

Kudos is 20-25 minute walk from town through rice fields. The walk is not too taxing even after a full day of walking. Once, we took a taxi back at night and paid 30,000 for 5 people. Its location away from town offered us serene and beautiful countryside surroundings. You can hear the frogs, crickets and ducks, which added to the charm of the place. Although, once you are back at the hotel, the food options are limited. We ate at restaurant called Bintang that sells pretty decent indonesian and japanese food.

Overall, we were delighted at our stay in Kudos and recommend it to anyone who's going to Ubud on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scubadiver14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms were not as nice as we had expected and the swimming pool which is advertised is not within the hotel compound but about 150 meters down the road which means that we never used it. However, the place is very clean and the staff is so nice and helpful that it made the experience very pleasant. They helped us to rent scooters, held out suitcases until we left late at night and were generally very relaxed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliana1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent 5 nights here end of July and that entitled us to a free airport pick up - well worth having as the taxi back was 250K Rupiah, fairly expensive for Bali. Price was reasonable since although a small establishment (6 rooms) the facilities and quality of accommodation were excellent as were the views of the surrounding rice paddy fields. we loved the traditional dance shows in the area and the incredibly romantic restaurants and bars tucked away in unexpected places. It is deep in the countryside so don't be surprised to get woken by cock a doodle doo!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinnies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1.8 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.6 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
153 reviews
4.4 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Kudos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kudos

Address: Jalan Suweta | Bentuyung Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 615 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $24 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Kudos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house Kudos is located in an area which is regarded as the cultural centre of Bali. This area is famous as an arts and crafts hub. The town and nearby villages consist of countless artists' workshops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guest House Kudos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Kudos Hotel Ubud
Guest House Kudos Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing