We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and excellent food”
Review of Putu's Wild Ginger

Putu's Wild Ginger
Ranked #21 of 840 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Putu's Wild Ginger is built out of love. Love that Putu and her husband, Nyoman, want to share with you. If you're coming through Ubud, swing by for the best home-cooked meal on the island. Reservations (by phone or email) strongly recommended. Please give 24 hours notice if you'd like to try Putu's famous smoked duck feast.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal - can only recommend people going to this wonderful family-run place. A little hidden from the main road - but a hidden jewel!

Thank Henriette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 386 of 787 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Suberb, low-key restaurant. They really make you feel like you are in their home. Food was just excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seattleskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owner at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had this restaurant recommended to us by our accommodation owner. The service was outstanding and so very friendly. The owners both came to chat with us as we ate our delicious meals, commenting on everything from the food to the local customs and religious festivals. Their 'Ginger Fizz' drink was both refreshing and extremely good. A little jewel in a quiet street well worth the visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casscd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owner at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thanks for coming. Hope to see you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We preordered the duck on other reviewers recommendation and it was well worth it. Duck comes with many delicious sides, sambals, green beans, delicious chicken sate and crumbed pork. Bring a big appetite! The owner was very also friendly. Highly recommend the duck!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nanya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I read about their possible not opening in other reviews, so write beforehand to ask, it is confirmed that the warung will be open, but when I come as I said in the mail, there is no one.
The duck feast is pricy, but I am not to say about the quality of food, since I do not even get the chance to taste it.

1  Thank lauraking0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owner at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We're so sorry we missed you! The restaurant is open 6 days a week for dinner, closed on Saturdays. If you're still in town, we'd love to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Putu's Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing