We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Duck”
Review of Putu's Wild Ginger

Putu's Wild Ginger
Ranked #19 of 731 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Putu's Wild Ginger is built out of love. Love that Putu and her husband, Nyoman, want to share with you. If you're coming through Ubud, swing by for the best home-cooked meal on the island. Reservations (by phone or email) strongly recommended. Please give 24 hours notice if you'd like to try Putu's famous smoked duck feast.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Duck”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ordered the duck feast that included satays, curry, vegetables and of course the smoked duck that took all day to prepare. The smoked duck simply fell off the bones, delicious. The restaurant is tiny, only three tables, the setting is quaint and the owner is a delight and all very affordable. One of the best meals I had in Bali.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    131
    38
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“well, the truth is that yes, it is the best food in town !”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

we had diner at Putu's last night as a family of 5
we had a really great and wonderful experience and i just can recommend to visit this little but yet amazing warung. Just don't forget to book because it is very small and limited seating.
you actually will not be seating in a restaurant but as a guest of Putu's family.
she arranged a "rijstaffel" with a sample of the menu, and we were all wowed !
the kecap chicken and the kecap pork are just out of this world, was so good that we had to ask for a second round of both...you can understand where the BBQ sauce we are used to comes from, just can regret that the finesse of the original got lost on the way...
for desert we had wonderfully crispy and fondant Pisang Goreng
if you want to feel like you are part of Bali's soul, even for just the time of a diner, visit Putu immediately !
Thanks again Putu, will visit you again for sure

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owners at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks so much. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to eat and enjoy”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very well presented food.. delicious simple menu - the watermelon juice is yummy! A friendly place - small with very pretty setting in a quiet street. Enjoy the sound of the frogs in the water pond while you savour the flavours of Bali.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shazar_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owners at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendation. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful family”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We tried Wild Ginger after reading reviews on Trip Adviser and were not disapointed.
Nyoman and Putu were very welcoming, especially as we had our daughter and her 15 months old son with us as his name is also Putu.
Food was excellent and the "Ginger Fiz" was out of this world.
They are only open for dinner and only have 4 tables so is best to make a reservation?
Restaurant is about 200m from the Palace Rd not up near the Fitness Centre as per map.
We will definately return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToPPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owners at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It wasn't so easy to find this restaurant, but it was definitely worth keep looking for it! When we finally found it, we've been positively surprised by the place: four wooden tables, peace and quiet all around. It's owned by a Balinese family who prepares delicious food and serve it with a smile. Here you can get the real taste of the Balinese cuisine for a really good price. Go for it :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraEvaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryansobol, son of the owners at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Putu's Wild Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Putu's Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing